We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the complimentary tea/coffee service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Garry Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fort Garry Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fort Garry Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Broadway Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0R3, Canada (Downtown Winnipeg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 63 hotels in Winnipeg
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Love the complimentary tea/coffee service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Fort Garry Hotel is one of the few remaining character-rich hotels with tall ceilings, wide hallways, tons of marble and miles of shiny brass. It is very comfortable, attractive, the staff is alert and professional and it is well located. Also, any time of day or night, a guest can have complimentary tea or coffee service. No charge. We stayed twice for a total of three nights, and the delivery was always right on the dot. Luggage service also was right on the money. When luggage was supposed to be put outside the door at 9 a.m., by 9:02, it was gone. Breakfast, included, also is quite good. Eggs are done to order, the Canadian bacon is delicious and the croissants are as good as they are in France.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    163
    76
    41
    21
See reviews for
64
148
39
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed in room 202 twice in the past year. It is said to be haunted. I did have one experience the first time I stayed. At about 1:20 a.m., as I was getting ready for bed, I saw a menu fly off the desk onto the floor, out of the corner of my eye. A bit disappointed that this was all. My second stay was uneventful.

This 99 year old hotel has its charms. Staff are very friendly, and free coffee and tea room service is a plus, although I did not take advantage. The restaurant offers a good menu and room service is available until 11:00. I would recommend this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask for room 202. The ghost is a non threatening entity (young lady who appar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed at the Fort Garry for 1 night for a business trip. The hotel is charming, oldish and very clean. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean with some old features (electric outlets, mouldings...). The breakfast was included in the price and had a great spread with an omelet station. The only negative point that I noticed was a strong moldy smell in the lobby (probably that the carpet had been cleaned recently). I hard that Ten spa within the hotel is one of the best spas in Canada... did not have time to try...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Unfortunately we didn't get to spend much time at this hotel (our train was 4 hours late). To our advantage the hotel was across the road from the train station, which was ideal when we had to walk there late at night.
A beautiful building amongst modern architecture. The lobby is very grand, has a vintage feel to the place, very clean and very large. It may have had something to do with the time we checked in but the reception staff we quite abrupt, and we weren't offered help with our bags. A disappointing welcome.
The bedroom was large, spotless, with 'old school' decoration. The bed was a small double but comfortable, the room was warm and had wifi. Amazing shower. Annoyingly we didn't get to check out the spa due to a time shortage but I imagine it would be quite good.
The breakfast in the morning is well worth getting up for. The staff was lovely, and the chef would cook anything you wanted. A great selection, lovely surroundings and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Make sure you have the breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was my first trip to Winnipeg and we decided to stay at the Fort Garry Hotel based on it's location. We had a very good experience at the hotel. The service was great with a beautiful entrance and lobby, which also serves as the Sunday brunch buffet area - which was fantastic.
The room was a little dated but bed and furniture was quite comfortable. The bathroom was of a good size and actually had a window to the outside - very nice! With the hotel room we had access to a full service gym which was fantastic - more hotels should offer this service!
In the hotel room they also includede earplugs for their guests. I was wondering why until the second night where I was awoken by hotel guests in the hallway - as for most older hotels the rooms are not sound proof.
The location was great with less than a five minute walk to the Forks and the Legislature building.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here for a romantic treat and was very impressed by the service, room, and luxurious goosedown bed. Our room was in a fairly traditional style and didn't include things like a fridge or coffeemaker, which was perfectly fine by us. The fitness centre and pool are fairly small but adequate. Location is pretty good with access to the Forks Market. Far and away the best part of our visit was the Sunday morning buffet, though. There are simply too many options to try, so we just did our best to taste as many different and unique flavours as possible, and we weren't disappointed. Of course, the price for this isn't cheap, but as a way to break up the routine without having to get out of the city it worked pretty well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is kind of quirky hotel. The entrance and lobby are very grand, as befits a former railway hotel. The rooms are a little dated, as others have mentioned. Our king-sized bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was included in the room rate and it was truly fabulous. In addition to the pastries, cereal and fruit set out buffet style, you could also order hot food prepared by two chefs - eggs benedict, omelettes, waffles, whatever you liked. There is a fitness centre in an attached building, with a pool large enough to swim short laps. I was initially a bit concerned about the lack of a coffee maker in the room. But you truly call and order coffee or tea at any time of the day or night. It was always delivered promptly and with cookies! Actually, we started to feel spoiled. Our room wasn't really set up properly for doing business - there wasn't a proper desk and the electrical outlets were few and not very conveniently placed. Bit if you are there on vacation, or just need to do a little work on your computer, this hotel would be fine. The warm welcome and friendly service you get a this hotel more than make up for any small deficiencies. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fort Garry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Garry Hotel

Address: 222 Broadway Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0R3, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#17 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Garry Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort Garry Hotel, Spa and Conference Centre is a classic chateau-style hotel and national historic site situated in the heart of downtown Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada. This former Grand Trunk Railway hotel has been a Winnipeg icon since 1913 and is only minutes away from major downtown attractions including the Forks Market. Relax in one of our 246 guestrooms or suites featuring: our exquisite bed ensemble with feather mattress, down duvets and pillows, and fine Italian linens. All of our guests enjoy 24-hr delivery of complimentary coffee/tea, cookies & newspapers. Enjoy the Fort Garry’s award winning Grand Sunday Brunch or legendary daily breakfast. We will attend to your guests in luxurious elegance from an intimate dinner to a magnificent banquet of 600 with four grand historic ballrooms, 16 conference and meeting rooms, and Winnipeg’s only Glatt Kosher service. Experience the award winning, versatile culinary fare of The Fort Garry. Fully equipped fitness centre with indoor running track and indoor swimming pool. Winnipeg’s world-class Ten Spa with authentic co-ed Turkish hamam, dubbed “The hottest, steamiest, most exotic place in Canada” by the Ottawa Citizen. Yoga Public, Canada’s largest yoga playground & sanctuary for individuals looking for a source of physical and spiritual inspiration. Yoga Public offers a program of more than 100 classes per week and offers variety of yoga style and TRX classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fort Garry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Garry Winnipeg
Hotel Fort Garry
Fort Garry Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Garry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.