We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel to your Saves list
Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   190 Smith Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 1J8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #23 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed for two nights at this hotel when I was traveling for work.
My room was a very good size, had a full size kitchen, leather chair, desk and a comfortable king bed.
The furniture looked fairly new, and the room was nice and clean.

A few downsides during my stay:
I ordered room service for diner one night, it took well over 45 minutes until it was delivered to the room. To be fair, it was on a cold winter night so many guests were ordering room service. A heads up on the long wait time would've been nice though.
Food wasn't the greatest and was fairly pricey.
I am not sure if all suites had the same desk chair, but the one in my room was very uncomfortable for long time use. The chair was not very ergonomic, and leaned back way too easily.

My overall experience was pleasant, would definitely recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THJOR, Manager at Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are pleased that your stay was pleasant and that our accommodations and services were acceptable to you. Thank you for the wonderful comments towards our hotel and our associates. I have shared this information with our team and we will continue to work hard to make your stay a positive experience every time.

Once again, thank you for choosing Place Louis Riel Hotel and we look forward seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Tricia Hjorleifson
Revenue Manager
Place Louis Riel Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    120
    32
    17
    13
See reviews for
56
89
37
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mississauga
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the room was. Kitchen with was well equiped nice king bed with wall mounted tv. Maid staff was exceptional. Only downfaults was the parking lot. Other than that I would say it is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: booked thru priceline. paid $85 per night. Great deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van BC
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for a weekend in late April. It is in a good location downtown. The exterior of the hotel is a bit deceiving as it is nice boutique studio suite hotel. Comfortable king size bed, with equipped kichenette, good sized bathroom with good amenties (although a shoe buff would be nice given the dusty, sandy streets of springtime) and a small lving area in front of the bed. Good layout. Complimentary bottled water and wireless internet service are always nice and appreciated. We stayed on the 17th floor and it was quiet. Front desk staff were always friendly, courteous and helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This suite hotel has everything you might want for a home away from home. Beautiful suites, nicely decorated, with a good living room office area, a bathroom with wonderful amenities, and a comfortable king-sized bed. The kitchen area includes a full-sized fridge, stove, microwave, and all the dishes and cutlery you might need .And a Keurig coffeemaker. The staff is wonderfully helpful. I had left my lecture notes behind and since I was traveling without a printer I inquired about the business center. Yes, there is one, but I was advised to email them to one of the staff and she would deal with them. Which she did in 10 minutes flat for a very minimal charge and refused to be tipped. The restaurant is good; the fish I had was fresh and not over-battered, and the desserts are very good indeed. Service was prompt and very friendly. Prices are what you might expect for a hotel restaurant, but it was good food.

While I had next to no complaints, the security level in the hotel took some getting used to. For example, you need your key to operate the elevator. And since I am one of those disgusting smoker folks, I managed to leave mine in the room not once but twice in my quest for a cigarette. The first time I did this, staff escorted me to my room and asked me to show a passport once I got there, which I thought was a little bit of an overkill. The second time, I had no problem getting a replacement key. The other issue about this security level, of course, is that if you are meeting someone you must meet them in the lobby and escort them upstairs. I consoled myself with the fact that the trips up and down burned calories (and gave me time for a cigarette), but I really would have liked a more user-friendly security system. That said, I did indeed feel very, very safe --- which is nice when you're traveling alone.

I would stay here again any time and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ekeen_Saad, Guest Relations Manager at Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are pleased that your stay was pleasant and that our accommodations and services were acceptable to you. Thank you for the wonderful comments towards our hotel and our associates. I have shared this information with our team and we will continue to work hard to make your stay a positive experience every time.

Once again, thank you for choosing Place Louis Riel Hotel and we look forward seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Ekeen Saad
Guest Experience Leader
Place Louis Riel Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson, Manitoba, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

If you are planning to stay downtown hotel at the Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel do yourself a favor and AVOID YUSIF. This guy truly does not belong in the hospitality business!

