We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay, Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Winnipeg South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Winnipeg South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Winnipeg South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1330 Pembina Hwy, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2B4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #42 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Regina, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good Stay, Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel. Comfortable bed. Small pillows. Unreliable wi-fi both stays on two separate visits on two floors, facing different directions. Two nights on the second stay we just gave up on the wifi. Clear flat screen TV. Fridge in room. Microwave in lobby beside front desk. Room furnishings/carpeting dated. Carpet rolling up. Good climate control though finished each run with loud CLUNK, startlingly loud enough to make us think someone was coming through connecting door. About a 10-15 minute direct drive to downtown. Liked the location. We didn't hear busy street in our room. Restaurant on site, seemed like reasonable menu and reasonable prices though we didn't use it. Room service too seemed reasonably priced/reasonable variety. GREAT staff: our mistake we didn't realize cleaning staff was ready to come in, and she was well into room before realizing we were there. She retreated and phoned in a few minutes to apologize. OUR FAULT! When we were missing a newspaper in the morning and called for one, in a few minutes the front desk called to make sure we knew it had now been delivered. Large windows (but they don't open), good views of city. VERY tight parking for larger vehicles. Felt very safe.

Room Tip: I'd pick higher up to get good views of city. Pick further from elevator as people waiting can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeGore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg South, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your experience at the Holiday Inn Winnipeg South.

We are glad you found our staff to be accommodating to your needs.We also appreciate your taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. We will do some troubleshooting with our Wi-Fi in an effort to correct that issue. You may be pleased to hear that we will be upgrading all our facilities commencing this fall which will address your comments of the hotel furnishings being dated.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    44
    33
    11
    18
See reviews for
30
22
20
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We were at the Holiday Inn Winnipeg South for the prime rib buffet last night.
Excellent food,excellent service, perhaps a fresh fruit and veggie platter would be a good addition to a good buffet. We would go back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeGore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg South, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Yes, our All You Can Eat Prime Rib Dinner Buffet on Saturday nights is pretty amazing. We get lots of rave reviews on it. Thank you for your feedback. I will speak with Chef about adding more fresh fruit and veggies to the line up. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Holiday Inn Winnipeg South may be in a slightly dated building, but the management maintains an excellent establishment. My room was comfortable and very clean. The wi-fi worked excellently. The television was a state-of-the-art flat-screen model with Canadian and American TV channels. My room even had a couch, perhaps because the staff kindly placed me on a business-class floor, even though I hadn't requested it or paid for it. The restaurant served filling buffet breakfasts for a reasonable price.

The parking situation will punish people who show up in a giant SUV or pick-up truck (but any incentive to get those global-warming monsters off the road can only be good). Maneuvering into a parking space is tough even in a smaller vehicle. The spaces are striped for normal- or compact-sized vehicles except on the third level of the parking garage, but driving up to that level will not be easy in one's oversized land barge.

I do wish the windows opened. Those in my room were sealed. But the climate-control system was easy to use and worked well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeGore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg South, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I have shared them with our team, We were all very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Just as a point of information - in addition to a number of pillar free parking spaces on the first and third levels of our parkade, we also have some additional spaces on the north side of our hotel specifically reserved for guests with larger vehicles. If you have that requirement, please ask at the front desk upon check -in and we will issue you a special permit, free of charge, to use one of these spaces. Thanks again for your comments, we look forward to the opportunity to be of service to you again soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Location very good, Safeways just across the street. Parking lot the the greatest but did have covered parking.Hotel was clean , very accommadating ,rooms needed updating but clean. Restaurant buffet very good, great selection for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeGore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg South, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We take great pride in offering comfortable, clean accommodations, great food and friendly Manitoba service to all of our guests. Your comment regarding the parking is well taken, we do have a good number of "pillar free" parking spaces on the ground level for larger vehicles and lots of open space on the third level of the parkade for standard size cars and vans. You may also be glad to hear that we will be uprading all the facilities at the hotel over the next few months, starting with the guest rooms in September. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Winnipeg South in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Pretty nice during our stay. Took a weekend trip from North Dakota needed a place to stay when we had no reservations. Nice location and easy to get to stuff around the surrounding area. High traffic area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeGore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg South, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The majority of the Holiday Inns' that I've been to in the last year have been pretty decent. However, this particular one was a let down. Let me say this, just because you have placed flat screen televisions in your rooms, it does not mean anything if the rest of the room was left with the prehistoric decor. The beds were uncomfortable. The shower was dated, as well as the rest of the bathroom. The hallways are seriously in need of some TLC. And, that gym (which is the most important thing to me in a hotel) is absolutely horrific. The machines are dates and somewhat faulty. In addition, the space is extremely cramped. Overall, I was glad that I got it for cheap with a Priceline express deal!

