We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2520 Portage Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 3T6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #35 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Selkirk, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Upon arrival we were happy to see that there was ample parking for Hotel guests. We were greeted assigned to our room in a friendly manner. Our reason for staying was to attend a wedding on the premises. It was very convenient to enjoy the evening and not have to drive home. There is a 24 drug store across the street. The room was comfortable and fairly clean. The table & dresser needed extra wiping as there were some spills that were missed. Fairly minor. The bed was clean and comfortable. In the morning, we went down for breakfast but noticed they were having major staffing issues and could not handle the breakfast crowd. We left and went else where for breakfast. Overall, our stay was comfortable and convenient. We would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbmcha, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear 99Fifi99,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us this past July. We are pleased you were happy with your accommodation but I do apologize you were not able to utilize our retaurant. Unfortunately everyone arrived at the same time and yes, overwhelmed everyone.
I do hope you get the opportunity to return and enjoy it like you should.
Thank you again for taking the time to comment and hope we get the opportunity to host you again upon your return to Winnipeg.
Respectfully,
Bruce MacKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    63
    31
    15
    8
See reviews for
51
18
19
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My family and I generally stay at this hotel in Winnipeg due to the nice play area for our children. I am going to mention that we are IHG Members, and I highly recommend anyone who isn't already a member to go ahead and sign up. It's free, and if you are a frequent traveller or stay in hotels often the benefits can really add up.

We were very pleased at our check-in with this hotel as we stayed on December 23 2013, and upon arrival we were told we were being given a complimentary upgrade to a Suite. The suite was beautiful and the kids were blown away by the size of the room. It was a corner suite with two queen beds and a pull out couch in the living room, as well as a dining room table with chairs, and a kitchen sink, cupboards, mini fridge, coffee maker and microwave. The TV's in both the main area and bedroom were both good sized flat screens. The room was very clean and like I said, very spacious.

The play centre, as always, was a hit for our 3 children. The pool was very warm, which I was pleased with! The fitness centre was clean and is well maintained.

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Airport West and will definitely be returning for future visits!

Room Tip: We favour corner rooms due to their size. From this experience alone we are likely going to upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbmcha, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Mandy W,
Thank you so much once again for your continued patronage and your most gracious comments. I really appreciate getting the opportunity to share such wonderful comments with all of our team.
I am thrilled you were happy with your upgrade as that is always a nice treat. I hope you and your family had a happy and healthy Christmas and all the best for a Happy New Year. We look forward to your return visit.
Respectfully,
Bruce MacKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night on a comp. night as our kids theme room in May was a shocking experience .... When the air cond. quit working at around midnight at 3 am I went down to get a few fans because it wa 35 degrees c .... Management said they would like to come into the room and reset it.... I said no as my wife and 3 kids were still trying to sleep.... As I checked out I said I would not pay for the room as everyone had terrible sleeps .... They stated that it was my fault for not letting maintenance in to repair it at 3 am.... After much argumenting they mailed me a gift certificate wich we used last night... No need for air con when it is ~ 40 c out lol .... The rooms leave a lot to b desired .... 4 bunk beds the children loved ..... Our queen felt like sponge and plywood garbadge! The rooms r so tiny that there is not even enough room to have a table in them to sit and have a family dinner... U are forced to use the pool area.... I will not b returning here again and would recommend others look elsewhere for there family weekend in winnipeg .....

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbmcha, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear farmsincanada,
Thank you for taking the time to commnet on your most recent stay with us. I am extremely sorry you did not have the opportunity to enjoy either of your stays. With respect to your stay in May, we would have only wanted to correct the situation with the A/C unit.
For this stay, our kids rooms are designed with the kids in mind so yes, they are smaller than a normal guestroom.
I apologize that you feel you need to seek alternate accommodations when in Winnipeg and I respect that. We will be undergoing a very significant renovation this year and I would hope that you might reconsider.
Happy New Year.
Respectfully,
Bruce MacKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Pas, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed there so my young girls could have some fun, & they did in the pool and indoor play park. BUT... The room was small, dirty/dusty in corners, old cracked sink and didn't come with a microwave (we had requested it). We ended up having to re-arranged the desks in the room because we couldn't leave our baby sleeping in the playpen by the outside wall...it was Freezing cold! (She obviously had trouble sleeping the first night, & caught a serious cold by the 3rd day). Plus, Saturday night party in one of the ballrooms kept me up all night. Was not impressed overall with the stay, but at least the kids had fun. Should be updated (2nd floor rooms) if they are going to charge such high prices.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbmcha, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear DaiseythePas,
We are very sorry you did not have a very enjoyable stay with us during your most recent trip to Winnipeg.
Your comfort and satisfaction is our main goal and we would have certainly moved you to ensure you were comfortable. Your comments go along way to assist with our ongoing training and I really appreciate your honesty.
I certainly hope you will give us another opportunity to accommodate you in the future.
Happy New Year.
Respectfully,
Bruce MacKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I travel to Winnipeg about once a month and have tried various hotels in the area. While a lot of them are very nice, this one has the "above and beyond" characteristic.