To give you a brief summary, when my wife and I along with our 2 year old baby checked in, his attitude towards us was very rude and and unwelcoming manner! No welcome, no friendly hello, hi how are you? Just a complete rude manner and had nothing to say about the hotel and definitely no "enjoy your stay" from this character! Truly this guy is in the wrong business!!! To make it worse he slams the key cards after activating them! Even tried to slam the parking pass I had asked for! Geez! What a headache this guy is! My wife saw the attitude he had and she wasn't happy at all with the slamming of our key cards! This was the thing that upset the both of us. The only reason we did not confront him or check him on his attitude was because of our baby as the delayed arrival and was too tiring and we just wanted to get her to bed. So we thought it would better to forward get our rest then send a formal complaint to management and hope it gets their attention on this rep or theirs! So we must warn other potential travellers that may come across this idiot! So warning to all! Avoid this "Yusif" character all together! It is too bad as I am a regular visitor to this hotel but now I think this fool has convinced me to find another establishment that will appreciate the business!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ekeen_Saad, Guest Experience Leader at Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Good Afternoon Irvin,

We appreciate your feedback and were very surprised with your comments. Our staff engage in Guest Satisfaction training and workshops on a regular basis. To address the Front Desk Associate you mentioned, Yusuf is regarded by us, as a Customer Service Champion. Recently, Yusuf was recognized by the Hospitality industry, as well as his peers for his outstanding Customer Service. Furthermore, Yusuf was presented with the Silver Plume Award, which is a city wide organization that awards the best of the best in the Hospitality industry.

You are welcome to contact the hotel again to discuss this matter as you have had several dealings with management already.

Thank you and all the best,
Place Louis Riel Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed in an Executive Studio King Suite which included a good sized kitchen, sitting area and a king sized bed (so comfortable). Very clean, free wireless and breakfast also included. Front desk staff, bellman and restaurant staff all very kind and ready to assist. Newly renovated for a very comfortable stay. Great rate too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I were in Winnipeg to deal with some family business. I looked on trip advisor, as I always do, for a hotel that is reasonably priced and good ratings. I came across this hotel and decided to book it. We have stayed here for 5 nights now and love it! Front desk staff are great, the room has a wonderful kitchenette with stainless steel fridge, oven, and microwave. A small counter with two stools so you can eat at the counter. There are 2 of everything in the cupboards. Bowls, plates, coffee cups, silverware. It also has a Keurig coffee maker. The bed was super comfortable, there are five different pillows on the bed so you will find one that is perfect for you.
The only thing I did not care for is that you pay for parking at the hotel. Even with that it is still cheaper than other lower rated hotels in the area. Close proximity to a lot of different restaurants. I will be staying here again when we come back to Winnipeg for a visit !!

Room Tip: We stayed in 1105. It was great. Nice view of part of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel

Address: 190 Smith Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 1J8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Winnipeg
#13 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel redefines downtown Winnipeg accommodations with a multi-million dollar improvement program which includes dramatic changes to hotel suites and public areas. The distinctive decor highlights warm tones luxurious furnishings state-of-the-art technology and Place Louis Riel's renowned and largest private collection of aboriginal and naturalist artwork. Located in downtown Winnipeg, guest rooms feature granite countertops redesigned kitchens with stainless steel appliances pillow top mattresses with crisp linens and plush duvets and 32 inch flat panel HDTV's and leather furniture and our newest feature Keurig Coffee Makers. All studio one and two bedroom suites offer spacious comfort with full kitchens in a full service hotel setting. Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel is rated with 4 stars by the CDN Star Quality Accommodation program. Professionally certified and helpful friendly staff are the cornerstone of Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel, which has a reputation for award winning service and welcoming atmosphere. 100% Non-SmokingLocated in downtown Winnipeg close to the MTS Centre and Winnipeg Convention Centre Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel is the only daily and extended stay property in Winnipeg to offer guests complete kitchen facilities in every suite. Our onsite restaurant is open only for breakfast. Monday through Saturday from 6:30am to 11:30am. Sunday 7:30am till 11:30am. Children 12 years and under are free when sharing room with parents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place Louis Riel Hotel Winnipeg
Winnipeg Place Louis Riel Hotel
Hotel Place Louis Riel Suite
Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.