We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trip across 4 provinces in 6 days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 to your Saves list
Super 8
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1485 Niakwa Road East, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2J 3T3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“trip across 4 provinces in 6 days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Near the edge of town, nice quiet location but with plenty nearby .. walked over to Earl's to dine (they messed up my order so because I had to wait my full meal and drink was free, fabulous way to end another full day of driving) .. room was clean, AC worked .. had a great sleep and was on my way with a light breakfast to go .. good value.

Room Tip: all great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsexton, General Manager at Super 8, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
THANK YOU for taking the time to share your feedback. Have a GREAT summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    77
    25
    3
    2
See reviews for
70
47
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were happy with our room, it was clean & bright. We arrived in Winnipeg later in the day. The girl at the desk was awesome. When I asked about nearby restaurants for dinner, she gave excellent directions to an area where there were 6 to choose from. In the morning, when we asked about a breakfast restaurant(too late for the continental), a different girl at the desk asked what kind of breakfast we liked and gave us excellent directions to the perfect breakfast restaurant. It was Canada day, so we were not sure how many would be available, so we really appreciated the help.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsexton, General Manager at Super 8, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share about your stay. I'm thrilled to hear that our staff were able to play a valuable role during your stay in Winnipeg!
I hope you'll visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I believe first that the staff is more than exceptional they are pleasant and happy to please you. The room is clean and staff outstanding and friendly. The manager greets you with a smile every day! She is an amazing lady. We are pleased. And we know were to stay on our next visit to Winnipeg. I feel safe staying here while my husband is at work. I have no complaints just excellent job to the manager and her staff.

Steven & Ginette Rogers.

Room Tip: Just check in! Mine was the second floor king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsexton, General Manager at Super 8, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! I am so glad that we are meeting our goal of providing enjoyable stays for our guests. They are our number one priority and a greatly valued asset. We are honoured that you feel at home at the Super 8 Winnipeg, and we look forward to having you stay with us many more time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Although this hotel is on the edge of town and doesn't have a restaurant or bar attached it is a really comfortable place to stay while working in Winnipeg. Having a majority of contractors and out of town workers staying here during my visit I found the hotel quiet at night. This is a big bonus when trying to get a good nights sleep as most of the vacation and party crowd stay (and make late night noise) elsewhere in Winnipeg. The rooms are nice and have a fridge, flat screen TV, and keurig coffee maker. Beds are new and comfortable as well. I found the front desk staff (especially Monique) very friendly and helpful. She was always willing to call us a cab, help with directions and recommend places to go and see on our time off. Service with a smile above and beyond expected. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsexton, General Manager at Super 8, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Super 8 Winnipeg! We value your business.

I'm very glad to hear that you were impressed by our in-room amenities and that our noise rules helped you get the sleep you wanted.

I hope we'll see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlefork, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

It's on the east side of town on the highway into town, so perfect for people traveling through. Staff was helpful about ordering in food. The room was clean and updated, but the whole hotel smelled stale or like something I can't define (not garlic or mud or smoke). I eventually got used to it. The squeaking of the rail car breaks woke me up occasionally throughout the night/early morning. The breakfast was normal Super 8. Overall OK, but I would probably stay on the west side of town for better value if location wasn't an issue.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsexton, General Manager at Super 8, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you very much for deciding to stay at the Super 8 Winnipeg! We value your business.
I'm glad we were able to provide what you were looking for and we hope to see you again the next time you're in our neighborhood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Nothing really fancy, but good accommodation at a reasonable price. The room was clean and nicely appointed. Even though it backs on a railway yard, the rooms were quiet. Best sleep I've had on our cross-canada adventure!

The staff were outstanding, and made a good stay even better!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsexton, General Manager at Super 8, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Super 8 Winnipeg! I'm very glad that we could provide you with a great sleep at a great price. We're very proud of our hotel and the staff we have working here. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The staff was friendly. The room was clean and had comfortable beds. The coffee machine in the rooms is a Keurig and coffee pods were included. Breakfast was typical of Super 8s, cereal, waffles, yogurt, juice and coffee. To be more green they used ceramic dishes. My only complaint would be the door was hard to close to our room, because of the mechanical closer attached to the top of the door. Probably just needed to be adjusted.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsexton, General Manager at Super 8, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
THANK YOU for sharing your feedback. We appreciate it very much. We will have our maintenance team repair that door. Sorry about that. Have a GREAT summer. Hope to see you again!
Theressa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8

Address: 1485 Niakwa Road East, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2J 3T3, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#15 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note, property is under new management and converting to a Super 8 with expanded continental breakfast and new photos coming soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 1 Hotel Winnipeg
Super 8 Winnipeg, Manitoba
Winnipeg Super Eight
Winnipeg Super 8
Super Eight Winnipeg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.