We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll Never Go Wrong with the Fort Garry!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Garry Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fort Garry Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fort Garry Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Broadway Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0R3, Canada (Downtown Winnipeg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 63 hotels in Winnipeg
Toronto
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“You'll Never Go Wrong with the Fort Garry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

I stay here whenever I'm in Winnipeg. The rooms are in wonderful condition, nicely refreshed. Terrific beds and your choice of mattresses from down-filled to ortho. The Garry is designated as a national historic site and exudes that wonderful and unique "railway hotel" character. A grand lobby. Front desk staff that are among the friendliest and most accommodating I've come across in years! Terrific piano bar with a full menu. And, if you're going to be there Sunday morning, try to get reservations for the Brunch, which is truly phenomenal. The whole lobby is filled with fabulous foods and the entire ground floor flipped for dining. Packed with people from across greater Winnipeg and beyond. Lots of amenities and sites within an easy walk.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    170
    79
    41
    22
See reviews for
70
151
41
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

This hotel is beautiful inside and out. The rooms are large and very comfortable. The beds are amazing. The breakfast is very good. Cooked to order eggs, waffles, etc. Room service is quick. Fitness Room is excellent. This is a very nice hotel and the staff are all very friendly and so helpful.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

Natural Habitat Adventures booked our rooms here as part of a polar bear expedition to Churchill. I was nervous because of some reviewers here really didn't like the hotel, but I was very comfy and the hotel has a lot of charm. And we didn't encounter any ghosts anywhere in the hotel :-)

We got a corner room (two actually, one at either end of our Churchill visit) with one queen bed, two comfy chairs, a table, and a desk/chair. (The hotel is structured to provide lots of corners.) The memory foam mattresses were very comfy, the sheets are particularly nice, and the fluffy white duvet kept us toasty warm (even though my husband turns the heat way down at night).

Pros: Quiet rooms, super-comfy bed, separate heater controls for bedroom and bath, nice closet with automatic lights, hair dryer and iron, bath amenities including lotion and hair conditioner, huge thick fluffy towels and bathrobes (even washcloths, which I was told would be missing in Canada), charming furnishings. Breakfast buffet was included in our package (I don't know if that's standard) and it was wonderful! I had to work hard not to eat too much. Access to a fitness center & pool are included, but they're not run by the hotel--our friends loved it, but we didn't visit. The common areas are very pretty and historically decorated.

Cons: OK, if you want to be really picky, the carpet was a bit worn and the artwork was a bit dated. They charge for internet access in your room (by the hour or day)--we never tried it and stuck with using one of the two laptops in the lobby to check our mail for free. The elevators are pretty small, but there are 3 of them and we never had to wait too long (except that one time when 50 people from our polar bear charter all arrived back at the hotel at the same time). If you don't get a corner room (there are lots because of the building structure), you might have a window with a view of the alley and other rooms. The corner rooms had two windows, one opening on the courtyard/alley, the other on a main street with a possible view.

The location of the hotel is great! There are lots of restaurants nearby. You can walk to the riverside park for a great stroll along the Red River and see some cultural interpretive stations (including a park with celestial sighting apparatus!). It's a few blocks from the Forks (ATM, lots of small food vendors, some gift shops) and some museums. There's a grocery store right behind the hotel and a curling rink next door. It's a moderate but not excessive walk to the Portage Place indoor mall (nice IMAX theatre). It's on public transit routes, so you can get to lots of other places conveniently.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

I went to Winnipeg on business. It's more of a European-style hotel with the small rooms. I had a few strange things happen to me in the room. My TV wouldn't change channels, but my volume would go up and down. Also, my lamp wouldn't turn off. When I called the front desk they sent up the maintenance guy and when he entered the room the TV and lamp started working correctly. On the way to the hotel the driver told me that they have a ghost in the hotel. I didn't stay in the room that the ghost normally shows up, but the driver did say he appears to single women. I was traveling alone....

Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
357 helpful votes 357 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

We stayed here two nights on the way to and from a tour in Churchill. The service at the hotel is very good. They will bring complimentary tea or coffee to your room anytime. The hot breakfast is excellent, with hot cereal, cold cereal, pastries, excellent scones, and eggs to order as well as available breakfast meat.

