We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, close to airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MainStay Suites Winnipeg

Save Saved
You added MainStay Suites Winnipeg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
MainStay Suites Winnipeg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   670 King Edward St, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3H 0P2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 63 hotels in Winnipeg
Vancouver
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“good value, close to airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a good-value airport area hotel, 2 years old. Although there are some places to eat within walking distance, a car is convenient for more choices and to get to areas of the city with more ambience. Our 2 queen bed room was on the top floor, with couch and kitchen facilties. If you are a light sleeper you may be disturbed by planes depending on which runway they use - stayed four nights, only heard a couple planes one night. We used the hot tub once, it was fine. Self-serve breakfast included cereal, scrambled eggs, pancakes, toast, bagels, fruit, juice, hot chocolate. Free newpapers available, and a computer station with printer. Staff was helpful, towels changed every day. Good price with auto club rate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
10
Solo
0
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dryden Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were very impressed on our first stay at this establishment. Although we arrived at midnight and left in the morning, we did not require the stove top, fridge, freezer, dishwasher etc but it is nice to know for future stays what is available here. We did enjoy the complimentary full breakfast. The check-in, check-out and breakfast room staff were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend staying here as we will do in the future.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have stayed at this facility twice in the last few weeks. I have stayed in one of the suites and a standard double. It is not that much more for the suite and is nice and large with a king sized bed. This is a long term type property so if you want to do a bit of cooking, I know you left home to get away from this! If not. there is a stove top, fridge and dishwasher. There is a bar height table with a couple of chairs so you are not laying on the bed trying to eat your meal. For the quality of the rooms, I was surprised at the bathrooms and how plain they were. Everything works and did not run out of hot water when having a shower. Check in staff were friendly. If you are flying out of Winnipeg they have a shuttle service, if you leave your car in their lot. However, there is a cost to leaving your car there. I cannot recall the rate per day, probably cheaper than the airport parking. Try and get a room near the back to get away from the traffic on the street. If you are wanting to use the gym, it is pretty sparse. I did not use it, There is a complementary breakfast included with your stay, i have been out the door to catch a plane before it is ready so no recommendation here. During a late check in, they had soup and a biscuit available in the breakfast nook which I thought was a nice touch. Just like home, a quick snack before bed. Definitely would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

While away on a short trip, my wife and I returned to a home flooded by an unfortunate water break on the second level of our home, which destroyed the entire lower level and some areas on the main and second floors. That being said, we now had to find other accommodations and after looking at many other hotels, we finally ended our search here. Knowing that we were going to be out of the house for an extended period of time, we needed a full kitchen for long term possibilities. This we got and more! The rooms are very nicely maintained and the entire staff was pleasant and forthcomming. The hotel offers a nice breakfast on a daily basis, sauna, hot tub and fitness room for those who may be inclined. With our lengthy stay of over five months, we grew to look on many of the staff as more of an extended family. We have the greatest regards for the management and staff and for all they did. I would have no question in recommending this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are less susceptible to traffic noise as route 90 (King Edward) traffic can w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

It was a wonderful hotel to stay at. We have stayed in many hotels in Winnipeg and other places. For Winnipeg, having a family of four and a daughter visiting us who goes to University this was wonderful. She could visit us, lots of room, We even took her puppy with us to visit her. No pool, but my boys are 17 and daughter 18 who came to visit, they all used the hot tub and enjoyed it very much. Good Internet Access. Full kitchen, which we didn't use, however full sized fridge and top freezer that we did use. Shopped at Costco, bought our meat for the trip home and froze it the night before. Good for the 8 hour drive home. Great breakfast in the morning, which included the usual continental PLUS. First day was eggs plus, second day was all the makings for Egg, bacon muffins which everyone enjoyed. Location not excellent for us as University is in St. Vital Area, but staying here because it is worth the 15 minute drive. For people wanting to shop at Polo Park, it is so close. Have to go to Winnipeg again in March, just booked. Even though everything we have to do is in St. Vital area. Love booking with Jauna, she is so great to talk to on the phone. This is my hotel of choice from now on in Winnipeg. Breakfast room staff very nice as well. A beautiful good morning each day. Thank you Main Stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The best part of the motel is its spacious rooms, comfy beds and a nice style of furniture. Furthermore good supply of hot water and a nice shower head. Anyone that would be spending days here would appreciate the kitchen amenities. The natives that use hotels for housing frequent this place, so it is perfect for that. The hot tub and sauna was out of order, which was a disappointment. Since it is not super cheap I asked front desk if she had figured that in the rate...no she hadn't - so discounted the room $12.00 for that. If your plane leaves earlier than 7:30 than front desk calls the taxi for airport shuttle service, which can leave you with a stuck driver or no company policy to give you confidence. The breakfast had good variety with some hot items. If you come in the East entrance you will be met with a not so pleasant a smell - couldn't put my finger on it. Our chairs in the room had stains on them. Overall? I would say it was ok. What seems to be lacking is attentive management. Reception checked us in and all but they both were glued to there electronic devices and so to say that we were met with a feel good and glad your here feeling - that not. Would I stay again? - I am undecided. It would get full rating for a budget priced motel. It would remind me of a motel that started out great and is slipping gradually. We are fussy travellers...some people wouldn't notice anything here so don't let me scare anyone off.

