We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Western Canada's Best B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Columns

The Columns
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Columns to your Saves list
The Columns
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   5 East Gate, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C2C2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Winnipeg B&B and Inns
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Western Canada's Best B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

For the last five years (most recently in March 2013) I've gone to Winnipeg two or three times a year in connection with work I do for University of Manitoba Press. My great good fortune has been to stay at The Columns during my visits. Not only is the house a lovely old heritage house conveniently situated in downtown Winnipeg, beautifully restored, but also its guest rooms are each well appointed with everything a guest could need; the beds are without exception (I've tried them all by now) comfy and welcoming; and breakfasts alone are worth flying to Winnipeg to eat. April, who plans and prepares the breakfasts, and Diamond, her husband, are the perfect hosts and great conversationalists and by now I consider them friends. That goes for the cats, too, who are welcoming and charming!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
17
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have had the pleasure of working with April at The Columns on several occasions and the service and hospitality is second to none. April goes above and beyond to make your stay a real pleasure. When we have people travelling from out of town we have "put them up" at The Columns and there is never a disappointment. Most of our "folks" have never stayed at a B & B before. Once they have experienced The Columns they are seeking out B & B's for additional travel across Canada....although one of our associates has told me her first B & B stay was at The Columns and she has never had another B & B that has measured up since. April's breakfasts are over-the-top phenomenal and delicious - what a great way to start the day. Thank you April for making us feel like friends and for making ourselves and our guests so comfortable in your beautiful home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have stayed here two times so far. For a 2 bedroom suite in a B&B it is wonderful value. April is a wonderful hostess, happy to chat and quick to provide help/service if needed. The hot breakfasts she provided were very good as well. Unlimited access to the washer/dryer was fantastic, especially while travelling with babies/toddlers who are inevitably messy. If travelling with infants and toddlers, she is able to offer booster seats, a playpen (with blankets for baby to sleep in), and a changing area with change pad and cloths.

Cons:
- She has a couple of cats. In the winter time, they are inside. They stay mainly on the main floor/dining area but we caught them upstairs on the 3rd floor as well. I took 24hr Allegra during our stay and my allergies didn't bother me - probably because the room we were in was cat free.
- Sky lights on the top floor, and no window coverings. If you are staying in the summer time, or want to sleep in, you will be blinded by the sun. In the winter the sun isn't too much of a bother. There is no way to cover the windows, so bring an eye mask if you are looking for uninterrupted sleep.

Expect the decor to be dated, and some renovations to be a bit incomplete - its an home over 100 years old and the suites haven't seen major renovations (though they have been working at it).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was picked up by April at the airport, not knowing and what to expect when i arrived at the accommodation. I was here for two nights - one night en route to Churchill and one night enroute Vancouver on my way back to Australia.

It was like walking back in time, to the year 1902. The beautiful large mansion exquisitably decorated. my mind bogled, so old but so warm a wonderland in front of a mirror. I was shown to my room. wow the bed was so big, the bathroom was huge - you could hold a ball and dance in it. Just everything was so inviting. it exceeded my expectations. After the long awaited refreshing and hot hot shower, i thought i would watch TV. Had second thoughts and slept like a log.

At breakfast time, there was so much to choose from and the special entrees on both mornings were yummie. All at a very long table containing the settings which gleamed and twinkled I met another guest from Germany and New Zealand. you could say we had a continental breaky.

I was excited to leave for Churchill by train en route, but i was very very sad to leave en route to Vancouver when the time came to depart, I said my goodbyes to Diamond, Josh, Max the dog and the two cats.

I totally recommend this B & B, it was reasonably priced for the wonderful friendly service which was availed to you.

Room Tip: all rooms have a personality of their own
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We took the train into and out of Winnipeg twice in Oct 2012. April offered to pick us up at the train station, but we opted to walk from the train station to TC, all along the walking/biking path along the Assiniboine river....beautiful trees, riverside and only roughly 1.5 mile...made easy due to our light backpack only lugguages. April accommodated our 1 night stay prior to our train trip to Churchill and longer stay upon our return from Churchill. It is not easy to find B&B would take 1 night stay. All previous descriptions of historical mansion, matured & secluded neighborhood, beautiful & spacious rooms, comfy beds & common areas, marvelous breakfasts are all true. We partcularly like afternoon teas, chocolates and sherry, as well as available washer/dryer for use. So, with all personal services and amenities, the price is right. We did not find problems with lighting in the rooms (we stayed in 2 different rooms, one has a huge balcony) or soft beds. In fact, we felt vert luxurious in beds and slept very well.As to unsafeness around the area, we walked to the forks, the french quarters, the financial area, and the chinatown...we did not feel unsafe though there are some run- down area such as chinatown. However, because TC is a historic structure it needs some maintenance....which reflects nicely throughout the house....just some minor detailings are still needed (caulkings near shower area, windows, overhead lightings). TC is pet friendly (friendly Max and the cats), so if you are allergic to dogs or cats then TC is not for you. During our visits, we met several guests who are repeated and regular guests at TC.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I’d like to think that a B&B is your “home away from home”, and I can honestly say that is always the reception that is given at The Columns by April and her family. My husband and I travel extensively and always stay at B&Bs. When in Winnipeg, without any hesitation, we stay with April. Her home is a little over 100 years old with all the charm and personality of that era. It is situated on the Assiniboine River in one of the oldest, most respected neighbourhoods of Winnipeg. She is surrounded by beautiful flora and trees, architectural history, and great little eclectic shops and restaurants within walking distance. If touring the town is not your desire, there are many interesting books and conversations to intrigue you. The choice is yours to either enjoy the warm and inviting living room or relax and spend your time in the yard and other outdoor living spaces.

The rooms are spacious, clean and wonderfully decorated. The bedding, towels and all the little extras are always fresh and inviting.

Breakfast, in one word, is unbelievable! There is so much variety and all is homemade and wonderfully presented on beautiful china.

April shares her home and heart with us every time we visit Winnipeg and I can’t ask for anything more! Never a disappointment - always too short of a visit.

Room Tip: Henry Moore room has private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

First, the good stuff: The caretaker is a very nice lady, and her family is nice as well. They have a wonderful old house; very Victorian if you like that sort of thing. The rooms are nice and the suite had a great bathroom with soft towels and accouterments galore. The bed was good, with a ton of pillows. It was a bit too soft since the pillow-top mattress had an extra pillow-top on it. I simply removed the extra one and it was fine. The breakfast was decent since she offered a ton of extra side items such as cereal, cheese, bread, smoked salmon, pancakes, etc.

Now the bad stuff: This bed and breakfast is located near a not-so-good area of town. You have to go through there to get to downtown. There was a murder the night before we got there just two kilometers north of us, but overall, Canada's crime rates are low comparatively, so don't worry too much. Second, the windows upstairs do not have curtains, so in the summer in the morning, the sun comes up and you can't sleep because it's so light in the rooms. One would think that window shades are a requirement so the room can stay dark, but neither room we had had any curtains. This made for not getting a good night's rest at all. The house was under repair when we were there, but it wasn't too bad. Finally, the window air conditioner was so loud that it shook the wall when it shut off. This made it difficult to sleep in addition to the light.

So, the breakfast part of the "bed and breakfast" was the best part, but the bed part was definitely not, so half of the entire point of the stay wasn't great. Still, it was better than poor. The cost was a bit expensive as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#3 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#10 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites
Humphry Inn & Suites
#9 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#20 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 stars 707 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Winnipeg
Delta Winnipeg
#17 of 66 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Columns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Columns

Address: 5 East Gate, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C2C2, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Columns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The Columns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Columns Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Columns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.