We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1670 Portage Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 0C9, Canada (Formerly Ramada Winnipeg Hotel-Viscount-Gort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brandon, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in april for a night while in town for a my daughter swim meet. It had been about 15 years since we had stayed here.

I was pleasantly surprised at the condition and decor of the hotel. Our room was very clean and the furnishings were in great condition. It has been extensively renovated in the last few years.

I used the treadmill in the exercise room, it was of average quality. The pool area was nice and the kids enjoyed it.

The parking lot needs to be re-surfaced, however it was nice to have the car in a covered area with lots of cameras.

Location wise the hotel is ideal if your in town for shopping.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us your wonderful comments on your recent stay.
As you noticed our Hotel has gone under a complete renovation since your last stay and will continue to do so as our industry is always undergoing change.
We want to ensure each Guests has the best product, quailty, price and service to make each and every stay an enjoyable one.

We look forward to your next stay with Us.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    45
    30
    11
    17
See reviews for
49
36
15
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Every trip we make into Winnipeg we book at The Viscount Gort. The staff are friendly and efficient..the rooms are clean and comfortable. Easy access to shopping..Polo Park Mall across the street. The airport is a short taxi ride or shuttle away.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to provide Us with a review on Tripadvisor about your resent stay.
Our Mission to to provide the utmost in Customer Service and Quality for all of our Guests to ensure there stay is comfortable.
We look forward to having you stay here with us in the Future.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flin Flon,
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have to come into Winnipeg on a fairly regular basis because of medical issues, We arrive in the city about 7:30 am, dog tired, because we have no choice but to take the night bus a 11-12 hour ride from flin Flon, thanks to the government cutting subsidies and taking off the day bus. If it is possible the receptionist will find us a room and give it to us early at the medical rate.
The same when we check out the bus doesn't leave till 8 pm and rather than drag our suitcases around after check-out, the staff will store them for us and book the shuttle to get us back out to the bus station.
They don't have to accommodate us in that way; so for that reason we have stayed at the "Gort" since 1985.

Room Tip: Ask not to be put on the side where all the traffic goes under the overpass as the noise at night ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for providing Us your comments about our Hotel and your recent stay. Every Guest is a Guest in our Home and we will do everything we can to make the stay a relazing one. We appreciate your many years of Loyalty to Us.
Thank you again for taking the time to write the review on Tripadvisor and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winkler
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our son and daughter in law had their wedding reception in the banquet hall. The facility was easy to access, the rooms were clean and well kept. The decor in the hall was very modern and well presented. The staff was attentive and very pleasant. Richard and Gerard where a pure pleasure to work with and the reception process flowed without a hitch. The meal was hot and tasty. They catered to our every need, and beyond. If you are looking for a facility to have your wedding reception, do not hesitate to contact Richard at the Viscount Gort . The experience was Great overall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your wonderful feedback on your Son's Wedding and greatful you choose US to host this very Special Day.
Our Sales Team and Banquet Staff take pride in providing each and every Guest the Professionalism, Service and Expertise they deserve.
I will also provide your feedback to everyone so they are also aware of the great job they are doing and how our Guests notice it.

Thank you again for these comments on your wonderful experience.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My first time to Winnipeg, & staying at this hotel was pure pleasure. I loved how everything was at hand, the hotel was very clean, the staff very friendly, the food in the restaurant was yummy. I loved swimming in the pool, sitting in the hot tub & meeting other guests there. The meeting rooms were set up exactly as specified, were exceptionally clean and the catering consistently arrived on time and was plentiful. Thank you to the two gentlemen that picked us up at the airport and brought us to the hotel. I really liked my room, one can never have to many pillows and watching TV on a flat screen, the picture was so clear. I love the key cards to the room, instead of actually keys. The Ramada Viscount Gort. Being in a hotel can be very boring and tedious, but your staff looks after their guests very well & makes the experience as close to being at home as possible. Thank you.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny. I love the fact they have bar fridges, coffee pot/coffee provided...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for the excellent review of our Hotel, and we appreciate all of the wonderful comments you made about all of the areas and staff of our Full Service Hotel.
We are glad that on your first trip to Winnipeg it was an enjoyable one and that you were able to see our Friendly Manitoba Hospitality within the Hotel and to make your stay feel like Home.
Our Staff pride themselves to provide the utmost in Customer Service and Quality to each and every Guests of the Hotel, and to ensure there stay or visit is a comforting and an enjoyable one.