Room Tip: No Airport Hotels will have much for scenery in Winnipeg so for that there is likely not much prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred H, Manager at MainStay Suites Winnipeg, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding our clean, spacious rooms, comfortable pillow top mattress beds and contemporary styled furniture. In addition to this each guestroom is equipped with a pullout sofa, 37" flat screened TV, and wireless/hardwired high speed internet service.
Further the full kitchenettes each guestroom are equipped with all the kitchen wares you need to prepare your own meals and are perfect for a guest requiring an extended stay accommodations, like as you mentioned the six aboriginal elders whom have been displaced from their homes due the Manitoba floods or the number of other guests whom have been displaced from their homes due household tradgies like fires etc., or guests relocating to Winnipeg whom need temporary accommodations while waiting to move into their new homes. But what you could not know, as I can see from our records this is your first visit to MainStay Suites Winnipeg, is that our primary clients, the business and corporate traveller, love the kitchenettes (not found in competing hotels) to prepare their own meals as it saves them time and the expense that eating meals in restaurant requires. This is the same reason sport teams love them too.
From the complimentary Hot Breakfast featuring Eggs, Hash Browns, and Sausage or Ham, and fresh in-house baked Danishes, Muffins and Pastries, to our complimentary airport shuttle as with many airport properties, is supplied by Hotel Shuttle and/or contracted Taxi service and being 3 to 4 minutes from the airport has always provide timely service whether using the complimentary hotel shuttle or taxi service. As well you can imagine from time to time beyond the control of the hotel repairs are require for the safe operation of equipment for hotel guests, much like the hot tub being under repair this weekend (hot tub should be in operation before the end of this week). I do apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused and like the above complimentary items mentioned these are valued added services that are offered but not priced into our room rates.
Due to your comments I have investigated what you experienced from the weekend staff and have taken appropriate corrective action to remedy the situation. I can assure this was an anomaly as you can see from previous reviews we take professional, courteous and friendly service from all employees of the hotel very seriously.

Fred Hrehirchuk
General Manager
MainStay Suites Winnipeg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

After browsing online for a place to stay before an early morning flight, we took a chance on this hotel. We were immediately greeted by friendly staff at the counter. We didn't have a chance to book a reservation but they were able to accommodate our stay without question.

The room we received was a single queen tucked away from any foot traffic which provided a quiet stay. We were blown away walking into a small kitchenette which was not expected fully equipped with everything we could have needed. Small kettle and coffee maker for breakfast, refrigerator for left overs, and all the dishes and kitchen wares we could have needed. I wished we were staying longer so we would have had a chance to use it all!

Check in and check out was seamless and the room was immaculate. Would most definitely stay here again if ever back in the area.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred H, Manager at MainStay Suites Winnipeg, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of MainStay Suites. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay us. We take a lot of pride in providing professional service and we are very proud of our hotel. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to being of service in the future.

Fred Hrehirchuk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MainStay Suites Winnipeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Winnipeg

Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Winnipeg Hotel
Mainstay Suites Winnipeg Hotel Winnipeg
MainStay Suites Winnipeg Manitoba
Address: 670 King Edward St, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3H 0P2, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#13 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Winnipeg 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your MainStay Suites Winnipeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MainStay Suites Winnipeg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.