I don't think I would do this again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeGore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg South, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We certainly appreciate your comments.

We are just now embarking on a complete renovation and refurbishment of our property which will be completed over the new few months and will touch on all of the areas you mentioned and more. We are confident that you will be pleased with the results.

We were, nevertheless, very concerned to learn that your stay with us was such a disappointment. Despite the age of some of our amenities, we do make every effort to provide a comfortable and enjoyable stay for all our guests in a clean, well maintained and friendly environment. I would be very pleased to discuss your concerns further with you, if you would be so kind as to call me at
(204) 452-4747. Thank you.

Mike Gore
General Manager
Holiday Inn Winnipeg South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed here with my mother and my children while I was in visiting her in the city. The room was very clean, but quite cold when we entered. I've noticed this about a few of my past hotel stays in Winnipeg recently (all at Holiday Inn's), but not a big deal as you can change the temperature quickly. Check in was quick and the front desk staff were very efficient and friendly. We utilized the pool area, and the water was very warm, which my kids were very happy about! There is a tiny play area off behind the pool with a plastic play house and little table for activities.

One thing I did notice, which does not make or break our stay, but that I would love to see offered at this hotel, would be a small selection of life jackets for younger children. There is a kiddie pool, but the big pool is such a temptation for older kids. Thankfully I had brought my own to this hotel, so our kids were able to play about in the big pool safely. This would be an awesome perk for this hotel so we don't have to bring our own along.

Breakfast in the morning was fantastic. I am always pleased by the offering's provided by Holiday Inn restaurants, and this is no exception. The food was also out very quick, which is such a great thing when dining with three young children.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeGore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg South, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I have shared them with our team. We were all very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. Your point regarding the life jackets is well taken. We will look into this. Thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Winnipeg South again in the near future.

Mike Gore
General Manager
Holiday Inn Winnipeg South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Winnipeg South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winnipeg South

Address: 1330 Pembina Hwy, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winnipeg South 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada looking for a friendly hotel and a superbly convenient location choose the Holiday Inn Winnipeg South Hotel. Situated on Pembina Hwy at McGillivray Blvd with easy access to downtown Winnipeg, our hotel is close to all area attractions and businesses. Leisure guests love our pet friendly hotel's location in South Winnipeg because we're close to the Forks National Historic Site, the Royal Canadian Mint, Fort Whyte Alive, the Assiniboine Park & Zoo and shopping at the St. Vital Centre or the Kenaston and McGillivray Box Stores. Sports fans enjoy the nearby soccer complex and the Pan Am Pool.Business guests appreciate our Winnipeg lodging since we are close to the University of Manitoba and Fort Garry Industrial Park. We're pleased to offer over 7,500 sq. ft. of meeting space and a unique A/V Conference Theatre that seats 65 people. Naturally, there is free high-speed, Wi-Fi Internet access and a business centre. We also offer a free shuttle service to the Winnipeg Airport with advance reservations. Our guests enjoy staying in one of the most spacious and comfortable hotels in Winnipeg. Amenities include an excellent full-service restaurant, indoor pool and a 24-hour fitness centre. Families appreciate the kiddie pool and our Children's Activity Centre. On your next visit to Winnipeg choose our Holiday Inn Winnipeg South hotel for a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Winnipeg South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winnipeg South Hotel Winnipeg
Winnipeg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Winnipeg South Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Winnipeg South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.