We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay Before you catch your plane” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2520 Portage Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 3T6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #35 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Aurora, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay Before you catch your plane”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

When I have a stop over in Winnipeg, I usually stay here. It's close to the airport (10 minutes). The reason I like it better than staying right at the airport is there are restaurants within walking distance (The Keg, Boston Pizza). The hotel is old (I remember it as the Birchwood Inn as a kid) but they have renovated the rooms and lobby so it looks very modern. If you ever travel to Winnipeg in Winter, they have one of the best features...Heated Underground Parking!!
Staff are very nice and up beat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    63
    31
    15
    8
See reviews for
51
18
19
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winkler, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We love coming here to hang out with our kids; they love the pool and pirates cove play area. This hotel is consistent with the cleanliness of the rooms and service overall. We especially appreciate their recent reno's in their pool, pirates cove and gym areas; their new seating areas are much appreciated as well. We have been coming to this hotel to celebrate our kids' birthdays for the past 6 years and plan to continue on visiting this family friendly hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stay at this location because of meetings at a nearby venue that I attend several times a year. I also vacation and recently have stayed at other hotels in Canada, USA and other countries and use those experiences as a basis of comparison:

Negatives
-True, this facility is getting older and some of the furnishings and decor are becoming worn and dated.
-Room layouts are different and some are quite cramped.
-Some street facing rooms on lower floors or facing Portage or Moray have quite a bit of traffic noise.
-Ongoing renovation-though happening slowly- is happening which means that some areas/activities have been closed or unavailable or limited from time to time.gym,pool,parkade).
-Small onsite shop closed some time ago- probably couldn't compete with the 24 hour Shoppers Drug Mart across the street, but I still miss the opportunity to buy the odd thing such as the Winnipeg Free Press or a magazine without having to dodge the traffic on Portage Ave.
-TV service has finally recently been upgraded to flat screen and digital but the on TV AV services guide still did not match the available channels.

POSITIVES
-Wonderful staff! I have a "Cheers" good feeling at the front desk and the restaurant. I find the desk staff especially friendly and welcoming (Grant/Charlene/Eileen- You "bake" good cookies!). I do try to communicate and confirm any special request upon registration and to ensure availability- I do try to register well in advance if I want a specific location like a corner "roomier" room, tub instead of shower only- or such.
-Welcoming lobby-lovely seasonal displays.
-Immaculately clean rooms. Comfortable beds and nice bedding.
-Decent lighting for reading or doing meeting homework. In room good signal WiFi.
-I have always appreciated the timely response by Maintenance and such when something (heat, AC, plumbing) doesn't work in the room.
-Handy and convenient heated indoor parkade parking is included in the price.
-Rooms at a higher floor or back facing have less traffic noise and can be request honored if reserving well in advance.
-Restaurant has good menu choices and decently priced specials. Food is tasty and well presented. Such friendly staff- Darlene, Lisa, Michael, Penny and others!! Love the soup bar!
-Location is handy to other restaurant choices- Keg, Boston Pizza and others are a short walk or a short drive away.
-Hotel shuttle is handy and convenient to the Airport or Polo Park Mall
-Winnipeg city bus stop is conveniently located to take the bus to the MTS Centre downtown if attending a game or concert there.
.
I should mention that in Oct. 2012 I was a guest at the hotel (#1105) when a small fire occurred in the restaurant in the wee hours of the morning. The staff reacted in an amazingly competent fashion. I had sent an email as soon as I got home about an evacuation- related issue which was immediately answered by Angela. I have since stayed there several times just as comfortably as ever with absolutely NO safety concerns.
In closing- yes- for me it always is "a great day at the Holiday Inn"!!

Room Tip: -corner rooms are more spacious if sharing or needing a cot -adjoining rooms are available - highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbmcha, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear CookieManitoba

I would like to thank you for the indepth review you have provided on our property. I can't tell you how pleased i am to see the extent in which you have provided both pros and cons of the hotel. it really means a lot to the ongoing performance of our team to see such glowing comments in writing. So often you only see the negatives.
I have shared your comments with those that you have mentioned and you can be assured it has made their day.
All the best to you and we look forward to your return visit.
Respectfully,
Bruce MacKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at holiday inn portage location winnipeg... At first i am already disappointed, front desk cannot handle the situation having so many guests in line... Service were very slow, the front desk guy was having a bad day giving attitude to guests.. I aPpreciate their foods cause its really tasty.. I also like the housekeepers cause they do job so well, my room was very clean.. At night time, there is a filipino guy working at front desk.. He was just talking on the phone so loud and in different language... What really annoys me was when he didnt even recognized that i am waiting there on him to hang up the call... Overall, i like the place, just not the front desks Persons....

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Reianeheart,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. I am pleased to know that you find your room clean and our restaurant food options exceeded your expectations. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are happy you experienced it as such. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience our front desk staff may have caused. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and for that reason, your comments will surely be looked into. I have taken notes of your feedback and assure you that proper measures will be taken to improve the quality of service we offer.

