We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, great location but rooms need some updating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Winnipeg

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Winnipeg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fairmont Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Lombard Place, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0Y3, Canada (Downtown Winnipeg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 63 hotels in Winnipeg
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice hotel, great location but rooms need some updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel gets a good review because of the location. Inner lobby is nice and access to the underground is worth it's weight in gold in the winter months. However, I have to say that I was not so impressed with the tired-looking furniture in the room. The bathroom appeared to have been renovated, but the rest of the room didn't "impress" like a fairmont hotel should. That being said though, the customer service by the staff is extremely wonderful. Hotel was clean despite some renovations, and overall it was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana T, Executive Office at The Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to announce that our guestroom and meeting space renovations are complete. We look forward to welcoming you back to see our upgrades and new amenities for the guestrooms.

Sincerely,
Diana Toovey
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    116
    40
    24
    14
See reviews for
36
64
30
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Fairmont Winnipeg is in a good location in downtown Winnipeg but is just an average hotel and certainly not worth the high rates that they charge and not up to the standards you would expect from a Fairmont.
The staff were great and were very attentive. The lobby was very small and although clean was a bit dated. My room was clean but was also dated and just simply not worth the rate charged.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana T, Executive Office at The Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words towards our staff. We strive to provide exceptional guest service and we are glad that you felt well taken care of in our hotel.

Sincerely,
Diana Toovey
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here in February, 2013 for a few nights. Excellent and well-appointed room. Helpful staff throughout. Internet access was easy and reliable. Breakfast and other meals were good. I have no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed here for three nights at the end of January. I the room i was in had been recently renovated and i thought it was fabulous. The bathroom especially was very well done. The new shower they have is amazing, regardless of how tall you are, the top of your head is going to get wet! The service from all staff was great. They had my reservation prepped before I arrived, so it was a breeze, just pick up the room card and go. With any questions I had they were very quick and efficient to complete my requests. If there was any down side, I would say it was the location. It's a far walk through the pedways to the convention centre with a few twists and turns to get there. The Hotel room was quite and large enough to be comfortable. I like the radio with the ambient sounds of nature and so on, to helps to make the place much more relaxing and enjoyable. The desk is large enough to work on, has great lighting, near a window and is well appointed. All in all, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana T, Executive Assistant at The Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your praise of our newly renovated guestrooms. We are pleased to unveil the newly redesigned glass shower stalls in 82 of our guestrooms. We take pride in providing unmatched guest service and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Diana Toovey
Executive Assistant
204-985-6204
Diana.Toovey@Fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

While there has been much improvement in several areas of this location it remains the weakest Fairmont property.
Front desk staff and bell staff struggle mightily to keep up standards but repeated and on going infrastructure and facilities problems hamstring this operation. There is no need for repeated failures of ice machines, TVs, internet and toilets in a Fairmont property. The shortage of rooms in downtown Winnipeg means there is great competition between yourself and the overnight, weekday road warriors who know how grizzly the other hotel options in Winnipeg are. I have frequently had difficulty booking since hockey teams visiting VIPs and musicians treat this as the only hotel in the city. That being said the food doesn't match the majority of the clientele. It was heart breaking to repeatedly pass a top rate dining room when customers were camped in the bar eating burgers. (With a beer and grat most bar entrees were >$40)
Parking during the week is a shambles as clients insist on valet parking in front of the building for justified fear of break-ins in the parkade.
In short this location does not meet Fairmont standards and guests should know very low expectations should be readied if you must go to Winnipeg.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana T, Executive Office at The Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. The Fairmont Winnipeg strives to provide exceptional guest service and facilities to all our guests. Your comments have been passed on to our executive committee for follow up. If you wish to discuss your stay further please contact our executive office at 204-985-6204.

Sincerely,
Diana Toovey
Executive Office
204-985-6204
Diana.Toovey@Fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The lobby and access to this hotel is nice. The beds are to die for. I want to take home Fairmont beds whenever I stay in one!!! The rooms however, are old and dingy. Nothing fancy at all. I joke that it looks haunted. I'm not sure why travelers assume that this would be a nice hotel to stay at.... Try Fort Garry Hotel. Beautiful... And what I would expect of a Fairmont.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana T, Executive Office at The Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Our Fairmont beds are comfortable and we receive many compliments on them. So glad that you enjoyed. We are pleased to annouce the renovation of 82 of guestrooms which now include glass shower stalls with rainhead shower heads and modern decor. We look forward to welcoming you back to our newly renovated guestrooms.

Sincerely,
Diana Toovey
Executive Office
204-985-6204
Diana.Toovey@Fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Nice hotel. Nice staff. Good location. Decent sized rooms. Nice to have an upper-floor pool and fitness center. No hitches about staying here. Very standard, higher-end hotel - nothing exceptional, but no qualms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana T, Executive Office at The Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and for providing your feedback. We strive to exceed guests' expectations and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Winnipeg.

Sincerely,
Diana Toovey
Executive Office
204-985-6204
Diana.Toovey@Fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Winnipeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Winnipeg

Address: 2 Lombard Place, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0Y3, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#11 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Winnipeg 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your The Fairmont Winnipeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Winnipeg Hotel Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Winnipeg Fairmont
The Fairmont Winnipeg Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Winnipeg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.