We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Don't Get the Hype” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lovey's BBQ & Smokehouse

Lovey's BBQ & Smokehouse
Unit 1 - 208 Marion Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2H OT6, Canada (Central St. Boniface)
204 233 7427
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #338 of 1,390 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout
Neighborhood: Central St. Boniface
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I Don't Get the Hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Winnipeger's love Lovey's. To me, it's just ok. The food is decent, but nowhere near as mouthwatering as people have said. There's got to be a better BBQ option in the city.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    9
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Ribs keep getting better.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

When I first tried this place shortly after it opened I thought the ribs were ok... over time they have gotten much better and are were excellent the last time I was there. For around twenty dollars you can get a full meal that will easily feed 2 people... beans were great as was the mac and cheese.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
“Don't waste your money at their food truck.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Just ordered their chipotle chicken wrap for $7 at the fringe festival. I was starving and it sounded good. It tasted like something you might buy out of a vending machine. There was absolutely no flavour and the staff at the food truck said it had been premade and the person who made it probably forgot the chipotle mayo. She apologized but did not offer to help us out in anyway. The only good thing was that it was small.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Best BBQ restaurant I have ever been to hands down! The pulled pot is to die for. The portions are amazing, the smell of the place is mouthwatering. You won't regret eating here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best BBQ and smoked meat place in Winnipeg ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stopped in at Lovey's for a bite with my wife this eve.. We chowed down on a pulled pork "terminator" buger... More food than one man can eat... Perfectly smoked and succulent pork... With that we enjoyed a pulled pork Poutine.. Best ever!!! Wouldn't hesitate to bring any southerner over for a great meat fest!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lovey's BBQ & Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Lovey's BBQ & Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovey's BBQ & Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.