We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great conference venue, great staff!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1670 Portage Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 0C9, Canada (Formerly Ramada Winnipeg Hotel-Viscount-Gort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great conference venue, great staff!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We recently held our annual conference at the hotel. Kristi and Gerard were great and ensured everything went smootly during our conference although all the staff were very accomadating and friendly. Food was very good. Guest rooms were clean and comfortable. Had a swim in the pool which was a nice treat to wind down to after a busy day although the hot tub didn't seem to be working during my stay there which would've been nice to relax in. The Gort restaurant was superb. Excellent location, close to the shopping mall and airport. Overall great place to stay with the family, while on a business trip or hold a conference or any event for that matter. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
We thank you for providing Us a wonderful review about your experience with Us on Tripadvisor.
Our Professional Sales Executive Kristi Dueck and Banquet Manager Gerard Brewster will ensure nothing is overlooked to ensure that your Event will run smoothly.
Our renovated Guest Rooms provide comfort to make every stay enjoyable.
Thank you again for sharing your experience with Us and look forward to Hosting your Event again in the future.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    45
    29
    11
    17
See reviews for
47
36
15
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I just spent a week at the Viscount Gort in Winnipeg for a conference. I was one of the conference planners and I found all of the staff friendly and very helpful! Thank you Jodi and Gerard for the extra attention and help! The rooms and the pool were delightful. The food was very good and so was the service. It was a pleasure working with all of you and thank you for helping to make our conference a success!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
We know how much time and effort it takes to plan an Conference and to ensure all of your Guests are taken care of.
Our Staff pride themselves in proving attention to detail as well as Professional Service to everyone attending such large Conferences to help take the worry away from the Organizers involved.


Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I stayed at the viscount this past month while I was in town on business. Everything was phenomenal including the room, food and service. Jodi at the front desk was extremely helpful and took care of all the arrangements. I am not familiar with the city and she helped me with all my transportation and navigation needs. The rooms were clean and the staff were all very friendly. I had breakfast in the hotel every morning and it was excellent. The location is great as it's close to the airport. Whether it's a short or long stay, I highly recommend this hotel! Looking forward to enjoying all the amenities next time I'm back in town!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for provide us with a review about your recent stay here with Us. Jodi is a wonderful asset to the Hotel as she always try's to ensure that each and every Guest is taken care of.
We are glad you had an opportunity to utilize our Restaurant during your stay and enjoy a wonderful breakfast.
Our proximity to all local attractions and shopping makes us the ideal spot for everyone coming to Winnipeg.

We look forward to your next stay with Us.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flin Flon, Canada
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I would strongly recommend the Ramada Viscount Gort Hotel in Winnipeg Manitoba. I do not know where to even begin. Great service friendly Staff, excellent location. I know in the past if I ever had a problem either with the room or if something was broken that the staff at the Viscount Gort would accommodate us to another room if need be. Or if there was something wrong with the toilet we would tell the front desk on our way out and by the time we would come back the problem would be fixed. I can not wait and am really looking forward for my next visit there at the end of the month.