From the moment you enter the hotel and are greet by the doormen/women, and the friendly desk staff (who manage to remember your name), to the good food and service in their hotel resaurant and bar.

While not over top as far as new and all the latest and greatest, the rooms are very clean, bed comfortable ( with selection of pillows) and towels are nice.

Fresh cookies (always a winner with me) at night. They also offer free shuttle service to the mall and area. Underground parking (great for winter). Free Wi-fi. And they have a wonderful Pirate themed big pool area and a climb/slide for the kids.

I was also impressed with their fitness room. I would like to see it stay open a little longer (only open until 10), it was very clean with a good supply of disinfectant to wipe down machines, clean towels and the good selection of equipment was all in very good working order.

With a Keg and Boston Pizza across the road (as well as a liquor store for those who care), you are not limited to eating just at the hotel.

Location is great! - I wouldn't want to stay downtown any way. Jump on Portage Ave and you can be anywhere in just a few mins.

Kudos to the management and staff of this hotel. Nice job!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbmcha, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Calindac64,

I cannot begin to tell you how much I appreciate your comments on your stays with us. It is always a pleasure to be able to share comments such as yours with our team. Everyone tries extrememly hard to ensure you are comfortable.
We are very fortunate to be able to offer the type of fitness facility and pool area to our guests. Everything we did in there was designed for the sole comfort of our guests. We would be happy to allow you longer access to the fitness centre when you are in. Please contact our Manager on Duty and we will ensure you have the time you require.
Thank you again for providing such a wonderful review, your ongoing patronage and we look forward to your return visit.

Respectfully,
Bruce MacKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Visited Winnipeg for a wedding (coming from the U.S.) and stayed at this hotel.

The rooms were very spacious, the front desk was very p,easing. Nice restaurant - we ate. Real fast there and it was prepared well and a good value.

Extra fun - this hotel has a small bank of slot machines (VLT)! A number of other hotels in Winnipeg have this entertainment too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbmcha, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear EmeldaBlaine,
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay in Winnipeg. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed yourself and I really appreciate your comments on our staff. Everyone tries very hard to ensure all of our guests are comfortable.
Thank you again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to your return visit.

Respectfully,
Bruce MacKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Awesome experience. The staff go the extra mile and are extremely helpful and friendly.

The restaurant services a fantastic breakfast!
Would definitely recommend this location. Lots of restaurants and shopping close by.

Room Tip: get an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbmcha, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Margc_11
Thank you so much for recognizing the efforts of our team. Everyone works extremely hard to ensure your experience is a pleasant one.
Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit.
Respectfully,
Bruce MacKay
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West

Address: 2520 Portage Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 3T6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport West hotel is located 3 miles (5 km) east of Winnipeg By-Pass Hwy #101 on Trans Canada Hwy #1, 2520 Portage Avenue. We are a 14 floor high rise hotel with 190 guest rooms, 18 KidSuites and 18 one-bedroom suites including 2 suites which feature a Jacuzzi tub. All guest accommodations feature in-room coffee makers, fridge, iron/ironing board, remote control 25' color cable TV, AM/FM clock radio & working desk area complete with computer access & 2 2-line phones. Wireless high-speed Internet. Licensed restaurant & cocktail lounge. Same day valet laundry service (Mon-Fri) plus coin operated washer/dryer facilities. Complimentary 24 hour transportation to/from Airport & Polo Park Shopping Centre. Free underground heated parking as well as surface parking. Business centre and gift shop located in the main lobby. Meeting & function space available for groups of 2 - 350 persons. Our hotel is within driving distance to the Assiniboia Downs Race Track, Assiniboine Park & Zoo, Club Regent & McPhillips Casinos, Centennial Concert Hall, Forks Market, Manitoba Museum, MTS Centre, Western Canada Aviation Museum, Winnipeg Legislative Grounds & The Winnipeg Blue Bombers Football Stadium (all a must see when visiting Winnipeg). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West Hotel Winnipeg
Winnipeg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.