We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Shuttle Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Winnipeg Airport Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Winnipeg Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Winnipeg Airport Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1715 Wellington Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3A0G1, Canada (Formerly Greenwood Inn Winnipeg) (St. James Industrial)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #29 of 63 hotels in Winnipeg
Snow Lake, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Shuttle Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed there in late Jan/14 and early Feb/14. Found a good price on Booking.com for both nights and the shuttle service and free parking was the clincher. The lobby staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very quiet and very clean and modern. A free coffee machine in the lobby was a nice touch as well as the free paper. The widescreen TV in the lobby showed the weather and I believe some arrivals and departure status at the airport.
The restaurant was expensive although convenient and the food was good. Service was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
9
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed for two nights at the hotel and loved the beds! The bathroom was lovely and the staff were helpful and friendly. The things that I was disappointed with was that there were no microwaves in the rooms and that there was no continental breakfast. My husband had lunch at the restaurant and was not very impressed with the quality of food.
My kids very much enjoyed the pool and we would probably stay at this hotel again. It would be nice to see microwaves in all the rooms as well as a free continental breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Things I liked about this hotel. The bed was relatively comfy. The room was clean. The bathroom was a nice size. Nice clear reception on TV. No issues with wifi. Special request for room with low traffic was granted. Needed this because I brought my dog. Had no issues at all with having my dog, walking around with her on leash. One thing I liked about this hotel location was out the back door their was plenty of space to walk her. The only thing I didn't like was after 11pm the back door is locked so you have to go out the front. Some hotels your able to access the doors with your room key. Room service was quick and friendly. Didn't venture out of my room so I can't comment on anything outside of that. The only one thing I didn't like was my meal I had from room service. I had steak and it was not very good. However you can't judge on one meal. Sometimes it's hit or miss. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Winnipeg Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We are a very proud pet friendly hotel and understand how pets are an extension to many families. We have many large areas and an open field out back that many pet traveling customers appreciate. I apologize about the back doors being locked during your stay at night. One of the two back doors is accessible at night using your key card to regain entry. The sliding entry doors do remain locked for security purposes at night. Please accept my apologies for your room service meal. Quality is very important to us and will be looked into. Thank you and we hope to see you again next time you are in Winnipeg.

Sincerely,

Cory Scott
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lake
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and four friends attended Scrapbook and Cards Today's Crop and Create event at The Best Western, formerly The Greenwood. A block of rooms was set aside so once we knew we were going there was no trouble reserving a room. We requested a room close to the elevator as one in our group has mobility issues. We were placed in the room furthest from the elevator and were not able to move due to the hotel being very busy. It was unfortunate, but we managed.

The room was clean but a little cramped for four women who don't pack light and who like to shop. Again, we managed.

The staff was friendly and did their best to accommodate any requests we had.

Our event was in the main ballroom and the classes were in rooms down the hall. There was water, coffee and tea available for the duration if our event. If something was empty it was quickly replenished with a reminder to staff. A Dairy free request was accommodated with no trouble for lunch and dessert.

My only complaint was I found the ballroom very dark for the purposes of scrapbooking. I brought my OTT light, which was absolutely necessary. I also found it incredibly hot in the ballroom, which I understand is a personal preference and it's difficult to please a large group.

Although I would have previously skipped this hotel in the past, I would consider it now that it's a BW.

We did not eat at the restaurant, use the pool or gym, but they are nice options for different types of travel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Winnipeg Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are always ecstatic to have the Scrap Booking community stay with us and I am glad that you came out to attend the event. I apoloigize for you being placed further down the hall then you had requested and I hope it wasnt to much of a hindrance during your stay. We are very proud of our hardworking banquet staff and the great levels of efficiency they run at. They are great at ensuring everything is topped up and running smoothly. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity as your choice hotel for the night. We hope to have you stay with us again real soon.

Sincerely,

Cory Scott
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was stuck in Wpg due to a snowstorm blocking the highways into Ontario. I showed up late at night, and was treated with courtesy by the friendly staff. They had a room and when I showed my CAA card they gave me a discount also. I have stayed in this hotel in trips from the Wpg airport.

The room was great, clean and maintained. Everything worked, and it was quiet. The past owner let it get a bit run down but it seems Best Western has put it back together again.

The in room heater/air conditioner was a bit noisy, but compared to my 2 previous nights stay at one of Canada's "Premier Hotels" on front street in Toronto, it was quiet as a mouse.

