We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable Friendly Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   360 Colony Street | Corner of Colony and Portage, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2P3, Canada (Formerly Red River Hotel & Suites Winnipeg) (Downtown Winnipeg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Reliable Friendly Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I usually travel to Winnipeg for business and this hotel is close to all my needs. Rooms are clean, staff is very helpful and friendly. Never had a problem and will return every time I'm in town. Actually yes, the parking lot is a little "scary"....but still safe. I like the Starbucks down the hall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad you were able to take advantage of the attached Starbucks.

I hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    70
    21
    5
    7
See reviews for
16
25
4
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eganville, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

A nice property, with lovely clean and comfortable rooms and helpful staff. We were on a cross-country road trip so it was not too convenient to the Trans Canada, but that's not the hotel's fault! It would be very convenient if your destination was downtown Winnipeg. The parking ($15) was a bit scary - a security guard warned me not to leave anything in the car and there were signs all over the place to the same effect - " . . there HAVE been break-ins." (our car was fine by the way)

Room Tip: park your car under a light
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Winnipeg. As with all major downtown hotels, we do not own the parking and as such do have to charge for parking, however this partnership does allow for in and out access to the attached parkade during your stay. Most parking lots in Winnipeg do advise not to leave any valuables visible to discourage any attraction to vehicles for its content. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future and hope you enjoyed your cross-country road trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

The room was fine but ruined for me because the toilet was so dirty! It looked like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks! We stayed in room 203. Otherwise the hotel is average but we did get a good last minute deal on the price via Price Line.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I would like to personally apologize for the shape of the toilet in your room. This is not normal for our hotel and is being addressed with our Executive Housekeeper and the entire housekeeping team. We pride ourselves in offering a clean and relaxing environment for our guests and take comments like this very serious. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future and experience the Holiday Inn standard we hold ourselves to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

What you would expect from a holiday inn. everything you need for a comfortable stay. Beds could be softer, but I am a picky sleeper. Cleaning staff are friendly and thorough, desk staff are friendly too.
Internet is slow at night, but still functional. Never ate at the hotel restaurant, but there is a sports pub attached to the hotel (gonzos pizza pub), great for watching a game.

I would stay here again. Can't beat the value for money most holiday inns offer.


  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
I appreciate when guests take time out of their busy lives to share their stay experience. Thank you and I hope you choose us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Travelled here for business. Booked on short notice and could still accommodate the rooms. Close to downtown, parking was a bit tricky so keep your eye out for the ramp to the parkade. Very nice room, and great service, still cleaned the rooms after we left late. Only con was the restaurant, must be knew to the job, but nothing fancy by any means and service was alright. Over all great hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Holiday Inn and Suites Winnipeg Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Recently stayed here before embarking on a bus tour (Beaver buslines connected to the hotel). It's not a large hotel by any means - the rooms are lon and narrow but what I was most pleased with was that it appears the hotel has been recently updated with new carpeting, paint, linens etc. Very well done! We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant this time but rather picked up from the Garbonzos Pizza which is in by the bus terminal. It's ok if you're looking for something quick in the pizza/pasta variety but nothing really to write home about. There is a Stella's restaurant across the street which is great for breakfast/lunch and has some really interesting items on the menu and a Tim's within a block. Our bus tour left early on a Saturday (7:30) and we were disappointed that the hotel restaurant didn't open until 7:30. Also, because the hotel is downtown a lot of things aren't open early on the weekend so travellers keep this in mind if heading out of town early. We solved this by grabbing something from Stella's the night before. Definitely consider this hotel on your next trip to Winnipeg.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with our hotel. I am glad you had the opportunity to try some of the many options for restaurants close to us. I hope you have a chance to stay with us again in the future and that you enjoyed your tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I usually stay at HI Express, as I have discovered in my travels, that regular HI hotels are not very nice. I thought I'd try this hotel on a recent trip. Very happy with hotel. The lobby was nice, rooms were nice as well. The restaurant also was good, parking is in lot next to hotel. My only complaint, a minor one, was the condition of the bathroom. The tub/shower was not in consistent condition with the rest of the hotel, it was just not very clean. Other than that, i will be staying there on return trips.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay. The bathrooms are getting a facelift this year as the rest of the hotel was renovated in 2011. I hope you have the chance to stay with us again in the future. Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown

Address: 360 Colony Street | Corner of Colony and Portage, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2P3, Canada (Formerly Red River Hotel & Suites Winnipeg)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome back, we missed you! We have recently updated our guest room bathrooms and lobby area, fitness area and rooms. Located next to the University of Winnipeg and close to everything; just a few minutes walk from the convention centre and the MTS Centre, the city's major event venue and the Winnipeg Jets NHL Hockey team. Everything is within walking distance. Shop until you drop then come and relax in our Fireside Lounge or enjoy dinner in the Peppermill restaurant or visit the more then 40 restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Don't forget to visit the onsite Starbucks. Catch Rapid transit from the hotel directly to the University of Manitoba and Investors Group Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites, Winnipeg Downtown
Holiday Inn & Suites, Winnipeg Downtown Hotel Winnipeg
Winnipeg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Winnipeg
Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.