We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Winnipeg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Winnipeg to your Saves list
The Fairmont Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Lombard Place, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0Y3, Canada (Downtown Winnipeg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here for 9 nights for business. The rooms were nothing much fancier than any decent hotel- beds were actually not very comfortable. However, there is something to be said for a full-service hotel. Had the mini bar, coffee (Keurig singles), tea, wine, etc. I didn't take advantage but it's still a nice perk, if expensive. The toiletries were quite nice- the first time I have used hotel shampoo and conditioner and not wanted to throw it in the trash. I actually took some home with me, it was that nice. And loved the scent (made specifically for Fairmont apparently). The hotel restaurant was very good but very expensive- even on business, I did not eat here beyond the first night. And that, with one glass of wine, was $97 with a tip. All in all though, if I needed to be stuck in a hotel for 9 nights, this was a great place to be stuck. Staff was very accomodating, bringing a corkscrew and a kettle up to the room on separate occasions. Room rate itself was very reasonable for the service level you receive. I will stay there again if I go back to Winnipeg.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any rooms with newer beds- I think mine was older as both beds had quite a sag in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana T, Executive Office at The Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your business travel experience. We are pleased to hear that our full service hotel exceeded your expectations and that our staff were able to accomodate your needs. We are very proud of our bathroom amenities, the Le Labo Rose scent was made especially for the Fairmont hotel brand. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Diana Toovey
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    137
    51
    29
    16
See reviews for
45
79
32
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I'm not sure this one is as nice or luxurious as some of the other Fairmonts. However, this is still a quality hotel with good size rooms ad a decent view, depending on where your room is located. There is a lounge and restaurant in the hotel. Te hotel is also on connected to an underground walking area with a Tim Hortons and shops, eliminating the need to go out in the cold. The hotel is well situated for many popular tourist sites. Breakfast was not included.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana T, Executive Office at The Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about The Fairmont Winnipeg. We are located in the centre of downtown and are attached to major attractions. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Diana Toovey
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I had a staycation at the Fairmont on the Gold floor and couldn't of ask for better service and a lovely stay. Without even mentioning to the staff that is was a romantic getaway, they lite candles all over our room and fresh rose petals to add to the ambience. Great to be downtown and walk to the Jets game. Thanks for making our Winnipeg staycation a special one.

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit extra for the Gold floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana T, Executive Office at The Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your outstanding staycation experience. We strive to provide exceptional guest interactions and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Winnipeg.

Sincerely,
Diana Toovey
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great hotel in the downtown area. The hotel staff are top notch and treat you like royalty. Super fast check in and rooms are clean and well furnished. The beds are very comfy and make you want to lie in them forever. The restaurant is a tad expensive but all the food is excellent. You can get some great deals on this hotel some dates making it much cheaper then the alternatives. Great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile


Had a nice stay here, location is great if you want to be at the city center and there's a mall and Tim Horton's downstairs.

The room was clean and the bathroom had great amenities. But the room with the two double beds was small and hard to move around with the kids so we moved to a suite at the club floor which was a lot larger. The bed was a little too soft IMO but the linens and towels were great. It also had a flat panel TV and WIFI was strong.

Staff here were great and the food at the restaurant was very good. We had to move to another room (third time) when we smelt pot in our room, the smell came from the closet and into our room, it was very potent and the manager offered to move us to another room. Since we moved three times, noticed that some rooms have been renovated with nice bathrooms so probably better to ask at the front desk for renovated rooms.

Would stay here again if I want to be in the downtown area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana T, Executive Office at The Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are glad to hear that you felt well taken care of in our hotel. Our staff strive to provide exceptional guest service and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Diana Toovey
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This must be one of the best hotels in Canada, the rooms are out of this world with attendents there to help you at every turn, the food is sooooo good, the location is downtown Winnipeg who could ask for anything more.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and the rooms are quite expensive but worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana T, Executive Office at The Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We take pride in providing exceptional guest service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Diana Toovey
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel gets a good review because of the location. Inner lobby is nice and access to the underground is worth it's weight in gold in the winter months. However, I have to say that I was not so impressed with the tired-looking furniture in the room. The bathroom appeared to have been renovated, but the rest of the room didn't "impress" like a fairmont hotel should. That being said though, the customer service by the staff is extremely wonderful. Hotel was clean despite some renovations, and overall it was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana T, Executive Office at The Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to announce that our guestroom and meeting space renovations are complete. We look forward to welcoming you back to see our upgrades and new amenities for the guestrooms.

Sincerely,
Diana Toovey
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Winnipeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Winnipeg

Address: 2 Lombard Place, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0Y3, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#6 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#8 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Winnipeg 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Winnipeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Winnipeg Hotel Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Winnipeg Fairmont
The Fairmont Winnipeg Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Winnipeg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.