We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fishing and outstanding customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aikens Lake Wilderness Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winnipeg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aikens Lake Wilderness Lodge
Save
You added Aikens Lake Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Box 48084 | RPO Lakewood, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2J 4A3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great fishing and outstanding customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

From the moment you speak to the Aiken's team you know that you will be looked after in the most professional and friendly way. Aikens Lake Wilderness Lodge is superb property with outstanding accommodations, unbelievable food.... oh and yes, the fishing is why you really wanted to get up there right?
The moment you land by plane and step onto the dock at the lodge you feel welcome. The team looks after everything for you and gives a tour of the peninsula as soon as you get there. Once you are settled in you are ready to experience some of the best fishing in North America. You will spend full days of amazing fishing on the lake steered by great guides and tasty shore lunches. In the evening you go back to the lodge where an amazing dinner awaits you.
After dinner you are welcome to go out on the lake again for more fishing or you can just kick back in these amazing cabins or even take a walk or swim along the shorelines of the lodge. At the end of the day please make sure you share your fishing stories at Molly’s bar. The bar offers a place to hang out for your “night-cap” and play some games like pool and shuffleboard.
We have been to the lodge the last couple of years and will coming back in 2013!
Thanks again to the entire Aiken’s team and we will see you soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
10
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The staff and the accomodations are wonderful. Best people you will ever meet. The fishing is great and the beauty of the place is something you won't soon forget. We have been to Aikens for 9 or 10 straight years and can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, LA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Aikens Lake is a premier destination for fishing and relaxation. My wife and I have visited the last two years for a weeks stay. Scenery is fantastic and if you look closely your may see moose, bear and eagles. Fishing is excellent, mainly walleye and pike, but lake trout are caught in the colder months. I was lucky enough to land a trophy walleye in 2011 and a trophy pike in 2012. The guides are outstanding, the boats are clean, comfortable, seaworthy and very well maintained.
Aikens is first rate all the way, excellent food, accommodations, super friendly staff. Book with the premium plan and all drinks, fish bait and tackle are included. Also, you need to go on a diet before visiting as the daily shore lunches will add a few pounds, the fresh walleye are fantastic!
Aikens is the perfect place to enjoy a wilderness experience, but still have all the comfort of their
outstanding facilities and staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

If fishing is your passion, Aikens Lake is the ticket. This year was our second trip to Aikens. We thought last year was so great we would go again. If you have every heard " they were biting so good you have to hide to bait your hook", well that was our trip this year.

The staff goes out of their way to be helpful. Every aspect of our trip was excellent. The fishing, the staff, our guide, the food, the accomodations exceeded our expectations each visit.

A lot of wildlife to see, eagles, loons, beaver, even a swimming bull moose to top off this year.

This has to be on your "bucket list".

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I just booked our June 2013 week of fishing after 4 previous years. The calibre and abundance of fishing for walleye and Pike is second to none which is only enhanced by the guides and staff at Aikens Lake. The lodging is first class and the shore lunches as well as dinners are all excellent. The entire experience is set in one of the most beautiful lakes and surrounding wilderness areas we have visited. Pit and his staff go to all efforts to accomodate all requests and have always met our expectations. This is a fishing trip for all levels; whether a novice or experienced angler, we have never been disappointed here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I was very fortunate to be invited to spend a few days with Pit and his staff at Aikens Lake Lodge. As a Manitoban, now living in Alberta, I forgot how beautiful and serene the Manitoba lake country can be. My four days at Aikens Lake was amazing......great fishing, great food and very comfortable accommodations. Our guide made the trip even more special. The shore lunch/supper was out of this world and the people at the lodge made us all feel very welcome the entire time. If I am lucky, I will get back to Aikens next summer! If you like fishing and want a truly amazing experience, do yourself a favour and visit the great folks at Aikens Lake.

See you again.....

Stu

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed staying in the lakeside cabins.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Top notch all the way! Brand new cabins great guides, very fun bar and game room at nights, great food and service, and good fishing to boot! Also so amazing wildlife: bears, eagles, and awesome moose and calf crossing the lake. Memories to last a lifetime.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aikens Lake Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aikens Lake Wilderness Lodge

Address: Box 48084 | RPO Lakewood, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2J 4A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Winnipeg
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aikens Lake Wilderness Lodge is one of the premier fly-in fishing lodges in Canada. Trophy fishing for walleye, northern pike, and lake trout. World-Class service and amenities. The "Aikens Experience" is renowned as one of the best in the business. Come see why! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aikens Lake Wilderness Lodge Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aikens Lake Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.