We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Charter House Hotel Downtown Winnipeg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Charter House Hotel Downtown Winnipeg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 York Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0N9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #43 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
ontario canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Noise Issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Bestwestern Charterhouse is a small property, remodeled in the Bestwestern standard. Front desk service was exceptional, ask for "Grant", he was very professional in his job, advised me on locations for dinner and entertainment. I Found the hotel room adequate in size. The only problem i experienced was the noise that filters through the balcony door and window, i could hear people talking on the street five floors down and i did not sleep very well and it ruined my stay.
Also had lunch at the cafe located off the lobby, service and food were very good, they make a very good rueben sandwich.

Room Tip: Happy hour 4-8 pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    35
    19
    14
    17
See reviews for
16
24
8
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Erickson, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have been staying here for years. I like it because I can see the car from the room (no parkades) and it is small (5 floors) and reasonably priced. It also has a cosmopolitan feel with people from several ethnic backgrounds staying there. It is a block away from the big downtown inside walkway and close to the Forks, the library, and the trails along the river. It is quiet, except when the City is cleaning up a dump of snow.

Room Tip: south rooms are quieter, and the corner rooms have a couple of extra feet of width and are set up wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross Lake, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Was not impressed with the dingy towels. They Gould be white not grey. Parking was almost impossible when I checked in cause of the jets game but hotel guests should be guaranteed a spot. I Had to drive around from check in till 930 pm till the Parkin lot cleared and I was tired as I had a 8 am meeting the next morning. And the lady who checked me out was very rude. Usually the service and cleanliness of the room is great but this last trip was unimpressive

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Not impressed with this Best Western hotel and I've stayed at many Best Westerns before. This is the worst. Hotel is run down. Carpets in lobby were dirty and torn and same with the inside of elevators. Room was clean but older looking. incredibly hot and couldn't open the door to patio as it was sealed shut for the winter. Too hot to sleep. Breakfast was not included in price and food was cold. Parking is also extra ($9.75/day) Total overall comment...Not worth the price we paid and will definately not be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I felt the downtown location would be a little classier and cleaner. The door in the alley allows undesirables to hang around. There was a lot of beer flowing into that hotel. My wife had a uncomfortable feeling and said she wouldn't stay there on business. No consistency between dayshift and night shift. Had Best Western Gift cards and I advised the night clerk I had them. He advised to bring them in the morning upon checkout. At checkout the dayshift clerk said you should of turned those in last night. Go figure, then we had to wait a while until he put it through. After twenty five years of dealing with drunks I don't want to deal with them on a holiday. Sorry its the way it was.

Room Tip: Check out the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

not a luxury hotel by any means but the staff put in effort to keep it clean and quiet.
Executive rooms are nice and spacious.All staff are friendly and curteous.
Not a typical business hotel but the location works well for any downtown meetings or events.
i would stay here again but for the price i would look for an upper scale business hotel first

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is one of the few downtown hotels with an Airport Shuttle; though as often as not they just ask you to take a taxi which they pay for on arrival - that suits me.

It is also useful for the WPG Convention Centre - well under a 5 minute walk - and unlike the Delta lets you get some fresh air going to and fro'. I use it because the East India Co., Ichi Ban's and the Elephant & Castle are all so close-by.

Rooms are spacious but older. FAR too hot in Winter, but just open the balcony door(!) Only trouble was the snowploughs were clearing the parking lots opposite all night, so their goddamn reversing sirens kept me awake.

Staff always friendly and I prefer staying downtown to being stuck in an airport box hotel. You get what you pay for, but at typically 25% less than Sandman or 4-Points, it's decent value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Charter House Hotel Downtown Winnipeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Charter House Hotel Downtown Winnipeg

Address: 330 York Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Charter House Hotel Downtown Winnipeg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Charterhouse Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of beautiful Downtown Winnipeg, located within walking distance to many corporate offices, entertainment venues, retail outlets and popular Winnipegsites including: The Winnipeg Convention Centre, MTS Centrehome of the Winnipeg Jets, Centennial Concert Hall, and the Forks Market Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Charter House Hotel Downtown Winnipeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charter Hotel
Best Western Winnipeg
Winnipeg Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Charter House Hotel Downtown Winnipeg Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Charter House Hotel Downtown Winnipeg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.