We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1670 Portage Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 0C9, Canada (Formerly Ramada Winnipeg Hotel-Viscount-Gort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Clean and comfortable rooms in a well run hotel. This hotel is in a good central location (not downtown) with easy access to other areas of the city. Staff, front desk and restaurant were friendly and efficient. We attended an event in the banquet room - food was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel. It is so nice to see all of our Guests having the same postitive comments as yourself.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    45
    30
    11
    17
See reviews for
49
36
15
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights as we always chose this place when we come into Winnipeg. It's just as nice as always and the staff was very friendly. The room that was had was on the top floor but the traffic noise was a little loud as we were right beside Century Street. Next time I will request a room away from that street. Other that that it was great and will be back again. It's also hard to beat the 3.99 breakfast special with purchase of a drink.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor - we really appreciate you taking the time to do this.

Your kind words of appreciation and feedback from our Guests helps motivate the entire Team to strive towards excellence.

Yes everyone loves our $3.99 Breakfast Special.

We will ensure we have a Quite Room set aside for you on your next visit, just inform our Front Desk when making your Reservation.

We look forward to your next stay with Us.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

They have done a great job in the last year to upgrade and improve this facility. Great sized room with kitchenette area. Good food service in both the restaurant and the lounge. Great location for shopping at Polo Park. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on our Hotel, and look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Wife and I stayed at this facility for two nites. In town for medical appointment at health sciences center which recommended this as a place to stay. Made use of the shuttle van to get us to the right place and not have to worry about parking, Called to get picked up and van arrived half hour later and whisked us back to hotel. Didn't have to move the car until we left. Short walk to Polo Park mall and other shops in area. Had snacks at sports bar; great sticky wings and belgian beer on tap, met family from city and had nice supper in restaurant. Wait staff were great and fun.
beautiful and tasteful construction to front lobby and lounge and restaurant. Room 411 had balcony for morning coffee;door knob to balcony was loose so had to fight to get it open.Room and bathroom were clean. Wouldn't hurt to use the carpet shampooer more often on hallway rugs
lots of traffic noise because of proximity to freeway,keep window closed wasn't a problem.
All in all staff very helpful and friendly. Would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for the review and we appreciate all of your comments. We feel that it is important for all of our Staff to hear the perspective from our Guest's point of view. We pride our Hotel in providing Superior Customer Service to all of our Guests. We look forward to your next stay here with Us.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had a wonderful experience!
We decided to have our wedding here because we have always had great experiences with the service and the food, not to mention that the hotel had just been renovated! We really wanted to impress our guests, while keeping within our budget. This facility did just that! Everyone that we dealt with (before & after the wedding), was more than helpful and courteous! We still get compliments on our wedding menu, and I would agree with them! The food was the best I have ever had at a wedding, and I'm so glad that it was at my own! Last but not least, the room/suite was clean and cozy and was a great comfort to my new husband and I, once our big day was over! Thanks to everyone that helped us to make it a memorable day! We will definitely be back! : )

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We thank you Verona for taking the time to fill out a Tripadvisor Review for the RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel in Winnipeg for your Wedding. We have recently spent 12 Million Dollars on our Renovations in the entire Hotel which helps us to provide the outmost in Customer Service, Experience and Quality for all of our Guests in the Hotel.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We made a reservation and got exactly what we asked for. We had a king room. We also had a very late check-in and it was fast and convenient once we finally got there. The hotel and our room was very clean (no complaints). The hotel was quiet and the bed was nice. The pool and hot tub were great and quiet! The staff was friendly too but did not go out of their way to be helpful or extra nice.

My only complaint that there was no robes for guests. I prefer them to walk down to the pool with one.

The food in the restaurant was delicious and fast!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your response to Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to write the review about our Newly Renovated Hotel.
At the RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel we pride ourselves in providing attention, service and quality to all of our Guests.
We appreciate your patronage and look forward to your next Visit with us at The RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg Canada
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
296 helpful votes 296 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We found the hotel to be very clean. The staff was very nice. It was great because it was so close to Polo Park.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre

Address: 1670 Portage Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 0C9, Canada (Formerly Ramada Winnipeg Hotel-Viscount-Gort)
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#10 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
#13 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Winnipeg, the Viscount Gort Hotel is just minutes from the Winnipeg James Armstrong Richardson International Airport and across the street from Polo Park, the largest shopping mall in Manitoba. Less than a 5 minute drive from downtown Winnipeg and the MTS Centre and only 5 minutes away from the our famous Assiniboine Park, home to the Journey to Churchill Exhibit and Zoo, conservatory, outdoor Lyric Theatre and The Canadian Museum for Human Rights. The Viscount Gort Hotel is an independently owned property that prides itself on its customer service with six styles of guest rooms & suites to choose from. Whether you are a business traveler or vacationing with the family, we have the right room for you. Business or pleasure, Winnipeg's Viscount Gort Hotel offers something for everyone visiting Winnipeg. Our full service restaurant offers full breakfast, lunch and dinner menus. If you are a sports fan, catch the action of your favourite team at Average Joe's Lounge, our sports bar and gaming lounge featuring NFL and NHL specialty TV channels and a wide selection of local and imported beer as well as a full selection of food. Our gaming lounge includes state-of-the-art video lottery terminals ("VLT's") and a billard table. If rest and relaxation is on the top of your priority list, let your stress melt away in our inviting and spacious pool area that also includes a waterslide and hot tub. Other complimentary features included with your stay: Free airport shuttle service, available from 6:30am until 10:30pm Monday to Sunday; free hotel wide wireless internet, weekday newspaper, local calling and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viscount Gort Winnipeg
Hotel Viscount Gort
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet And Conference Centre Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.