We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but functional” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Bee Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Queen Bee Hotel to your Saves list
Queen Bee Hotel
2615 Pembina Hwy, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2H5 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Winnipeg B&B and Inns
Toronto
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Basic but functional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here two nights while attending a family wedding. The accomodations are basic, but clean and comfortable. The only thing we really missed not having was an iron and ironing board. There is a basic cereal and toast breakfast on offer between 8 and 9 albeit with rather alarming spreads including artificial honey. (How much more expensive can the real thing be?)

The hotel backs on to a freight line which apparently gets regular use at odd hours in the early morning -- we woke up to a freight train around 1:30 in the morning but fortunately were tired enough to fall back asleep pretty immediately. If you're a light sleeper you might want to ask for one of the front-facing rooms. Note that there is no elevator for the second floor rooms.

There is value for money here and I suppose it's really your call whether you want to spend just a bit more for somewhere just a but nicer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here in May because I had heard that it was cheap (roughly $70 per night) but a perfectly decent motel. And it was very close to where we had to be first thing in the morning. (It's near U of M, etc.) But we were charged $99, which to me, for a basic motel--no swimming pool, no giant fluffy duvet, on the edge of town, view of a dumpster--seems like a lot. Having said that, the beds had these homey quilts on them. When you entered the hallway where the rooms are from the front desk, there are some really nice large vases with fake flowers--very contemporary Asian classy, I thought. But the beds were a bit harder than most hotels. There was some (in my opinion) tacky wallpaper in the room. Important warning for those with allergies: the pillows felt like they were real feather pillows. Staff were nice. I would have liked to try the attached Korean restaurant, but didn't.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I liked the hotel, but the service was basically non-existent (when my husband and I arrived, we had to wait about 20 minutes for the young later at the counter to finish her phone call because she was the only person there) and I really did not like the fact that "breakfast" was in a closet and consisted of dry cereal and orange juice. It's a very inexpensive hotel, but it was very far from anything we wanted to do. Next time we will definitely stay MUCH closer to downtown.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, MB
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel was clean and friendly. It was a last minute decision to stay the night in Winnipeg and we were in this hotel's area so decided to check it out. Room had everything needed for a restful night. We stayed in a room with two queen beds, flat screen tv, fridge, microwave, coffeemaker. There is a restaurant attached but we didn't try it. There was complimentary breakfast in the morning which was handy to get us on our way. This is a basic hotel and serves the purpose of getting a good nights sleep in a clean safe and relatively affordable room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Queen Bee Hotel provides just about the best value in a hotel that I have ever experienced! If you are on a tight budget but are looking for a simple and modest yet comfortable, spotlessly clean, and safe place to stay - you'll be very happy here. The hotel appears to be family owned and mostly run by family - their pride in the place is evident - by the end of my recent November stay they had decked out the lobby and entrance hall with lovely holiday decorations. For more details, see my list of Major/Minor Pros & Cons below!!

Major Pros:
- All the bathroom fixtures were brand new. The bathroom was cleaned meticulously on a daily basis. Water was of excellent quality out of the tap, and water pressure very good.
- The mattress appeared quite new and perfectly clean with new pillows. The sheets were nice, clean, and of excellent quality. The quilt on top (instead of a comforter) disappointed me at first, but I learned to love it in the end - it was 'less stylish' but way better than the usual comforter - thus, this ended up being a surprise bonus.
- With a microwave and fridge in the room, I was able to stockpile some food in my room and prepare some simple stuff to eat right there. This was very convenient as it helped me save money on eating out. There are a multitude of grocery stores nearby.
- The University of Manitoba is pretty nearly across the street - extremely accessible if you have business there.
- The front desk was very helpful when I had questions, and responded immediately when I discovered that the bathtub was missing a drain plug.
- Excellent tv image quality, with a wide assortment of cable channels available.
- Easy simple temperature control unit at your very own disposal so you can get things just right.

Minor Cons:
- At times it appears that sound travels throughout the hotel more than I would have liked it. However, the moments that I was disturbed were brief and always in the earlier evenings. The hotel has posters up all over the place which state "a quiet time after 11PM is strictly enforced", and I never once heard any noises after this time.
- The carpet is clean, but it is a little ratty and old... but perfectly functional and, as said, clean.
- I would have preferred to have a small gym in the hotel - even just the usual tiny room with just a treadmill and an elliptical. You won't find this there, however.
- The hotel is located in the south end of the city, and it is a drive of about 20 minutes there and 20 minutes back... though rush hour can inflate these times to anywhere from 40 to 60 minutes depending on the day. Winnipeg has some of the most terribly maintained city streets I've seen in Canada... and this definitely complicates matters a great deal.

In all... to the budget traveler, I would have to recommend this hotel whole-heartedly!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage la Prairie, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Was all good, found the hotel adorable. and the staff was great. I would stay here again. Room was clean and spotless. Location is in the suburbs but the neighborhood is super safe, and close to bus stops so it is easy to get downtown. Worthwhile little hotel, the outside looks weird but inside it is quite comfy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The concierge was courteous, good-humoured and helpful. He even found a convertor from European to Candian plugs. Good wireless connection. Sushi place next door, Starbuck's down the road. Convenient for travel on the Pembina highway south where the pleasures of the border crossing await you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen Bee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Bee Hotel

Address: 2615 Pembina Hwy, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2H5 , Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Queen Bee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Bee Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen Bee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.