I have stayed at many hotels in Winnipeg and I do have to say that the Viscount is the best hotel in Winnipeg.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
We thank you for providing us such a wonderful review about your numerous visits with us. Our Team at the RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel provide themselves in providing the utmost in Processional Service to each and every one of our Guests.
We thank you for your years of Loyalty and look forward to your next stay here with us.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Worst experience I have ever had at a hotel. Stayed here because of the pool because my son loves water slides, but that is the only good thing about this hotel. We check in at might night, and when we got to pre reserved room, it was not a sweet, which when I confirmed with the hotel a week prior they said it would be. When I called the front desk to tell them they made us carry all our luggage back down to the front desk to get our new key for the correct room, we'll with a tired cranky toddler and all the luggage that comes with traveling with a child, I was not impressed. Then they told us our correct room would be $40 more per night then what we were told over the phone. Then when we got to our room it was old and musty smelling with a toilet that is continuously running, it was very dusty and not very clean in general. It is also right next to the highway so it is very loud. The clerks at the front were very rude. All in all the only good thing was the pool.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
We have read your review and we are disappointed in the lack of communication with RAMADA when booking your room with one of there Agents. I have spoken with RAMADA about your concern in booking the incorrect room type to ensure that this does not happen again.
Our Front Desk Manager read your review as we were not aware of any of your concerns and wanted to ensure that your remaining days with us are enjoyable.
We are glad that you have enjoyed that last couple of nights with us and have made your stay one to enjoy and will be staying with us again.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I flew in from Vancouver for one night, and found a very good price on this hotel which was super convenient and close to the MTS Centre. I landed at 145pm, arrived at the Viscount at 2 and the front desk agent allowed me to check in an hour before the regular check in time which was 3, she was super friendly and I was happy I had time to relax before the concert. The room was so clean, air conditioner and heating worked perfect, and the beds were SO comfy. The location was easy to get to, and near every necessity you need. I would strongly recommend staying at this hotel if its for a long time, or even just one night :) The check-out girl Sandra was amazing also!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
We are glad you found the Hotel convenient for your visit to Winnipeg. Our location is second to none in proximately to shopping, dinner and entertainment in Winnipeg. We are close to everything Winnipeg has to offer.
Our Professional Staff will do what ever they can to ensure that a Guest can check in early as we know that that little extra time can make a big difference.
I have made our Front Desk Manager aware of your wonderful comment about Sandra.
Thanks you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next stay here with us.

Sincerely,



Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The room was pleasant, the mattress good for sleeping, secure complimentary parking was good, the WIFI was a bonus except for intermittent speed problems. The 1970's era heater / air conditioner could be on low, on high or off. In other words, the choice was to freeze, or to listen to the fan all night. The sports bar service, beer and pub grub were acceptable. The location was suitably close to downtown, airport, shopping, etc. but then Winnipeg is not a giant metropolis. Both elevators were antiques. The 1970's era psychedelic hall carpeting could do with an upgrade. I would look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
We appreciate you providing us comments about your recent stay here with us as we take any and all comments very seriously.
we are happy you enjoyed our room and complimentary services we provide in our Hotel.
I have addressed your concern about the air units with our Building Manger to ensure that directions on how to adjust the temperature in our Guest Rooms are visible, so that each Guest can control the temperature in there room.
Again, thank you for providing us your comments.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre

Address: 1670 Portage Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 0C9, Canada (Formerly Ramada Winnipeg Hotel-Viscount-Gort)
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Winnipeg, the Viscount Gort Hotel is just minutes from the Winnipeg James Armstrong Richardson International Airport and across the street from Polo Park, the largest shopping mall in Manitoba. Less than a 5 minute drive from downtown Winnipeg and the MTS Centre and only 5 minutes away from the our famous Assiniboine Park, home to the Journey to Churchill Exhibit and Zoo, conservatory, outdoor Lyric Theatre and The Canadian Museum for Human Rights. The Viscount Gort Hotel is an independently owned property that prides itself on its customer service with six styles of guest rooms & suites to choose from. Whether you are a business traveler or vacationing with the family, we have the right room for you. Business or pleasure, Winnipeg's Viscount Gort Hotel offers something for everyone visiting Winnipeg. Our full service restaurant offers full breakfast, lunch and dinner menus. If you are a sports fan, catch the action of your favourite team at Average Joe's Lounge, our sports bar and gaming lounge featuring NFL and NHL specialty TV channels and a wide selection of local and imported beer as well as a full selection of food. Our gaming lounge includes state-of-the-art video lottery terminals ("VLT's") and a billard table. If rest and relaxation is on the top of your priority list, let your stress melt away in our inviting and spacious pool area that also includes a waterslide and hot tub. Other complimentary features included with your stay: Free airport shuttle service, available from 6:30am until 10:30pm Monday to Sunday; free hotel wide wireless internet, weekday newspaper, local calling and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viscount Gort Winnipeg
Hotel Viscount Gort
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet And Conference Centre Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.