We look forward to having the opportunity to host you in the near future to allow you to experience our commitment to quality and service.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Would not stay he again unless totally stuck. Hotel seems shabby around the edges and well-past prime use of decor, furniture, etc. We both travel with work a couple dozens nights a year each, and stay everywhere from downright scuzzy, outdated motels in some villages, to the very nicest. This hotel gets you a clean bed, but there are many other better values in Winnipeg for both amenities and service. We paid $136/night/room.

The pool and recreation area is very large. Layout not particularly nice. The pool and hot tub are raised so you can't see them from the kiddie pool or most of the seating and lounge chairs (not conducive to parents watching kids). On the good side, they did have pool attendants looking after very ample towel supplies. The tile on the pool area (including the floor of the pool) is very slippery when wet. In an attempt to improve safety, they have soaking wet pool towels forming "carpet" in high traffic areas of the pool deck. Might help, but gross. This hotel also uses the inconvenient and unpleasant wristband system for kids to use the pool.

We had 2 adjoining rooms. First hotel we've seen where you actually can't have the doors left open between the rooms - they interfere with operation of the main doors if left fully open and back against the wall. Neither central Holiday Inn reservations,nor the front desk at this hotel could guarantee we would actually get adjoining rooms. It was a wishy-washy answer of "likely, but not guaranteed" and depended on their "systems". The way this request was answered felt very much like they might mess up the request simply due to carelessness and needed an "out" in case that happened.

Only 1 of the 8 people in our party was able to shower: shower wouldn't turn on in one room and was cool water for full 15-20 minutes in the other room.

Even better, when we discussed this shower situation with the front desk at check out,there was no one on staff who had any authority to do anything about our request. Supposedly the manager will be calling us (we're 45 minutes gone for hotel at time of this writing).

I gave the breakfast a "poor" rating due to the situation - did not actually eat there. We would have liked to, Holiday Inn does a great job of promoting their "kids eat free" feature. However, the restaurant appears to open late on Sunday mornings and wasn't actually open in item for our family. Here too, it's inconvenient as you have to pick up passes at the front desk for the kids to get he complimentary restaurant meal (why?) and that's not discussed at check-in, so becomes a hassle later.

Room Tip: Our rooms also felt very closed-in due to tiny little windows. One room's window faced Portage A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear 20SBN13,

Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. Our goal is to provide superior customer service and a unique stay to all of our guests. I apologize if our hotel did not meet your expectations on this day. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced caused by the condition of the property and hotel staff service. Your comments are important to us to ensure we are constantly focused on improving our service and we hope we can demonstrate to you our commitment to value and service.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven Sisters Falls
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed with daughter and grand daughter who is 4 for a weekend. This hotel is very family friendly. The pool and pirates cove play structure is awesome. My granddaughter loved it. The room was very clean and comfy. Location is close to shopping and lots of restaurants across the street. The restaurant in the hotel is good for breakfast. Would be nice if they had a continental breakfast for a lighter breakfast for less cost. Staff are friendly. Would return here with kids. If I were coming as a single or couple and wanted to swim it would not be so great because the pool is really full of kids and it is really noisy by the pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

After being moved rooms at midnight with 3 kids under the age of 5 because of a leaking air conditioner they tried to charge us for our stay! Manager on duty last night told us our stay would be free and we would receive a complimentary night for our next visit. The manager this morning, Angela Driedger, basically called my husband a liar when he told her what the other manager had said. She handed him a bill and would not provide the contact information for her upper management.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear MommyS3,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West

Address: 2520 Portage Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 3T6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport West hotel is located 3 miles (5 km) east of Winnipeg By-Pass Hwy #101 on Trans Canada Hwy #1, 2520 Portage Avenue. We are a 14 floor high rise hotel with 190 guest rooms, 18 KidSuites and 18 one-bedroom suites including 2 suites which feature a Jacuzzi tub. All guest accommodations feature in-room coffee makers, fridge, iron/ironing board, remote control 25' color cable TV, AM/FM clock radio & working desk area complete with computer access & 2 2-line phones. Wireless high-speed Internet. Licensed restaurant & cocktail lounge. Same day valet laundry service (Mon-Fri) plus coin operated washer/dryer facilities. Complimentary 24 hour transportation to/from Airport & Polo Park Shopping Centre. Free underground heated parking as well as surface parking. Business centre and gift shop located in the main lobby. Meeting & function space available for groups of 2 - 350 persons. Our hotel is within driving distance to the Assiniboia Downs Race Track, Assiniboine Park & Zoo, Club Regent & McPhillips Casinos, Centennial Concert Hall, Forks Market, Manitoba Museum, MTS Centre, Western Canada Aviation Museum, Winnipeg Legislative Grounds & The Winnipeg Blue Bombers Football Stadium (all a must see when visiting Winnipeg). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West Hotel Winnipeg
Winnipeg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.