We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairmont a pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Winnipeg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Winnipeg to your Saves list
The Fairmont Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Lombard Place, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0Y3, Canada (Downtown Winnipeg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fairmont a pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I always enjoy a random splurge at Fairmont Hotels. This one in particular was no exception. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The room was clean, great bathroom with nice complimentary toiletries. Also had a good view of Portage and Main.

Good location, right downtown at the corner of Portage and Main. There is an underground connection to some stores and shops on Portage. Convenient.. although if your visit is on a Sunday, note that most everything shuts down. There is no tuck shop or convenience store in the hotel.

Drawbacks - way over priced food and beverages. Eg. One 10oz. glass of Malbec in the lounge cost me $21.00 including tax. Breakfast - which consisted of two poached eggs on dry toast, grapefruit juice and a small bowl of fruit - was listed on the menu at $14.95. With 'room delivery charge' of $4, tax, and any other fee I missed, it somehow came to $28.95 including tip!! :-(

Room Tip: I was in room 1511, facing the famous corner of Portage and Main.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    151
    54
    30
    17
See reviews for
46
85
32
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winkler
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We have stayed here a few times. In August we stayed on the Members Floor. We were in town for or daughter's wedding. The staff were very helpful with late checkout, use of a room for lunch.
We are in town again for a shopping weekend. The doormen and valet parking staff still remembered us and welcome us by name and smiles each time we come in. Certainly a place to come to again! Love the friendliness!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Good value and good location. The concierge staff ( particularly the older guy) where excellent in recommending things to do, places to dine etc. Free use of BMW mountain bike was excellent

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TFWExecutiveOffice, Manager at The Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recognition of our team at The Fairmont Winnipeg! We are fortunate to have such dedicated employees focused on service excellence. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed the use of our BMW bikes.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Melissa Vogt
The Fairmont Winnipeg, Fairmont President's Club Manager
204-985-6222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stayed here for a conference, Pretty average for a Fairmont. Room was clean, and well maintained, had some updating, but overall nothing special about this hotel. It is well situated in the city. Not what i expected from the namebrand, however, a little better than your average 3 star for service. Was a little surprized to have to pay for access to the computers in the business service center!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TFWExecutiveOffice, Manager at The Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing you recent experience at The Fairmont Winnipeg.
I was pleased to learn that your room was clean and well maintained, however I was concerned that you rated your overall visit as just average. Should you have any additional feedback you would like to share, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Melissa Vogt
Fairmont President's Club Manager
204-985-6222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Booked in for one night. Booked standard king and was upgraded to the concierge floor. What a treat. Nice views down Portage and Main. Excellent breakfast and service. Would for sure stay again. Happy travels.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Amazing Hotel, They understand how to treat travellers. Very nice bedding, robes, and slippers.
Staff was even more amazing. We were treated like royalty!
We enjoyed the "happy hour" as well as the lovely breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
400 reviews 400 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

I've taken my family to Winnipeg several times to visit other family. We will only stay at the Fairmont on the Gold Floor. Service is terrific and the people are great. It has a very good downtown location.

Room Tip: Gold Floor is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Winnipeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Winnipeg

Address: 2 Lombard Place, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0Y3, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#4 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#12 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Winnipeg 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Winnipeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Winnipeg Hotel Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Winnipeg Fairmont
The Fairmont Winnipeg Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Winnipeg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.