We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay over Christmas 2011” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Garry Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fort Garry Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fort Garry Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Broadway Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0R3, Canada (Downtown Winnipeg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Nice stay over Christmas 2011”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Just stayed there for 3 nights over the Christmas holidays. It's an excellent hotel. The daily breakfast is really good, and we enjoyed the daily in-room coffee service. Beds were very comfortable. Huge bathroom, renovated, with great water pressure. Minor issue was that the noise in the hallway was fairly audible inside our room, but aside from that, the stay was excellent! The location is very good, close to the Forks, restaurants, downtown. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    177
    81
    42
    22
See reviews for
74
157
42
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed here one night and really enjoyed it. When we arrived we were a little bit worried when we found ear plugs in the bathroom but these weren't necessary.
There are still a lot of old features in the hotel which I really liked. It's not your new fancy hotel but obviously has a history to it.
The staff is friendly, the bar is nice, the food is good, what more do you want.

There is no fee parking ($12 pn) and no free wireless. The hotel is pricey and personally I think this should be included.
Oh and I don't know what kind of mattress they have but it's a very hard mattress which forms to your body. My back was sore in the morning, I think you'd have to get used to that type of mattress.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I am convinced that there cannot be a better hotel to stay in when in Winnipeg. Love the old world glamour the place exudes. The inside of the hotel is in stark contrast with the surroundings though (Downtown Winnipeg isn't my favourite place in the world). But the staff here are excellent, nice buffet breakfast too. I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends planning on travelling to Winnipeg.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Good overall value for the hotel. Alot of hidden charges that were annoying such as parking, and internet. There was no mention of that online when I booked the room.
Even so, hotel staff were freindly and food was very good. Location is excellent.
Downside is rooms look like the last refresh was mid 1960's. Not the best for a business traveller but if you like the old world charm this is a nice place to stay.
I will stay again on personal travel but not again when on business. Business amenities are just not there in your room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Overall an excellent hotel. The staff is helpful & friendly, the buffet breakfast is fantastic, & while some people have mentioned their rooms being old, mine on the fourth floor was spacious, clean & more than I would expect from most hotels. The recycling bin is in the closet which is fine, only I didn't notice it until my second night. Because the building is older there are some expected realities: the elevators are small & slow, but I normally use the stairs which were wide & accessible. The internet was a little wonky, as some parts of the hotel didn't seem as well networked as the rest, though there are two computers at the check-in that are free to guests, & in four days I never had to wait in line to use them. The parking is right at the back, therefore convenient; hotel offers valet for $15/day or park yourself for $12/day.

Do yourselves a favour & have the breakfast, which is often included with your stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manitoba
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

I love this grand old hotel. The staff are extremely pleasant. The rooms are spotlessly clean. They just don't build hotels like this any more. Favorite things while staying here: coffee in a silver carafe brought to your room upon request...with a cookie, luxurious robes to lounge in, the most comfortable beds covered with a feather duvet and feather under pad, big plush pillows......charm, charm, charm. The breakfasts in the dining room are custom made by the chefs. Location is great, views spectacular, within walking distance to The Forks. You just gotta stay here when in Winnipeg.

Room Tip: Ask for the ninth floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, Texas
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Stayed three nights here as part of Natural Habitat tour.
First room we had was sub-par, the heating/ac was very loud and did not generate much heat. Also could not connect to the internet. Signal was weak. We were on the 9th floor. Breakfast buffet is good, could use more fresh fruit. Service is excellent.
Location is very good.
Second room we had on return from trip was much better than the first. Larger and the heat/ac was fine.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort Garry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Garry Hotel

Address: 222 Broadway Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0R3, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#10 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#18 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Garry Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort Garry Hotel, Spa and Conference Centre is a classic chateau-style hotel and national historic site situated in the heart of downtown Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada. This former Grand Trunk Railway hotel has been a Winnipeg icon since 1913 and is only minutes away from major downtown attractions including the Forks Market. Relax in one of our 246 guestrooms or suites featuring: our exquisite bed ensemble with feather mattress, down duvets and pillows, and fine Italian linens. All of our guests enjoy 24-hr delivery of complimentary coffee/tea, cookies & newspapers. Enjoy the Fort Garry’s award winning Grand Sunday Brunch or legendary daily breakfast. We will attend to your guests in luxurious elegance from an intimate dinner to a magnificent banquet of 600 with four grand historic ballrooms, 16 conference and meeting rooms, and Winnipeg’s only Glatt Kosher service. Experience the award winning, versatile culinary fare of The Fort Garry. Fully equipped fitness centre with indoor running track and indoor swimming pool. Winnipeg’s world-class Ten Spa with authentic co-ed Turkish hamam, dubbed “The hottest, steamiest, most exotic place in Canada” by the Ottawa Citizen. Yoga Public, Canada’s largest yoga playground & sanctuary for individuals looking for a source of physical and spiritual inspiration. Yoga Public offers a program of more than 100 classes per week and offers variety of yoga style and TRX classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Fort Garry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Garry Winnipeg
Hotel Fort Garry
Fort Garry Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Garry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.