We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Winnipeg East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Winnipeg East to your Saves list
Travelodge Winnipeg East
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Alpine Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2M 0Y5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I approached with some trepdiation. From the outside, it looks like an outdated Holiday Inn. I really thought I was walking into a dump, but I had already hit a couple of places that were full, and I figured I'd better just take what I could get. Well, I was really pleasantly surprised. The staff was very friendly, and the prices weren't outrageous. The room was really very nicely decorated with a separate seating area. It looked out on the indoor pool area, which concerned me for the potential of noise. As it turned out, it was quiet and caused me no problems. Also, I ate dinner in the little cafe and found it to be not bad. They offer a $3.99 breakfast deal that didn't sound bad, although I didn't partake.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyWinnipeg, General Manager at Travelodge Winnipeg East, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you! We Appreciate your comments and are pleased you enjoyed your guestroom and some of our amenities. Our Weekday $3.99 full Breakfast is very popular with our guests. We hope that you will stay with us again in the near future and that you can utilize our "Bowling Centre" located in the lower level and our great Food and Beverage outlets!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    140
    65
    24
    18
See reviews for
150
71
23
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Lookout
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Checked in and stayed a few days , the city very busy because of the annual fathers day race
and hotel rooms were at a premium. Had only booked for a few days and needed a extra day.
The staff there worked hard to accomodate us and found a room. The restaurant staff were also
very friendly and the food was excellent.

Room Tip: rooms opposite the pool are best because if you goto sleep early the pool is open until at least 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyWinnipeg, General Manager at Travelodge Winnipeg East, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments on our staff and accommodations. We look forward to having you and your family stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great location, fantastic staff, the in house restaurant service & food was excellent.... not many places you can get 2 eggs, bacon( sausage or ham) hash browns and toast for 3.99!!! enjoyed every bite.. Rooms were quite clean.. we pointed out a few areas that required attention... There were some issues with noise--unruly guests... management & staff dealt with the problems... it was unfortunate but this hotel is NOT responsible for the actions of their guests...Our room was across from the pool --- yes there was loud kids--- security dealt with the problem!!! We required an additional nite.. No vacancy... as soon as a cancellation came through we were advised!!! Thank You.....THUMBS UP TO THE MANAGER AND HIS WONDERFUL STAFF.

Room Tip: excellent location to all parts of Winnipeg
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyWinnipeg, General Manager at Travelodge Winnipeg East, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
A great Thank you!! We are so pleased you enjoyed our Hotel. We have many long term staff that thoroughly enjoy their profession and love dealing with our guests. Our Full Breakfast Special for $3.99 is a great hit for our customers. We hope that we see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

If you have a room facing the indoor pool, there is no hope of sleeping before 11:00. The hotel makes no attempt to keep kids from screaming nonstop at the pool. I keep early hours, so loss of sleep was the result, as well as frustration and anger. Yuk.

Room Tip: Away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyWinnipeg, General Manager at Travelodge Winnipeg East, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
I appreciate your comments regarding your stay. Our "Tropical Pool Area" has a large indoor Pool, Children's Pool and Whirlpool. We are the only Hotel in the City that has Poolside rooms that open into the Pool area. The hours are from 9:30 a.m. until 11:00 p.m. Unfortunately it can be quite busy and noisy. We do however have rooms away from our Pool area that are very quiet. We would have moved you to one of these rooms during your stay. We certainly hope you will stay with us in a non-poolside room on your next trip to Winnipeg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is an older hotel but appears to have been looked after. Clean comfortable rooms, friendly, helpful staff. Overlooking pool was very nice, but a little noisy. Very easy access to major roads and about 10 minutes from The Forks.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepyWinnipeg, General Manager at Travelodge Winnipeg East, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your favorable comments. We are pleased you had a good stay and found the Hotel comfortable, clean and our staff friendly. We are very convenient being only 10 minutes from Downtown and the Forks. We certainly hope you stay with us again on your next visit to Winnipeg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Winnipeg East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Winnipeg East

Address: 20 Alpine Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2M 0Y5, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Winnipeg East 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Travelodge Winnipeg East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Winnipeg East Hotel Winnipeg
Travel Lodge Winnipeg
Winnipeg Travelodge
Winnipeg Travel Lodge
Travelodge Winnipeg East Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Winnipeg East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.