We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel if you have kids.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2520 Portage Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 3T6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #37 of 63 hotels in Winnipeg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel if you have kids.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for a night recently and had a nice stay. There was a fast check inn and a very helpful friendly front desk staff. I had family who came to visit while I was in the city and found the rooms a little small when everyone was in there. There is an excellent play area for kids I know my daughter had a blast playing. I did find some of the kids who were playing in the area a little rough but kids get excited while playing. The pool water was a really nice temperature, they have a little kids pool for younger kids. Wrist bands are needed while you are in the play area (for the kids) I didn't know this until I got to the hotel and was a little disappointed because I had my nephews and nieces coming in to play and visit while we were there. The next morning we got up and ready for checkout. When I booked my room online I found a deal that would get my wife and I free breakfast. We got a $20 credit for the restaurant in the lobby area and breakfast cost is $18 and change and my wife and I had to get water otherwise it would have been over the 20 credit. I didn't like the fact that online it said free breakfast for 2 and it's limited to 20, I would of liked a juice or even coffee with my breakfast. Kids 12 and under eat free off the kids menu. I would still like to thank the hotel and I know I would book again if I went in because I would like my kids to have fun and enjoy the play are

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbmcha, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Wickeraz
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay with us. I would also like to thank you for pointing out the areas of the hotel and our team members you were pleased with. It is always a pleasure to be able to share such comments.
I am sorry if you were mislead in any way with the package you had chosen. Your points are important to the Brand and those are being addressed. If you are not a current member of our IHG Rewards program, there are advantages you can enjoy in future stays. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your return visit.
Respectfully,
Bruce MacKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    57
    29
    15
    8
See reviews for
48
17
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Airport West many, many times. I feel so at home while I am there and I get such good feelings from the moment that I walk into the door until we leave. The rooms are always clean, the food in the restaurant is excellent, and my son loves Pirates Cove and swimming in the pool. I love the fact that underground parking is available - a bonus when it is snowing outside! :)

Room Tip: The corner rooms are much quieter than the rooms facing Portage Avenue - less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbmcha, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear TLHZD
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your stay with us. it is always a pleasure to share these with our team as they can see their efforts are appreciated.
We look forward to your return visit.
Respectfully,
Bruce MacKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

it is a very old hotel that definitely needs lots of renovations! i .was very disappointed once we were in.rooms were very small and overcrowded by old furniture .so we had to redecorate the room so we have enough space to walk around. The bathroom is way awful ..the sink is cracked and needed to be changed, the bathroom was dark and needed extra lights o make this small space brighter.... just feel like u want to get out of there as soon as possible ,rather than enjoying a nice hot bath.the only advantage in this hotel was the children activities . ping pong table ...small wading pool ,big pool and pirate cove which all the children seem to enjoy......and children 12 and under eat for free...it seems this hotel is packed during the weekends due to children's activities but still they have to consider renovating and updating to keep with people's tastes.

Room Tip: great for children activities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbmcha, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear maki s
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Winnipeg. I am sorry you did not find your accommodations to your liking. We are in the process of reviewing our renovation plans. The changes will be very exciting as I hope you will give us another opportunity to accommodate you in the future.
Respectfully,
Bruce MacKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Winnipeg for a business trip in March, and everything went smooth, staff was very friendly, rooms were quiet and comfortable. Honestly nothing to complain about.
I had a coffee and a drink at the lounge near the lobby, nice and clean. For those who wish to eat out, there's a Keg and a Boston Pizza literally across the street.

Room Tip: I was on the 6th floor and no issues whatsoever, elevator was quick enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbmcha, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear AleccoH
Thank you for taking time out of your day to comment on your stay with us. Our team works extremely hard to provide a comfortable and clean environment for our guests. it is always special when those efforts are recognized.
We look forward to you return visit.
Respectfully,
Bruce MacKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This past weekend we had a great experience at this hotel! We called at 11 to see if we could get in early and we could get in right away. We were able to get there at 1 meaning we ha all afternoon in the pool and pirate cove. My neice who just turned 2 had a blast. Was so cute to see her have so much fun. She spent hours in the pirate cove. The pool temperature was perfect.... Not too cold or warm.
We also forgot tooth paste and shampoo and the maids were so friendly making sure we had everything we needed! Thank you so much for a nice time!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbmcha, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Ashleyf29
Our Goal is to ensure you can relax and enjoy our surroundings. I am thrilled you were able to get in early and I really appreciate your comments on that. Our play area is one of a kind in the city and when your kids are happy we are happy.
Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit.
Respectfully,
Bruce MacKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Went there for a night on spring break, mostly to give the kids a day of pool fun.

The pool is not the best, it is a rectangle and has no sallow end, and not very big. It is about 4.5 feet depth throughout, so that's not great for smaller kids. And nice and warm, which is much more comfortable for kida. There's a kiddies pool and a hot tub. But the much better attraction is the pirates cove play area, the kids loved it. Lots of nice and comfortable seating areas for the parents.

Comparing it to candinns and clarion as a place to take the kids, it would depend on how much your kids really want to go swimming.

Kids eat free at the restaurant, which isn't anything great but ok. Lots of restaurant options nearby, subway, keg, Boston pizza all across th street. Also nice having a shoppers drug mart across th street.

I remember when it was th old birchwood inn, and the only trace of the 80s is the fish tanks in the elevator. Which I hope they keep, they're great. Rooms are smallish, but comfortable. And very quiet, considering it was spring break and crawling with kids. Nice quality televisions.

Only complaint is the housekeeping. Our room was not cleaned up completely, and that's a big strike against.

Room Tip: If you have kids, get a room on the second floor. Easier to get to the pool. If not, ask to not be o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

When I have a stop over in Winnipeg, I usually stay here. It's close to the airport (10 minutes). The reason I like it better than staying right at the airport is there are restaurants within walking distance (The Keg, Boston Pizza). The hotel is old (I remember it as the Birchwood Inn as a kid) but they have renovated the rooms and lobby so it looks very modern. If you ever travel to Winnipeg in Winter, they have one of the best features...Heated Underground Parking!!
Staff are very nice and up beat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West

Address: 2520 Portage Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 3T6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 63 hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport West hotel is located 3 miles (5 km) east of Winnipeg By-Pass Hwy #101 on Trans Canada Hwy #1, 2520 Portage Avenue. We are a 14 floor high rise hotel with 190 guest rooms, 18 KidSuites and 18 one-bedroom suites including 2 suites which feature a Jacuzzi tub. All guest accommodations feature in-room coffee makers, fridge, iron/ironing board, remote control 25' color cable TV, AM/FM clock radio & working desk area complete with computer access & 2 2-line phones. Wireless high-speed Internet. Licensed restaurant & cocktail lounge. Same day valet laundry service (Mon-Fri) plus coin operated washer/dryer facilities. Complimentary 24 hour transportation to/from Airport & Polo Park Shopping Centre. Free underground heated parking as well as surface parking. Business centre and gift shop located in the main lobby. Meeting & function space available for groups of 2 - 350 persons. Our hotel is within driving distance to the Assiniboia Downs Race Track, Assiniboine Park & Zoo, Club Regent & McPhillips Casinos, Centennial Concert Hall, Forks Market, Manitoba Museum, MTS Centre, Western Canada Aviation Museum, Winnipeg Legislative Grounds & The Winnipeg Blue Bombers Football Stadium (all a must see when visiting Winnipeg). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West Hotel Winnipeg
Winnipeg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.