We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MainStay Suites Winnipeg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added MainStay Suites Winnipeg to your Saves list
MainStay Suites Winnipeg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   670 King Edward St, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3H 0P2, Canada (St. James Industrial)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a FREE Night
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
new york
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Convenient to airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Beautiful new clean hotel in airport area. Maybe 5 minutes by shuttle, which starts at 7am. Rooms are set up for an extended stay, ie, kitchen, sofa, decent bed. Staff were very pleasant and accommodating. Both check in and check out were quick. Breakfast area set up very nice, full hot breakfast and cntl choices as well. Well maintained and continually replenished.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    30
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
15
3
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The hotel was perfect.I had booked the suite for one night initially. However, we decided to stay a second night as well since it was an incredible suite. First of all, the suite was very spacious, consisted of a lot of features and the beds were very comfortable. Even though, we had booked the pet friendly suite, it was very clean. The breakfast consisted of a variety of choices and the food was amazing! The staff was very helpful and friendly as well. Overall it was a great experience and my family and I enjoyed the stay very much. We would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We spent last night here and were very pleased. The room was spotless. It had a full kitchen (not that we needed it) including a dishwasher. Nice rec area downstairs with a sauna, whirlpool and fitness center. Watch out, the tiles are very slick when they or your feet are wet. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Had some problems due to Hotwire . Once it was sorted out had a great stay! Nice room , nice breakfast, central location! We enjoyed the hot tub . Soup and cookies complimentary after 5pm during the week.

Room Tip: Would be great for a family. Full kitchen including dishwasher
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
559 helpful votes 559 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel is very close to the airport, but is surrounded by a whole lot of nothing that would be interesting to a tourist. There is a Danny's BBQ & Smokehouse within a short straight walk. The food there was very good. Also, located a little further away in the Sandman hotel, is a Denny's Restaurant and Chop Steakhouse.

This hotel is quite new and decorated with modern furnishings and an urban color palate of browns, whites, and grays. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

We had a king suite, which was on the small side, but had a kitchenette (fridge/freezer, dishwasher, cooktop, microwave, sink, and cookware). The beds I didn't find to be comfortable, and the pillows quite lumpy. Also, bathroom toiletries provided were a bit sparse (soap and shampoo only). Otherwise, the shower had very good pressure, and I liked the cabinet to place your toiletry items in. A/C unit worked great and we had no complaints.

The daily breakfast changed everyday and was very good. I did notice on the weekends the staff had a harder time keeping up with demand and was not refilled as quickly or at all. Hot and cold items included scrambled eggs. Some days the eggs appeared to have some type of green herb (possibly chives), and were very good, but my daughter definitely shied away from them as I am sure most kids will when they see something that resembles vegetables. They also had sausage and potatoes, yogurts, breads (which were not refilled), fruit, cereals (some days to include oatmeal), and some days french toast or pancakes.

Overall, we had a very nice stay here and would recommend it if you need to be close to the airport.

PS - If this review was helpful to you, please click the "YES" button. Thanks :->

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian Prairies
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel got our attention for their deal were you can leave you car parked in their lot while you travel. They offer transportation to and from the airport. It seemed newer and in better shape than some of the hotels we normally stay at closer to the airport. It was very quiet and comfortable. Our room was pretty huge. If I had to come to Winnipeg for any length of time I would consider staying here for the size and comfort of the rooms and the large kitchenette.

Room Tip: Ignore my restaurant rating, Trip advisor won't let me uncheck this
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I booked a hotel on hotwire not knowing what I'd be getting. MainStay Suites came up and since I had never heard about it I didn't know what to expect.

When I got there, it was a shocker. The outside looked to be newer, and getting to the front desk, the service was incredible. I inquired about shuttles to the airport and since they weren't going to have someone ready at the time I wanted to leave, they give you a voucher for a taxi in the morning when you check out. Also, if you want to leave your car there over night while you're away it costs $5 a night. (Parking is free when you're staying the night) Very friendly staff throughout the whole stay.

I got to the room and was shocked again. It was a pretty seriously big room for the great price. It has a whole kitchen in there for people that stay longer periods of time. The bathroom is off down a small hallway kind of separating the room up. The bed was comfy and everything was super clean. There were some small "un-modern" things here and there but everything else seemed pretty new.

There are a few snacks you can buy near the front desk but if you're going to be there a while you'll want to bring something to make in your room or get something delivered. I didn't see any restaurants very close by but I also didn't look very hard as I was only there for a short time.

When I got back from out of town I simply called the hotel when I got off the plane and their friendly staff were there shortly to pick me up. Delivered me to my car and off I went.

I highly recommend this place to anyone...except people that want to party or something and ruin the nice quiet atmosphere they have going there. Nice and quiet is the way they do it there!

Thanks for the great stay!

Room Tip: Bring some munchies or something if you're just staying the night as there's not much around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MainStay Suites Winnipeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Winnipeg

Address: 670 King Edward St, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3H 0P2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > St. James Industrial
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#6 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Winnipeg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Canada, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your MainStay Suites Winnipeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Winnipeg Hotel Winnipeg
MainStay Suites Winnipeg Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MainStay Suites Winnipeg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.