We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 1

Motel 1
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Motel 1 to your Saves list
Motel 1
3760 Portage Ave. | 101 Bypass & Portage West, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3K 1A1, Canada (Formerly Super 8)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very average!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Cable sucked. Not fancy, not runned down. Its alright! Had a very soft bed. No complants. Would stay again if i need a place to crash! Altough i would not eat there breakfast due to seeing the bread and some snacks in what looked like a suply closet!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    9
    6
    18
See reviews for
8
10
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lindsay, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

After leaving the Capri Motel disgusted, I was on a mission to find a place to sleep. I stumbled upon Motel One. Once I decided to stop here, I was greeted in a pleasant manner, I asked the price and was quoted $77 taxes and fees in. Was given a room on the 3rd floor. For the most part it was fairly clean. Carpet, should have been shampooed. Top of Tub-surround looked like it needed a good scrubbing. Overall, it was quiet, bed was comfortable, and the TV worked. I, however did not like the continental breakfast wasn`t good. Cereal was stale, juice was like Tang, and noticeably found all the products were the generic products from Walmart. Had to go to Tim`s for something decent. I would recommend this for the value when it comes to the room. Oh, I forgot something in the room, and the staff were pleasant & accomadating in retrieving it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I checked in Friday, August 31, 2012 as this seemed like a decent place from the exterior. I awoke about 7:30 a.m. to the feel of something crawling on my arm. I flicked it off, went to the bathroom for some tissue, and picked up the bug from the sheet and squeezed it dead. It was full of blood...my blood. I lifted the rest of the blankets and pillow and found a half dozen critters large and small scurrying away. I captured them in a glass with tissue, covered it up and brought them down to the unsympathetic staff. STAY AWAY folks - I have the tell tale welts all over my arms and legs today (Sept. 2/12) and they are itchy as heck.. Had to wash and dry everything twice that I brought on the trip. David from Edmonton, AB

Room Tip: stay away or wait until they fumigate the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Very handy on main highway and on the edge of the city to find. Parking available onsite. Lobby was small but staff efficient.Service was quick, quick lift to the upper floors. Room large and clean with listed facilities, quite despite being on the highway side.Breakfast couldnt complain looked fresh, adequate so people must be too fussy if so options are within a few minutes walk infact one is right next door. I would stay again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan River, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We Check in that went fine ok the rooms are clean the night was quiet but the breakfast was not good at all I refused to go for it after my mom got to the room and she told and she allso said that some one else was not happy with the way it was I refused to go down there was only tost,coffee,cerale and Einglsh muffen witch you can have coffee in your room.

Room Tip: Room are the same as was when supper 8 not change at all only the name has
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stopped here while driving cross-country, when we were too tired to look any harder for anything. I'm glad in retrospect that I didn't read the previous review that said they had bedbugs... we didn't see any or notice any symptoms.

The room seemed clean and was basic -- nothing special. When we arrived late at night, there were still breakfast leftovers sitting out in the lobby where they put the food. The selection of food the next morning left a lot to be desired if you're trying to eat in a healthy way -- there were doughnuts, white bread, white bagels, and white english muffins... and instead of juice they had orange tang.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

See below review. I still stand by everything I said, but they did in the end refund our money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 1

Address: 3760 Portage Ave. | 101 Bypass & Portage West, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3K 1A1, Canada (Formerly Super 8)
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Motel 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 1 Hotel Winnipeg
Super 8 Winnipeg
Super Eight Winnipeg
Motel 1 Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.