We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look Elsewhere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Marlborough Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Marlborough Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marlborough Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   331 Smith Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2G9, Canada (Downtown Winnipeg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 63 hotels in Winnipeg
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Look Elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Don't allow the history of the place or web site fool you, the Marlborough is an old lady well past her prime and in need of serious upgrading. The hotel serves 'regular' paying customers and families and others apparently receiving long term social assistance. Two business associates moved hotels during our stay; one because she was verbally accosted at the hotel entrance in the early evening, and another because he was woken during the night by an apparently drunken neighbour looking for his girlfriend. As for the services, 'making up' the rooms means changing the towels only - the bed is not touched, garbage bin not emptied and the carpet not vacuumed. Room service did not come on a tray, instead the meal and drink were served in styrofoam containers inside a plastic bag. I've rarely felt personally at risk when on business trips - this is the exception and I would not recommend this hotel or location for women travelling alone or families with children.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear SussexGeezer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and my apologies if we did not meet your standards. I have taken your review and discussed it with all hotel departments as I was very concerned about what was written. Our dining room staff has been given specific direction on room service orders and housekeeping has been informed of the lack of service provided in an effort to make corrections.

Sincerely,

Chris Dubberley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    38
    31
    54
See reviews for
20
37
27
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kipling sask
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have read many reviews about this hotel and was going to pass it up,but the price and location was too good to pass up.When I arrived the desk clerk was very friendly and helpful with parking since it was -28 and I wanted to plug my truck in.There is a private lot less than a block away and for $15.00 you can park for 24 hrs.The hotel itself is in very nice shape for it's age.My room was tastefully decorated and very clean.I wish my bed at home was as comfy as the one I slept in.The location is perfect if going to the MTS or Burton cummings theatre,the mall is also close by.It is a downtown location and there are people who will want to bum smokes and or money,but I found that same problem in the upper class hotels that cost much more...downtown is downtown...If your used to 5 star with all goodies then stay at a 5 star with all the goodies...If your on a budget with a short stay then give this place a try,well worth it.Every staff I encountered greeted me with a hello and a smile...made my day.Keep up the good work my friends...

Room Tip: No tip,I just got lucky
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Budguy1059,


I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on your stay at The Marlborough Hotel. I am also glad that you did not pass up an opportunity to stay at our hotel – despite some negative comments that you may have read. I hope that others will follow your lead and see for themselves. Your comments eloquently described what we are trying to achieve – a great value, a great location with great service in downtown Winnipeg.

We certainly look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Chris Dubberley
General Manager
The Marlborough Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We chose this hotel as it is located across the street from the Burton Cummings Theatre, where we were attending a concert. The website implies it is old world charm. WOW! Nothing could be further from the truth.

At check-in, we had to fight with the staff to receive the rate we were quoted on-line, and in hind site, we should have simply left and found another place, as the clientele in the lobby was making us nervous. We were late for the concert, so we stayed, and we greated by the sweet, non-mistakable smell of pot in the one working elevator. Nice.

The treck to our "business class" rooms was an adventure and the lock down in the hallways was both concerning and reassuring at the same time. Strange, I know.

The rooms. What can I say about the rooms. Our friends and us had adjoining rooms, which ajoined in the bedrooms, which was creepy to say the least. We compared rooms to learn neither had all the appropriate furniture (they were missing a coffee table, we were missing an easy chair, you get the picture), but what was there was ripped, stained, and our friends room stunk of urine. The electrohome box television was a nice touch, particularly with the green hue that glowed from the edges of the screen. All electronics were plugged into indoor/outdoor extension cords that ran the length of the room. Classy.

Lovely brown water came out of the tap and shower, and when we called the front desk, they nonchalantly told us to "run it for a while, it's fine". How disgusting! We drank pop rather than water, even in the middle of the night. We both had cracked windows, which howled with the winter wind all night. The kids risked disease to go to the pool, which did not supply towels, has a manual button waterslide, and a "hot" tub - which was not even warm and that was fine, since disease only multiplies in hot environments.

There was no way we were risking the "complimentary" breakfast. I felt like handing out our vouchers to the numerous citizens camped out in the front of the hotel asking for money. We are were seriously considering printing ourselves "I survived the Marlborough Hotel" t-shirts.
Nevermind cleanliness, price, or convenience, if you value your life, STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE.

And, please management, don't bother responding and thanking me for my feedback, and offering your defense for your establishment. You know as well as I do that this place is not appropriate enough for homeless street dogs.

Room Tip: Don't stay here at all. I can't imagine what it is like on floors that are not "busines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear c. l

As you have had an opportunity to post your comments regarding your stay at The Marlborough Hotel I feel obligated to respond – despite your request that I do not. The Marlborough Hotel services thousands of guests over thousands of room nights every year. Our complimentary breakfast is one of the highlights for many of our guests as there are not many hotels that offer a full selection of hot breakfasts.

