We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel to your Saves list
Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   190 Smith Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 1J8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Fort Frances, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly and so was the staff and the on-site restaurant. It was a very nice hotel with a great room. They had private indoor parking so that was nice since this is downtown. The only downside was that they didn't have a pool on site.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    115
    31
    17
    12
See reviews for
56
87
36
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I was recently in Winnipeg for 3 days, 2 nights for some medical tests and decided to give the Louis Riel a try. I received a very reasonable CAA price and was even happier once I got into my room. The renovations they have done were well done and the rooms are very comfortable. I had the smallest room, the Studio Suite which did not seem small at all. The nice open concept made it very comfortable. The king size bed was comfortable with soft sheets and the kitchenette was well equipped with stove, fridge, microwave and dishes and pots and pans. Was nice to be able to cook some of my own meals.

The staff were very friendly and were quick to answer any questions. Parking, while not free was a modest $11 per day for hotel guests with in and out privileges. My only advice is to park on level B or D so you have easy access to the elevators. You just have to press the intercom button to get buzzed in by the front desk. Also, watch out carefully for the parked entrance. It is small and easy to miss.

Four star stay for the same price as much less desirable hotels in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I am currently staying at this hotel the next couple of nights. The arrival and check-in were fast and easy as well as great pleasantries from the gentleman at the desk.

There is free bottled water in the room, free coffee and tea, free wireless internet. The hotel has been entirely renovated and re-furnished. My suite is very well equipped and the kitchen even has a full size stove and a microwave oven. The decor is modern and comfortable. My bed is very comfortable and the single thermostat besides being easy to use really kept the room comfortable to my liking.

The restaurant, The Ground Floor was quite good and the prices were well below what I normally experience in a hotel restaurant. Last night's dinner I had the creamy fettuccini with chicken, a Mediterranean salad and a bottle of Coors light and my bill was slightly less than $28. This morning I had the buffet breakfast for only $9.95 and could choose anything from the hot and cold buffet. the food is good, service is good and prices are right!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Very good experience at this Hotel. Stayed in a Suite with daughter and friends. Nice separate room with updated comfy beds.
Room had separate living area with full kitchenette Large fridge, and stove, marble counters, eating bar and full size dining table for 4.
The living room area had full size pullout couch in leather and leather chair with ottoman.
Flat screen tv on wall and desk.
Should have taken advantage of the room and ate meals right there just for cost wise.
All staff was friendly and polite.
A real home away from home feeling in a big city. Centered in Downtown we were able to walk to many places.

Room Tip: rooms were quiet, upper floors have great view of city at night, make good use of the suite as it ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Oveall I enjoyed the hotel, good service. Our room wasn't ready when arrived, but that was solved with an upgrade (always nice). Awkward getting to lobby when first arrive, unclear where to go and no front temporary lobby parking space, so ended up hauling suitcases down a flight of stairs to be confronted with lock door (fortunately someone was coming out). Can't access elevator as need key (kind of catch 22). Other than mostly good. Room was clean, quite spacious and mostly renovated, although carpet old. Buffet breakfast was good deal, good food and good service. Parking spaces are quite tight. Overall, I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, MB
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I recently worked with PLR to host a national conference with over 100 attendees. The staff and management worked diligently to assist us in preparations, as well as addressing situations which arose during the conference. The hotel rooms were vary spacious, beds comfortable, and we couldn't have asked for a better experience. I would recommend PLR to anyone who is looking for a hotel with great staff, a beautiful updated contemporary look, and a location close to downtown.

Room Tip: Corner suites are absolutely beautiful, however, most rooms on the higher floors have a great view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage la Prairie, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I booked a room in October for a reason, so that i would have a room when i got there. I work in a hotel & all rooms are ready for 3, any room blocks are automatically taken care of as soon as the previous person is out of the room.

We arrived at 3 to check in & drop our stuff off, they told us they had overbooked & our room was not ready yet, that they only had 2 rooms available as they had a lot of stayovers.

I know in my system all reservations come up in the middle of the night & rooms are assigned at 3 am, when one has been previously booked it can not be booked again so i can't figure out why they said they were overbooked & did not have a room ready.

I was not impressed as we had carried our luggage all that way & we were expecting a place for my friend to rest, she had worked all night & was going on very little sleep.

She radio'd housekeeping & said she would get them right on it. She did not care that we were put out at all, she had the attitude of too bad so sad, that did not impress me. You would think for a finer hotel like that they would have top notch staff.

We came back at 4:30 & we were told they still did not have a room for us. At that point i was going to tell them to book me a room at another hotel on their dime that is just as nice as the room i booked as i paid for a room from 3pm-12pm.

We settled for a king size room & shared a bed just so we could get into a suite. She gave me an extra hour to check out but that did me no good as we were actually checking out at 11 & did not need an extra hour.

Once we got into a room it was lovely, the quality of furniture was awesome. It was very clean. I was impressed with the room. I am very fair with my reviews & if you impress me i will do everything i can to let people know, but when you treat your customers like they are nothing i will let everyone know as well.

Room Tip: Avoid the west side in the winter, snow plows are very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Saad, General Manager at Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
SweetCanadian,

I would like to thank for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated guest rooms. Over the coming months there are more exciting changes coming to our hotel to help improve our guests stay. With regard to the service you received during your stay, it was disappointing to hear that we had failed to deliver top notch service that is mandated at our front desk at all times. I can assure you your comments were reviewed with the entire management team and action plans will be created to avoid a repeat of what you encountered. If your travels bring you back to the Winnipeg area I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to show you our true colors when it comes to service. My email address is john.saad@placelouisriel.com

Yours Truly,

John Saad
General Manager
Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel

Address: 190 Smith Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 1J8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel redefines downtown Winnipeg accommodations with a multi-million dollar improvement program which includes dramatic changes to hotel suites and public areas. The distinctive decor highlights warm tones luxurious furnishings state-of-the-art technology and Place Louis Riel’s renowned and largest private collection of aboriginal and naturalist artwork. Located in downtown Winnipeg, guest rooms feature granite countertops redesigned kitchens with stainless steel appliances pillow top mattresses with crisp linens and plush duvets and 32 inch flat panel HDTV’s and leather furniture and our newest feature Keurig Coffee Makers. All studio one and two bedroom suites offer spacious comfort with full kitchens in a full service hotel setting. Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel is rated with 4 stars by the CDN Star Quality Accommodation program. Professionally certified and helpful friendly staff are the cornerstone of Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel, which has a reputation for award winning service and welcoming atmosphere. 100% Non-SmokingLocated in downtown Winnipeg close to the MTS Centre and Winnipeg Convention Centre Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel is the only daily and extended stay property in Winnipeg to offer guests complete kitchen facilities in every suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place Louis Riel Hotel Winnipeg
Winnipeg Place Louis Riel Hotel
Hotel Place Louis Riel Suite
Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Place Louis Riel Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.