We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manitoba Legislative Building

Manitoba Legislative Building
450 Broadway, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0V8, Canada (Downtown Winnipeg)
+1 204-945-5813
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 163 things to do in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors from outside Manitoba as well as residents of the province are always made welcome at our magnificent Legislative Building. Everyone is invited to watch the proceedings of the Legislative Assembly when it is in session from the vantage point of the Visitors' Gallery. The building is open every day for self-guided tours from 8:00 am - 8:00 pm. From September - June, guided tours are available on a pre-booked basis for groups of 10 or more. To book an appointment please call the Tour Program Office. From July 1 to the Labour Day long weekend in September, tours are offered on an hourly basis. The Legislative Building is wheelchair accessible, including the Visitors' Gallery.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I am so glad I took the time to walk down from the forks area to see this beautiful building. Only thing which could have been better if the river walk hadn't been under water.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    54
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Visited on the weekend of the Doors Open. The guides are excellent and gave a good perspective on the history of the building.
A bonus was the Pride Parade that started from the legislature!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful building and architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Beautiful building and architecture.Another stopover location to know more about Manitoba and Canada.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
588 helpful votes 588 helpful votes
“Don't Miss the Symbols, Secrets & Sacrifices Tour for this Building!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

If there is one thing that are are going to do in Winnipeg, I would HIGHLY recommend using the Muddy Waters Tour Company and do their Symbols, Secrets, & Sacrifices Tour for this building. Our guide was Kristen and she was amazing! It was the fastest 1.5 hour tour that we took, where you didn't want it to end and just wanted to know more because it was so interesting. Even my 14-year-old daughter found it to be interesting and was engaged the whole time.

You can take the free tour offered by the Legislature building, but it pales in comparison!!! For the small cost, the other tour was just so worth it.

PS - If you found this review helpful, please click the "YES" box. Thanks! :->

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Magnificient Building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The Legislative building is a beautiful place where you can see a different kind of architecture. During my visit, I could enjoy the silence and peacefulness. In fact, it has a lot of places to visit without a guide so you can take your time and have a good time with your family.Each room has it's own history. Effectively, you can enter in some rooms and listen to the guide who tells you more about the history of this amazing building. Otherwise, you can admire a lot of pantings about special people who were significant for Winnipeg. Finally, it was an activity who everyone would appreciate.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manitoba Legislative Building also viewed

 

Been to Manitoba Legislative Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manitoba Legislative Building, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.