We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   360 Colony Street | Corner of Colony and Portage, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2P3, Canada (Formerly Red River Hotel & Suites Winnipeg) (Downtown Winnipeg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #40 of 66 Hotels in Winnipeg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Travelled here for business. Booked on short notice and could still accommodate the rooms. Close to downtown, parking was a bit tricky so keep your eye out for the ramp to the parkade. Very nice room, and great service, still cleaned the rooms after we left late. Only con was the restaurant, must be knew to the job, but nothing fancy by any means and service was alright. Over all great hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Holiday Inn and Suites Winnipeg Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    74
    26
    5
    7
See reviews for
17
29
5
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Recently stayed here before embarking on a bus tour (Beaver buslines connected to the hotel). It's not a large hotel by any means - the rooms are lon and narrow but what I was most pleased with was that it appears the hotel has been recently updated with new carpeting, paint, linens etc. Very well done! We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant this time but rather picked up from the Garbonzos Pizza which is in by the bus terminal. It's ok if you're looking for something quick in the pizza/pasta variety but nothing really to write home about. There is a Stella's restaurant across the street which is great for breakfast/lunch and has some really interesting items on the menu and a Tim's within a block. Our bus tour left early on a Saturday (7:30) and we were disappointed that the hotel restaurant didn't open until 7:30. Also, because the hotel is downtown a lot of things aren't open early on the weekend so travellers keep this in mind if heading out of town early. We solved this by grabbing something from Stella's the night before. Definitely consider this hotel on your next trip to Winnipeg.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with our hotel. I am glad you had the opportunity to try some of the many options for restaurants close to us. I hope you have a chance to stay with us again in the future and that you enjoyed your tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I usually stay at HI Express, as I have discovered in my travels, that regular HI hotels are not very nice. I thought I'd try this hotel on a recent trip. Very happy with hotel. The lobby was nice, rooms were nice as well. The restaurant also was good, parking is in lot next to hotel. My only complaint, a minor one, was the condition of the bathroom. The tub/shower was not in consistent condition with the rest of the hotel, it was just not very clean. Other than that, i will be staying there on return trips.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay. The bathrooms are getting a facelift this year as the rest of the hotel was renovated in 2011. I hope you have the chance to stay with us again in the future. Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The hotel is right in Downtown. Most of the government offices are in walking distance.
The hotel is also internally connected to a Starbucks, and a restaurant which is very convenient esp in winter.
The in-house restaurant is average though and not as good as the restaurant to which the hotel is connected.
The staff is very helpful and friendly. They also have free wifi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I hope that you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The hotel staff are friendly, the rooms are nice, good beds but overall overpriced.

As for the restaurant. They have no Manager. As such, the staff run themselves, are untrained, the menu has no choices, the cooks are probably not cooks, and it closes at 12 till 5 each day. If they had a Manager, had a real chef/cook, were open all day, they could increase their bottom line and make guests feel like guests if that is what the restaurant is for....... the guests!!

Room Tip: Best rooms- Top Floor facing north is quieter than facing Portage Ave. because of the sirens. Winnip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments in regards to your stay. I am sorry if we did not meet your expectations with our restaurant. The restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner and we have the option of Garbonzos restaurant that is attached to the hotel that opens at 11am daily. We aim to offer alternatives for our guests so they have a variety of options to choose from, including Stella’s café across the street and Starbuck, attached to the hotel. The management team is available anytime to address any concerns that may arise and I apologize if we did not have the chance to speak with you while you stayed with us. I hope this does not discourage you from staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

So its a holiday inn. You know what to expect. A good deal for us at $115 a night for a double. The hotel is located on the edge of downtown. Nice and clean and firendly check in and check out staff. For this price I think it is hard to beat. The only negative was that the girl on the front desk in the evening could not recommend anywhere good for dinner. We ate at the Indian place but it was rubbish.

Room Tip: Its on a busy corner so ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Winnipeg has many restaurants to choose from and I will be sure to address with our front office team so they are familiar with the local restaurant in the area. I hope to see you again on your next trip to Winnipeg.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel is comfortable. The rooms are large and clean, albeit a bit cold. Large, comfortable king sized bed, large bathroom and complimentary wireless. The pool is clean but very small, whirpool is quite large and nice and hot. There are no changing rooms at the pool though, so you have to go down in your towel (not much of a problem for me as my room was right next to the elevator). The walls are quite thin so I was kept awake by the 10 year old Bieber fans next door- pumped up on Bieber fever. Only huge complaint was the so called 'restaurant' on site (Peppermill Cafe). Whatever was served here (I cannot call it food) was clearly microwaved to order. It really was unedible. Directly across the street is Stellas Cafe - much much better. Not much other choice for food if you dont have access to a car.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I am glad to hear that your rooms was comfortable. I apologize for any concerns in our restaurant. I assure you that I will address this with our restaurant team. You mentioned Stella’s Cafe across the street, which is an alternative to our restaurant as well as, connected to the hotel is Garbonzo’s full service restaurant and a Starbucks for anyone looking for other choices and not wanting to have to exit the building.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites
Humphry Inn & Suites
#8 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Winnipeg
Delta Winnipeg
#19 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#13 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown

Address: 360 Colony Street | Corner of Colony and Portage, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2P3, Canada (Formerly Red River Hotel & Suites Winnipeg)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome back, we missed you! We have recently updated our guest room bathrooms and lobby area, fitness area and rooms. Located next to the University of Winnipeg and close to everything; just a few minutes walk from the convention centre and the MTS Centre, the city's major event venue and the Winnipeg Jets NHL Hockey team. Everything is within walking distance. Shop until you drop then come and relax in our Fireside Lounge or enjoy dinner in the Peppermill restaurant or visit the more then 40 restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Don't forget to visit the onsite Starbucks. Catch Rapid transit from the hotel directly to the University of Manitoba and Investors Group Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites, Winnipeg Downtown
Holiday Inn & Suites, Winnipeg Downtown Hotel Winnipeg
Winnipeg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Winnipeg
Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.