The Staff and Management thank you again for the wonderful comments and we look forward to your next Visit to Winnipeg and your stay here with Us.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have been meeting at the Ramada Winnipeg Hotel - Viscount Gort for three years now for our annual conference & meetings. The overall location, space and free parking has met our needs beautifully! But it is not just the physical space that makes our event successful; it is the dedicated staff working at this facility! It is so nice year after year, to see the same familiar faces of such enthusiastic employees, who actually remember "OUR" names from the previous years! This is right from the sales executive team, the event's manager, the kitchen serving staff, and even the shuttle driver! Wow...how refreshing that is! It is like coming home year after year! The sales executive staff, namely Kristi Dyck that we have worked with, was very efficient and accommodating of our needs and requests. Her event's manager, Gerard, that we dealt with this year, was especially helpful and always present, asking if we needed anything or when we did make a request, was very prompt in responding to inquiries, such as lighting, room temperature etc. The meeting rooms were set up exactly as specified, were exceptionally clean and the catering consistently arrived on time and was plentiful. Anna's beautiful smile and silent presence in and out of the rooms is always lovely and appreciated, as well as the rest of the service staff! The washroom facilities were immaculate and sufficient in number, especially for the ladies...we never had line-ups! Cliff, very readily assisted us with shuttle service to accommodate one of our speakers during his lunch break! How great is that! We have been very pleased with our services over the years and hope to be back again next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We appreciate you providing us with your wonderful comments on you resent Conference at our Hotel and we all thank you for your years of Loyalty. Our staff are dedicated to providing each and ever Guest with the most Professional Service, Quality and Consistancy each and every time. I will pass this review to everyone in the Hotel so they to are aware of how important they are to all of our Guests and the growth of our Hotel

Thank you again for providing us with your comments and we all look forward to seeing you and your Organization again very soon.,

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our stay at our hotel for our mtgs was excellent. The Hanover Room was
exactly the right size & very clean. Equipement supplied made our mtgs very easy to conduct.

Our rooms were very nice...clean, with a good lay-out (& affordable - thank-you!),

The food in the restaurant was good, very reasonably priced, & plentiful with a great selection.

The BEST part, was all the staff...professional, caring, helpful, personable, & humorous.

Everyone was smiling and ready to help at a moments' notice. They really cared about us & treated us very well. Very seldom do you find a collective staff that goes out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as the staff at The Ramada Viscount Gort.

Being in a hotel can be very boring and tedious, but your staff looks after their guests very well & makes the experience as close to being at home as possible.

We'll miss them all!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to provide everyone with your wonderful comments on your recent event and stay here with Us.
The Hotel prides it's self in providing a Professional and a Caring Comfortable atmosphere that we know each Guest expectes being away from Home.
Thank you again for the wonderful review and we look forward to having you stay here with Us in the Future.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre

Address: 1670 Portage Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 0C9, Canada (Formerly Ramada Winnipeg Hotel-Viscount-Gort)
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#13 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Winnipeg, the Viscount Gort Hotel is just minutes from the Winnipeg James Armstrong Richardson International Airport and across the street from Polo Park, the largest shopping mall in Manitoba. Less than a 5 minute drive from downtown Winnipeg and the MTS Centre and only 5 minutes away from the our famous Assiniboine Park, home to the Journey to Churchill Exhibit and Zoo, conservatory, outdoor Lyric Theatre and The Canadian Museum for Human Rights. The Viscount Gort Hotel is an independently owned property that prides itself on its customer service with six styles of guest rooms & suites to choose from. Whether you are a business traveler or vacationing with the family, we have the right room for you. Business or pleasure, Winnipeg's Viscount Gort Hotel offers something for everyone visiting Winnipeg. Our full service restaurant offers full breakfast, lunch and dinner menus. If you are a sports fan, catch the action of your favourite team at Average Joe's Lounge, our sports bar and gaming lounge featuring NFL and NHL specialty TV channels and a wide selection of local and imported beer as well as a full selection of food. Our gaming lounge includes state-of-the-art video lottery terminals ("VLT's") and a billard table. If rest and relaxation is on the top of your priority list, let your stress melt away in our inviting and spacious pool area that also includes a waterslide and hot tub. Other complimentary features included with your stay: Free airport shuttle service, available from 6:30am until 10:30pm Monday to Sunday; free hotel wide wireless internet, weekday newspaper, local calling and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viscount Gort Winnipeg
Hotel Viscount Gort
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet And Conference Centre Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.