We also try to do our part and be eco friendly by having a waterslide on a timer so as to prevent a constant flow of water when not in use. Our hot tub also runs on a timer. As well we do supply pool towels located at the front desk of the hotel. They are available upon request. I can assure you that the pool and hot tub water are tested and treated on a daily basis.

Any concerns that our guests bring forward regarding issues with panhandlers or non hotel guests are dealt with in a timely manner – either through our in house security or our management staff.

Some of your comments do have merit and my staff is diligent when a guest brings a problem to their attention to correct the problem in a timely manner or, in the event that it can’t be corrected, an alternative is found. On some instances it may be that we cannot accommodate a guests needs.

Some of your comments I certainly do not agree with, but they are your comments and opinions and you are free to make them – as I am free to respond.

Sincerely,

Chris Dubberley
General Manager
The Marlborough Hotel


P.S – I am sure homeless dogs would love it here – we are a pet friendly property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchill, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel has really nice staff, very helpful. The complimentary breakfast was ok, unfortunately not enough food to be satisfied for a morning meal. The rooms and bathroom were not clean, but clean enough to not run away immediately. Location is very good, close to downtown, the train station en bus stops.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Wilma128,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your stay at our hotel. I am glad that the staff were helpful while you were here. I do apologize that you feel you did not receive enough at breakfast as we do offer a selection of hot items not just your standard continental breakfast.

I do apologize if the room was not up to your standards of cleanliness and we would have been happy to either come and re clean the room or move you to another room.

Thanks again for staying at The Marlborough Hotel.

Chris Dubberley
General Manager
The Marlborough Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The staff was nice and helpful, but the area and condition of the rooms were not very nice. We had problems coming into the hotel late at night due to them checking names for security and them not putting our names on the list. This was extremely annoying after a night out in the downtown area. The room was extremely small with a bathroom that had peeling paint and with a wall that appeared to have human snot on it. The ice machines are located in corners that do not allow the person to see on either side of him, and this made me feel rather unsafe. On a more positive note, the staff is extremely nice and helpful and do a great job, but it seems as though they do not have much to work with. In the future, I will stay someplace else in downtown Winnipeg.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear 936Traveler,

Thank you for the kind comments regarding the staff at The Marlborough Hotel. I am sorry that the hotel itself did not achieve the same level of satisfaction. I have noted the concern regarding the location and your feeling unsafe at our ice machines – while I can’t move them we will certainly look at making sure that the area is well lit to ensure our other guests do feel safe while getting ice. To correct the room issues our housekeeping and maintenance staff will be sure to check our rooms for the concerns you made to correct them immediately. The title of your review is overpriced and unsafe and I can assure you that we are very value priced for the downtown area and our security and hotel staff try to provide a safe environment for all our guests – therefore we do verify our hotel guests in the later evenings to make sure that everyone has a comfortable stay – I do apologize if guests were not listed – this is easily corrected at the front desk.

Thanks again for your comments and I hope you change your mind and try us again,

Sincerely,

Chris Dubberley
General Manager
The Marlborough Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobridge, South Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

On a business trip, my son and I spent the night here. We picked the place mostly because my son had stayed there several times while attending collage in North Dakota 15 years ago.
The Marlborough was built about 1914 and was once a grand hotel. They didn't need parking back then, so there is no onsite parking. A block away, we paid $15 for open, overnight parking.
The place seemed filled with foreigners, but our night was fine. Our room was clean and quiet. We did notice pealing paint and the shower head had a side leak.
The continental breakfast was served at the hotel restaurant. There were a half dozen choices and the food was average. I had Eggs Benedict and my son had eggs and ham.The food was free with a room ticket, but 2 coffees cost $5.00 with one refill.
This was my first time in Winnipeg which seems to be a thriving metropolis. Winter driving can be difficult and there aren't any freeways. Just lots of stop lights.

Room Tip: Parking is an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear rrfrey,

I am glad that your nights stay met your needs on your trip and thanks for the comments regarding the deficiencies with your room – we will certainly investigate and correct the leak and peeling paint. Our hotel is near a number of parking lots all within the same price range but we do recommend the surface parking on the corner as it allows you to pay one price and come and go as you please.
We hope to see you again if you visit Winnipeg again.
Thanks again for taking the time to comment,

Sincerely,
Chris Dubberley
General Manager
The Marlborough Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

A well maintained older hotel with a lot of character. The room was comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was great! The staff were polite and pleasant. Makes a good base for a short stay if you want to remain in the downtown area and don't need a car. Ideal for shops, museums and the Via Rail station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Mumismatist,
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Marlborough. Our location in downtown does make it a convenient and comfortable location when in town on business or leisure. We certainly look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Chris Dubberley
General Manager
The Marlborough Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marlborough Hotel

Address: 331 Smith Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2G9, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 63 hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Marlborough Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marlborough Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marlborough Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.