Room Tip: Plenty of parking in the rear if the front is congested for cars. People tend to go on vacation and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Winnipeg Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. This has been quite the winter even for Winnipeg Standards and I am very happy to hear that our staff was able to make a good impression during your stranded situation. We have worked very hard to complete a full renovation of the hotel and I am glad you found the upgrade to be a vast improvement. We hope to see you again real soon.

Sincerely,

Cory Scott
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This one is not just another "Run-of-the-mill" hotel, for sure! Proximity to COSTCO definitely adds value to this choice. The legendary 'Greenwood' in its new aesthetic look, is simply ineffable! Airport shuttle provides pick-up from and drop-off to the Winnipeg airport. If shuttle is not available, the customers or clients are asked to come by Uni-City taxi for free (of course, Uni-City is paid by the Best Western)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Winnipeg Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you sou much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. The completion of our rebranding and our full renovation was an exciting time for us. We saw it as our chance to really be able to give our guests the highest quality and comfortability they deserve. Our complimentary shuttle service and our great location allows us to offer more to our guests who we know work hard everyday. This is why we appreciate anyone who walks through our doors and allows us the chance to be there temporary home away from home. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Cory Scott
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arriving at the Best Western Airport Hotel I was happily greeted by the front desk who proceeded to pay for my cab from the Winnipeg airport. Carrying loads of camera equipment and gear they immediately insisted to help carrying all my luggage to my room after check-in. Everyone had a warm and friendly personality and wouldn't take a tip although I kept offering numerous times.
The rooms are very clean, good quality complementary shampoo, conditioner and lotion.
If you are stopping over in Winnipeg before proceeding to photographing polar bears in Churchill this is a very nice place to stay. Clean and convenient with a restaurant at the hotel and Tim Horton's and an outdoor clothing and gear store within walking distance for any last minute shopping.
After 6 days of being out in the tundra photographing wild polar bear mothers and cubs with Natures Photo Adventures and staying in a lodge with no running water this hotel was the shower I needed. Yes, our group got some amazing wild mother and cub photographs at the den. A wonderful experience and a very nice hotel indeed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Winnipeg Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and detailed reveiw. I am so pleased to hear that we made your stop over before heading up to Churchill for some exciting Polar Bear photography memorable. Our convenient location by St. James street, the airport, and only being 15 minutes from down town is excellent for any guests wishing have a night out and experience winnipeg. We hope you choose to stay with us before departing on your next exciting excursion.

Cory Scott
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Winnipeg Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Winnipeg Airport Hotel

Also Known As:
Greenwood Inn Winnipeg Hotel
Greenwood Inn Winnipeg Hotel Winnipeg
Greenwood Hotel Winnipeg
Winnipeg Greenwood Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Winnipeg Airport Hotel Manitoba
Address: 1715 Wellington Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3A0G1, Canada (Formerly Greenwood Inn Winnipeg)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > St. James Industrial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Winnipeg
#16 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Winnipeg Airport Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Winnipeg Airport Hotel! Known for our friendly and welcoming prairie hospitality, Winnipeg has transformed into a cosmopolitan city filled with great shopping, dining, and an array of exciting attractions. Conveniently located two kilometers from the Winnipeg International Airport, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Winnipeg Airport Hotel makes it easy to experience all that Winnipeg has to offer. Our complimentary airport shuttle service makes getting here a breeze. Our spacious newly renovated room’s offers luxury pillow-top beds and an abundance of amenities. Services include cable satellite television with in-room movies, high-speed Internet access, desk, coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator and more. Join us for a fabulous breakfast, indulge in your favorite items, such as pancakes, perfectly prepared eggs, sweet pastries, yogurts and cereals, fresh fruits, coffee and chilled juices. There's no better way to get the day started than with a filling, delectable meal. Need to unwind? Take a dip in our heated indoor pool, or hot tub, or enjoy the surroundings of our Lounge. It’s the perfect place for an informal business get together, a light meal or a relaxing drink after a long day. Traveling on business? The BEST WESTERN PLUS Winnipeg Airport Hotels boasts a short commute to major corporations such as StandardAero, Magellan Aerospace, Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries and Manitoba Hydro. A perfect event space in Winnipeg, the hotel offers business services and flexible meeting facilities that can accommodate up to 320 guests. For a memorable visit to Winnipeg, contact our friendly staff to reserve a stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Winnipeg Airport Hotel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Best Western, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Winnipeg Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Winnipeg Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.