There are two laptops by reception which provide internet access and you can print your boarding passes, etc. They may also have in room access but I don't know as I didn't bring a laptop this trip. There was no charge for the use of the laptops at reception.

The bedding is great - warm and cozy comforters on both the mattress and for the cover. The hotel is older so there is old floral wallpaper and old white tiles in the bathroom. I did nto mind this at all. There were a few items in need of repair - a chipped tile, a peeled spot on the ceiling, but that didn't bother me and it was normal wear and tear. Given the age of the hotel I was surprised it was in as good condition.

The location is good, and there is shopping and dining in easy walking distance. There is a fitness center. The hotel arranged a shuttle to the airport for us.

Despite being very busy, the hotel was quiet in the rooms, which was nice. Overall we have no complaints and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

I have recently stayed at the Radisson, the Place Louis Riel, and the Fort Garry. I have read that the Fort Garry is older but booked it anyway for the character and charm. Well, the rooms were certainly more outdated than charming!

We were first placed in a standard room with a double bed. I cannot imagine charging anyone over $100 for that room as it was more like a closet. The décor was extremely outdated (which appears to be the case for most of the rooms) and the TV was a tiny box. Also, the heat did not work! Customer service was excellent as they sent someone to look at the heat right away, and when it failed to operate, moved us to another room.

Our second room was bigger and had two double beds, a bigger TV, and bigger bathroom. It was ok except there was very limited desk space to set up a workstation. We asked for an upgrade to the suites, which I’ve read good reviews of, but unfortunately they were fully booked and could only give us a room with a king bed. The room was actually smaller, but the bed was worth it…

The hotel offers complimentary buffet breakfast, and a Sunday brunch. The hot food was prepared by two chefs at a cooking station that you line up for. On Saturday morning the lineup was long and the poor chefs overworked! They still maintained excellent service.

Overall, as many pointed out, the hotel has beautiful public areas, but the rooms are in serious need of major renovation. Customer service was very good, as was their complimentary buffet breakfast, and the beautiful Ten Spa, where I had a great massage experience (try the steam room!). However, there are definitely nicer hotels to be found for the same or lower price. The limited desk space and fee-based wireless Internet also means that it may not be very convenient for business travelers.

PROS:
-Soft, comfortable beds
-Plush bath robes
-Complimentary buffet breakfast
-Ten Spa
-Complimentary coffee and tea delivered to your room (no coffee makers in rooms)

CONS:
-Very dated rooms with tired décor, small washrooms especially counter and shower space
-Fee-based Internet service in rooms
-Some people may prefer the standard coffee maker in the room
-Thin walls
-Limited outdoor parking going up a very steep ramp

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

The public areas are beautifully restored especially the old fashioned bar. I love the linens, the coffee which is delivered to your room in the morning and the breakfast is great. This hotel has the BEST beds. I look forward to returning for another visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort Garry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Garry Hotel

Address: 222 Broadway Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0R3, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#18 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Garry Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort Garry Hotel, Spa and Conference Centre is a classic chateau-style hotel and national historic site situated in the heart of downtown Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada. This former Grand Trunk Railway hotel has been a Winnipeg icon since 1913 and is only minutes away from major downtown attractions including the Forks Market. Relax in one of our 246 guestrooms or suites featuring: our exquisite bed ensemble with feather mattress, down duvets and pillows, and fine Italian linens. All of our guests enjoy 24-hr delivery of complimentary coffee/tea, cookies & newspapers. Enjoy the Fort Garry’s award winning Grand Sunday Brunch or legendary daily breakfast. We will attend to your guests in luxurious elegance from an intimate dinner to a magnificent banquet of 600 with four grand historic ballrooms, 16 conference and meeting rooms, and Winnipeg’s only Glatt Kosher service. Experience the award winning, versatile culinary fare of The Fort Garry. Fully equipped fitness centre with indoor running track and indoor swimming pool. Winnipeg’s world-class Ten Spa with authentic co-ed Turkish hamam, dubbed “The hottest, steamiest, most exotic place in Canada” by the Ottawa Citizen. Yoga Public, Canada’s largest yoga playground & sanctuary for individuals looking for a source of physical and spiritual inspiration. Yoga Public offers a program of more than 100 classes per week and offers variety of yoga style and TRX classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Fort Garry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Garry Winnipeg
Hotel Fort Garry
Fort Garry Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Garry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.