We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beds. Excellent service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites, Winnipeg Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn & Suites, Winnipeg Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites, Winnipeg Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   360 Colony Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2P3, Canada (Formerly Red River Hotel & Suites Winnipeg) (Downtown Winnipeg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #36 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Sheboygan, WI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good beds. Excellent service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and the room was clean. Anything we asked for the front desk tried to accommodate. Parking was available in the lot next door, but was a bit dicey, so don't leave any valuables in your car! The room itself was small, but sufficient and had a refrigerator. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience here at the Holiday Inn and Suites Winnipeg Downtown. I will share your comments with the staff as this is the type of service we strive to achieve. Thank you again and I hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    52
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
18
2
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed at this property for two nights. Getting to the property was a bit of a challenge due to construction, and when I reached out to the hotel reception by phone, they were not sure how to guide me to the property. Apart from that episode, my stay was pleasant, room was clean and the restaurant was good.

I would recommend this location for business, however not for R and R.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive experience you had with our hotel. I am happy you had the chance to take advantage of all we have to offer with our great location and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the street construction, we are happy it has now been completed. Thank you again and I hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in July. This was a nice place to stay, and very central. Buses and taxis right out side the front lobby. The breakfast experience was a little more expensive than I expected but the food was great. The hours of operation for the Bar were terrible however the staff were all pleasant and helpful. Street people outside the lobby and around the hotel in general should be dealt with in a more aggresive manner using increased Security. The room itself was was clean and neat and had all necessary amenities.

Room Tip: Higher up is better to avoid noise of emergency vehicles all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed in this hotel last May for 2 nights on business.

Driveway was very cramped and there was a queue of 3 cars when I got in so I got off my cab at the curb.

Lobby was also very small but the staff was very efficient and courteous - got me checked in quickly.

It was an old building but facilities and amenities were well-kept. Rooms were surprisingly large and spacious for a Holiday Inn.

There's a restaurant at the lobby called Peppermill but wasn't able to try it out during my stay. There's a Starbucks in a separate area of the building which - very convenient for business travelers. There's also a pub beside the building called Garbonzos - an ok place to have a quick dinner and drink. Tried it out on a Wed (wings night) and the wings were tasty. There's also a mall within 5 mins walk if one needs a pharmacy, etc.

Over-all, I look at the hotel as a dependable & comfortable place to stay when I need to be in downtown Winnipeg. Starbucks and proximity to the mall are pluses, as well as large standard rooms. Staff were efficient although I can't say outstanding in customer service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience here at the Holiday Inn and Suites Winnipeg Downtown. I am happy you had the chance to take advantage of all we have to offer with our great location. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights in June. The front desk staff was very helpful throughout my stay (including very late check in, aiding to get my luggage - which Air Canada had lost, lending me office supplies until my luggage arrived, and helping me ship business materials back once my stay ended). The rooms themselves are very typical of Holiday Inn rooms, and included a spacious desk with a good supportive desk chair. Also, the hotel was conveniently located so you could walk most places downtown Winnipeg or in the Exchange District in 10-20 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience here at the Holiday Inn and Suites Winnipeg Downtown. I will share your comments with the staff as this is the type of service we strive to achieve. Thank you again and I hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here for a conference, when I booked the hotel I was not told that I had to pay extra for parking or that there was no breakfast. I literally had to pay for parking twice because the hotel wouldn't let me pay extra to keep my car at the hotel 2 hours longer then they allow. The room was clean however the desk clerk was rude and told me I should expect the service I got for the price I paid. However I could of stayed anywhere else and atleast saved the 30 bucks I paid for parking for less then 24 hours. Will never stay here again, or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for commenting on your stay with us back in August 2013. We strive to offer all our guests a comfortable, affordable and great location for everyone to enjoy all downtown has to offer with easy access. I apologize that you were not aware of the parking charges. Like most downtown hotels, we do not own the parking, and pass the charges on to our guests. We have invested in the equipment to allow us to be able to program room keys and negotiated with the parking lot owners to allow in and out access for our guests in the multi-level parking attached to the hotel. The parking that the hotel sells is only valid until a certain time the day of check out, so guest that require to park longer would have to pay for the additional time, the same as any downtown parking lot. Our hotel is a full service Holiday Inn, which does not include breakfast in the rates, but has a great menu selection to choose from. We do offer room package upgrades that do include breakfast for those type of travelers looking for a little extra value with their stay. I will be reviewing your comments with our team to ensure proper guest service training as we strive to treat each and every guest with hospitality and respect. We strive to ensure the delivery of a safe, comfortable, relaxing stay that all our guests can expect when staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This was one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The staff are very friendly,helpful and go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. The rooms are updated, clean and the beds/pillows are very comfortable. The hotel is downtown so is very convenient to activities and shopping. The attached Peppermill restaurant has great food at reasonable prices. Overall, we loved our stay at this hotel and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for commenting on your stay at the Holiday Inn and Suites Winnipeg Downtown. We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations, whenever we can and truly appreciate your feedback. I hope we see you again soon for your next visit to Winnipeg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites, Winnipeg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites, Winnipeg Downtown

Address: 360 Colony Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2P3, Canada (Formerly Red River Hotel & Suites Winnipeg)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites, Winnipeg Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome back, we missed you! Come see our renovated pool, fitness area and rooms. Located next to the University of Winnipeg and close to everything; just a few minutes walk from the convention centre and the MTS Centre, the city’s major event venue and the Winnipeg Jets NHL Hockey team. Everything is within walking distance. Shop until you drop then come and relax in our Fireside Lounge or enjoy dinner in the Peppermill restaurant or catch Rapid transit from the hotel directly to the University of Manitoba and Investors Group Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites, Winnipeg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites, Winnipeg Downtown Hotel Winnipeg
Holiday Inn And Suites, Winnipeg Downtown
Winnipeg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Winnipeg
Holiday Inn & Suites, Winnipeg Downtown Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites, Winnipeg Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.