We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marlborough Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Marlborough Hotel to your Saves list
The Marlborough Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   331 Smith Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2G9, Canada (Downtown Winnipeg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #49 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“Awesome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great location .. Great service.. Quality daily breakfast and food services. Clean .. Attentive considerate cleaning staff. Attached pub the Reagle Beagle great place to unwind and friendly service! Management is top notch and goes the extra mile to accommodate. Great pool and exercise facilities. This is truly one of the Best Hotel Winnipeg offers for value. You are always welcomed with the niceties that takes the weariness of travel away! As as travel professional highly reccomend this property!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Marno 70,

Thank you for your comments from your visit to The Marlborough Hotel in January. I am glad to read that our staff went the extra mile for your visit.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Chris Dubberley
General Manager
The Marlborough Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    29
    40
    33
    55
See reviews for
24
40
27
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 9 days during the curling Olympic trials and found that it was acceptable. It depends on your expectations. Rooms were small like a new York city hotel, and as far as people lingering outside of the hotel, it is downtown and they are all over not just at this hotel. I walked at night outside and it was quite safe, the people outside did not bother me in anyway. Again you get that pretty well in the downtown area of any hotels.. The entrance was beautiful and kept well. One of the elevators broke our first day and was fixed by the end of the day. In the 60's I am sure this was a grand hotel. If you were staying in your room for any length of time this hotel would not be for you. If as in our case it was basically for sleeping this hotel was perfect to stay at and the hotel had a really awesome breakfast which was included. The staff at the front desk bent over backwards to do anything and everything to make our stay enjoyable. I had a child screaming all day & evening the first night, mentioned it the next morning and it was taken care of immediately. They were moved to a different area and there was no more problems with my room after that. As I said it was a place to sleep. In our bathroom our toilet did not have a lid as it was an industrial one that you would see in a mall. Having said that though my friend was in another room down the hall and she had a nice bathroom with a toilet seat. Again if you can get past it for the price it was well worth staying there. If you want the fancy hotel amenities then this hotel is not for you. I was more concerned by the lack of places to eat in the area than anything, there was very little restaurants but was quite pleased the hotel restaurant served both lunch and dinner and very affordable and decent portions. I would definately stay at this hotel again if I was going to go to the MTS centre ever again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Travelling-grandma-9
Thank you for offering you comments on your visit to Winnipeg and The Marlborough Hotel. I am pleased that the hotel met your needs over the 9 days you were here and I hope you enjoyed the Roar of the Rings (as well as the complimentary hot breakfast!) . We look forward to your next visit.
Chris Dubberley
General Manager
The Marlborough Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Attended a function held at the Marlborough and found it mediocre at best. Didn't feel safe going outside on my own and the parkade across the street is a great place to leave your car if you want it damaged, and your possessions stolen. No help from the hotel either. They don't even have security cameras in the parkade, even though it belongs to them. Look elsewhere if you want a SAFE place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear HankNorth,

I do need to make a correction on your behalf. We do not own the parkade across from the hotel nor any parking lot in the area of the hotel. I can empathize with you if something happened to your vehicle but The Marlborough Hotel does not own the lot. If there was an issue with parking in that lot the, hotel can provide you with the contact information. As for the safety of the hotel we are staffed 24 hours a day for our guest’s safety. I’m sorry if you did not feel safe traveling outside in downtown Winnipeg. There is a safe walk program available for future downtown visits.

If you require the contact information for the parking lot please feel free to contact the hotel.

Chris Dubberley
General Manager
The Marlborough Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed here because it is in walking distance to the MTS centre. We travel extensively and stay in hotels on a regular basis. We are not high maintenance people. Lets start with the outside entrance. This hotel is located in downtown Winnipeg and there are a lot of less fortunate people in the area. For personal safety you should not walk outside alone after dark in this area. The hotel has a security person on duty and its a shame he doesn't clear the beggars from the entrance of the hotel. The rooms are very dated and the first one we were in was not very clean. The heat stopped working in our first room and we got froze out so moved to another room. The shower went from scalding hot to freezing cold in 10 seconds and it was really hard to control. The toilet was hard to flush. We were a group and had five rooms, they were all about the same. One of our group had to move because of a water line break in their bathroom. Late one night the fire alarm went off and everyone evacuated only to find out it was a prank. They advertise the rooms as being renovated, but the five rooms our group had were not recently renovated. On a positive note the free breakfast was fresh cooked, not continental and was quite good. This hotel is very old and budget priced so I believe we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Travelcanada9

Thank you for commenting on your stay at the hotel. I apologize if there were times when there were people outside the hotel that were bothering you. Our security does maintain the front entrance area but are occasionally looking after the inside of the hotel as well. Our maintenance staff would be happy to correct the heat and flushing issues you encountered. As for the late night fire alarm unfortunately people do pull fire stations as a joke – and we do have to treat each one as if it was a real emergency – I am sorry that your evening was disrupted.

I’m glad you enjoyed your meals in Joanna’s café and I hope that your 6 night stay was a positive one.

Chris Dubberley
General Manager
The Marlborough Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My Wife and I were going to a concert and wanted a place close by ,the Marlborough was within walking distance so we didn't have to waste money on a cab or more parking.It is a very hold hotel and it shows but the staff every where we went were excellent,the room was clean ,the bathrooms had all necessities and the restaurant had very good food and at a fair price,also keep in mind the complimentary breakfast was excellent and included everything served by great staff.As stated before by another reviewer ,if You are looking for an inexpensive hotel downtown this is the place to go ,I only have two warning ,don,t park in the parking garage across the road go to the open parking on the north side ,for 15.00 you can park for 24 hours as for the parkade it would cost you less to rent a room for your car,second if you have trouble to enter the room with your key card some handles you have to lift for them to work,I found out thank,s to a nice lady down the hall

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Yvan C

From the staff and Management of The Marlborough Hotel thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your last stay. You have certainly highlighted the hotel in a brief statement. We do pride ourselves on being an inexpensive hotel in downtown Winnipeg that has great food and service and a comfortable bed.

Thanks again,

Chris Dubberley
General Manager
The Marlborough Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The staff was really nice - we were trying to pull up the hotels.com offer and they basically just gave us a discount that matched the internet price. That was nice. The room we got kinda smelled like pee, but that could be overlooked because we were so tired and it was only one night in our huge trip across Canada. Small room, good wifi, and a waterslide. We tried to use the jacuzzi but a child kept splashing my friend without their parents doing anything about it - so we left. Andrew WK thinks this hotel is haunted, so I hear. Also, a HUGE fight broke out in front of the hotel right as we were getting dropped off. Police came and everything. Kind of a shady area, but we are from the USA so it didn't seem so bad to us.

If you want a decent place that'll let you take a nap and stay warm, this is it. It wasn't very pricey, either.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear LaurenOfTheValley,

Thank you for the honest comments. I’m sorry if there was an odour in the room – we would have been happy to find you another room so our housekeeping staff can look after the problem. I’m glad you enjoyed most of the pool and waterslide.

Thanks again and hope to see you on your way back across Canada.

Chris Dubberley
General Manager
The Marlborough Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The staff were courteous and helpful and our room was nice. The kids had a great time in the pool and waterslide. Its location made it very convenient for shopping and to the downtown area. Included was a very nice free breakfast. I had no issues and will stay again next time.

Room Tip: Business floor is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Alison D,

I’m glad that you and the kids enjoyed your stay at The Marlborough Hotel, and that you could have some fun in the pool and waterslide.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Chris Dubberley
General Manager
The Marlborough Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marlborough Hotel

Address: 331 Smith Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2G9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Marlborough Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marlborough Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marlborough Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.