We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in theory, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Garry Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fort Garry Hotel to your Saves list
Fort Garry Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Broadway Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0R3, Canada (Downtown Winnipeg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good in theory, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

It's a nice hotel, I see what they are trying to do, but it does fall short on execution. We are staying in an Executive Suite, and the laminate hardwood floor has chips and bubbling in the common areas. We settled in one night, bathrobes on, ready to pour wine and watch a movie, and the Lodgenet box was disconnected and it took a service guy close to 30mins to try and hook it up - talk about spoiling the mood. Rusty water when pouring for the large two-person tub. Beds were great though, and the feel of the hotel is very classic. Spa is wonderful.

Overall, it seems to put effort into the publicly accessed ammenities and falls short on room quality and services for its guests. We are still havin a great stay, but expect more for this city's hallmark hotel - and for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    194
    91
    45
    25
See reviews for
79
173
47
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Rubberboot
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

a wonderful old CP hotel, and still carries the shine of the gilded age. the beds are wonderful, you never want to leave them. the breakfast is one of the best I've had in any hotel any where. excellent service. some of the renos are less than: the rugs don't all meet the baseboards, but one can make an allowance for this grand ole girl still well kept. the corporate rates are very competitive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crookston
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We traveled to Winnipeg on a bus tour to attend Folklorama and stayed at the 100 year old Fort Garry Hotel. A very impressive looking hotel. They had everyone's room keys ready when we arrived. Check in was smooth and quick. There were two elevators, they were small, but very quick and smooth. Lobby was beautiful. Our room was on the second floor. Hallways were nice and wide. Our room was a little tired, wallpaper was separating at a few seams, paint was chipped on the wood trim and the wood furniture was worn. The light blocking curtains were uneven and unattached, unhooked, on one side of the rod. This allowed light in during the night. There was only one chair in the room, this made it difficult to sit back and relax because there were two of us, my husband and I, sharing the room. The non working curtains and only one chair, are my only complaints about this room. We would have preferred a king size bed, but the room had a queen size bed. The bed was a feather bed, very comfy, with soft, beautiful, white sheets and 4 comfy pillows. The bathroom was sparkly clean, very large bath towels, shower in tub, hot, hot water and new toilet. Hair dryer, soap, shampoo, conditioner, body wash and lotion provided. The hotel also offered coffee and tea service, delivered to your room, 24 hours a day, at no charge, very nice! Ice machine always had ice available. The staff were helpful and courteous. The breakfast buffet on Saturday morning was great, everything you could want, but the Sunday Brunch was OUT of THIS WORLD!!! Unbelievable quality and choices, for every taste, no way you could ever try it all. The wait staff we had were so attentive, and on top of everything!!! I can't say enough good about them. Both dining rooms we were in, Saturday and Sunday, were wonderful. Both had crisp, white table linens, table clothes and napkins. The dining room we were in for the Sunday Brunch was fit for a king! White, trimmed in gold, with at least 10 chandeliers. SO BEAUTIFUL!!! This hotel is not full of modern things, but if you enjoy a place with history and character, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Canada
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

But this beauty does not outweigh its flaws.
For one thing, parking is a very significant problem. You pay for parking ($ 15.00 a day) and they do not reserve a parking spot for you. When you have to specifically request valet parking because at the time all parking spots are taken (especially on the weekend), you end up losing a lot of time.
Another problem that we did not foresee was the ventilation in the bathrooms. If you have a bathtub (you have to pay extra, most bathrooms have just showers), you are not able to let out the steam, vapor, because the bathrooms (at least our bathrooms) did not have ventilation. If you are lucky, you have a small, narrow window in the bathroom (our bathroom) that you can open, but then you invite all the bugs and mosquitos of Winnipeg inside because the window does not have the necessary screen, and, by the way, the cleaning staff will leave a friendly reminder not to leave the window open because of the bugs and mosquitos. We were also surprised that there was no refrigerator in the room (you have to ask for it and pay?), no free internet connection. We travel a lot using different (not always luxury accomodations) but do not encounter these kinds of problems.
This beautiful hotel really NEEDS UPGRADING and UPDATING!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed here for 10 days while on a work assignment in Winnipeg and absolutely loved the hotel. It's a beautiful old historic place with period decor and cozy rooms. Some rooms are better than others though, so if you do not like how yours is situated in the building, kindly request another. I stayed on one of the rooms with the dormer windows overlooking downtown Winnipeg and it was fantastic. The bed was comofortable, nice small closet and a great re-done bathroom. Don't miss the Sunday brunch - you'll get more than you pay for, even at the price point. Highly recommend this hotel for character in the city.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking downtown Winnipeg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura W, Marketing Director at Fort Garry Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us. We appreciate that you took the time to write a review and look forward to seeing you again should you return to Winnipeg.

Kind regards,

Laura Wiebe
Marketing Director
The Fort Garry Hotel, Spa and Conference Centre
(204)946-6523
lwiebe@fortgarryhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have stayed at the Ft. Garry three times and always had an excellent time. Good room. Good bed, Good Shower and an excellent breakfast. Sunday brunch is not to be missed. Excellent for business or pleasure. This hotel is very popular with the locals for weddings. Just a short walk to the Train Station and to the Forks. Ask for the "haunted room", we did but were not treated to the ghost..

Room Tip: I don't know of a poor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and myself had an over night stay at the Fort Gary Hotel.
The food was excellent and the service was outstanding in the Palm Lounge.
The Ten Spa was an experience of a life time.
The staff was attentive, ,courteous and friendly, We have never felt so spoiled and pampered.
All the treatments were sublime.
If you stay at the Fort Gary you have to try the Ten Spa. You won't be disappointed.
The room with it's furnishings and décor was lovely.
And the Sunday Brunch was fabulous . The variety is unbelievable!
The best is Winnipeg

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort Garry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Garry Hotel

Address: 222 Broadway Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0R3, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#8 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#22 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Garry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort Garry Hotel, Spa and Conference Centre is a classic chateau-style hotel and national historic site situated in the heart of downtown Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada. This former Grand Trunk Railway hotel has been a Winnipeg icon since 1913 and is only minutes away from major downtown attractions including the Forks Market. Relax in one of our 246 guestrooms or suites featuring: our exquisite bed ensemble with feather mattress, down duvets and pillows, and fine Italian linens. All of our guests enjoy 24-hr delivery of complimentary coffee/tea, cookies & newspapers. Enjoy the Fort Garry’s award winning Grand Sunday Brunch or legendary daily breakfast. We will attend to your guests in luxurious elegance from an intimate dinner to a magnificent banquet of 600 with four grand historic ballrooms, 16 conference and meeting rooms, and Winnipeg’s only Glatt Kosher service. Experience the award winning, versatile culinary fare of The Fort Garry. Fully equipped fitness centre with indoor running track and indoor swimming pool. Winnipeg’s world-class Ten Spa with authentic co-ed Turkish hamam, dubbed “The hottest, steamiest, most exotic place in Canada” by the Ottawa Citizen. Yoga Public, Canada’s largest yoga playground & sanctuary for individuals looking for a source of physical and spiritual inspiration. Yoga Public offers a program of more than 100 classes per week and offers variety of yoga style and TRX classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Fort Garry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Garry Winnipeg
Hotel Fort Garry
Fort Garry Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Garry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.