We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't recommend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Bee Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Queen Bee Hotel to your Saves list
Queen Bee Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2615 Pembina Hwy, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2H5 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 66 Hotels in Winnipeg
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wouldn't recommend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here in May because I had heard that it was cheap (roughly $70 per night) but a perfectly decent motel. And it was very close to where we had to be first thing in the morning. (It's near U of M, etc.) But we were charged $99, which to me, for a basic motel--no swimming pool, no giant fluffy duvet, on the edge of town, view of a dumpster--seems like a lot. Having said that, the beds had these homey quilts on them. When you entered the hallway where the rooms are from the front desk, there are some really nice large vases with fake flowers--very contemporary Asian classy, I thought. But the beds were a bit harder than most hotels. There was some (in my opinion) tacky wallpaper in the room. Important warning for those with allergies: the pillows felt like they were real feather pillows. Staff were nice. I would have liked to try the attached Korean restaurant, but didn't.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rtw2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I liked the hotel, but the service was basically non-existent (when my husband and I arrived, we had to wait about 20 minutes for the young later at the counter to finish her phone call because she was the only person there) and I really did not like the fact that "breakfast" was in a closet and consisted of dry cereal and orange juice. It's a very inexpensive hotel, but it was very far from anything we wanted to do. Next time we will definitely stay MUCH closer to downtown.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maogun23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, MB
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel was clean and friendly. It was a last minute decision to stay the night in Winnipeg and we were in this hotel's area so decided to check it out. Room had everything needed for a restful night. We stayed in a room with two queen beds, flat screen tv, fridge, microwave, coffeemaker. There is a restaurant attached but we didn't try it. There was complimentary breakfast in the morning which was handy to get us on our way. This is a basic hotel and serves the purpose of getting a good nights sleep in a clean safe and relatively affordable room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunchasers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Queen Bee Hotel provides just about the best value in a hotel that I have ever experienced! If you are on a tight budget but are looking for a simple and modest yet comfortable, spotlessly clean, and safe place to stay - you'll be very happy here. The hotel appears to be family owned and mostly run by family - their pride in the place is evident - by the end of my recent November stay they had decked out the lobby and entrance hall with lovely holiday decorations. For more details, see my list of Major/Minor Pros & Cons below!!

Major Pros:
- All the bathroom fixtures were brand new. The bathroom was cleaned meticulously on a daily basis. Water was of excellent quality out of the tap, and water pressure very good.
- The mattress appeared quite new and perfectly clean with new pillows. The sheets were nice, clean, and of excellent quality. The quilt on top (instead of a comforter) disappointed me at first, but I learned to love it in the end - it was 'less stylish' but way better than the usual comforter - thus, this ended up being a surprise bonus.
- With a microwave and fridge in the room, I was able to stockpile some food in my room and prepare some simple stuff to eat right there. This was very convenient as it helped me save money on eating out. There are a multitude of grocery stores nearby.
- The University of Manitoba is pretty nearly across the street - extremely accessible if you have business there.
- The front desk was very helpful when I had questions, and responded immediately when I discovered that the bathtub was missing a drain plug.
- Excellent tv image quality, with a wide assortment of cable channels available.
- Easy simple temperature control unit at your very own disposal so you can get things just right.

Minor Cons:
- At times it appears that sound travels throughout the hotel more than I would have liked it. However, the moments that I was disturbed were brief and always in the earlier evenings. The hotel has posters up all over the place which state "a quiet time after 11PM is strictly enforced", and I never once heard any noises after this time.
- The carpet is clean, but it is a little ratty and old... but perfectly functional and, as said, clean.
- I would have preferred to have a small gym in the hotel - even just the usual tiny room with just a treadmill and an elliptical. You won't find this there, however.
- The hotel is located in the south end of the city, and it is a drive of about 20 minutes there and 20 minutes back... though rush hour can inflate these times to anywhere from 40 to 60 minutes depending on the day. Winnipeg has some of the most terribly maintained city streets I've seen in Canada... and this definitely complicates matters a great deal.

In all... to the budget traveler, I would have to recommend this hotel whole-heartedly!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Geoffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage la Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Was all good, found the hotel adorable. and the staff was great. I would stay here again. Room was clean and spotless. Location is in the suburbs but the neighborhood is super safe, and close to bus stops so it is easy to get downtown. Worthwhile little hotel, the outside looks weird but inside it is quite comfy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank flying_whitley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The concierge was courteous, good-humoured and helpful. He even found a convertor from European to Candian plugs. Good wireless connection. Sushi place next door, Starbuck's down the road. Convenient for travel on the Pembina highway south where the pleasures of the border crossing await you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Just came back from five nights at the Queen Bee Hotel. The room was basic but large and very clean - we had one queen bed. Nights were very quiet. We had a room at the back on the top floor, and even though the railway tracks are very close, the train traffic was minimal - only one train on a couple of the nights. The carpets in the room, hallways and back stairway could use upgrading, but other than that the place was very clean. Breakfast was basic, but enough for us - the only downside was the coffee and tea in the breakfast room were only lukewarm. The price was right - even though we only stayed five nights we got the weekly rate. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Upstairs at the back is probably quieter than at the front because there is a restaurant out front a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank spinkybabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#32 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Winnipeg South
Comfort Inn Winnipeg South
#34 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Winnipeg South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pembina Inn & Suites
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Winnipeg South
Econo Lodge Winnipeg South
#29 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
1.9 mi away
Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Bee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Bee Hotel

Address: 2615 Pembina Hwy, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2H5, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Queen Bee Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Queen Bee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Bee Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing