We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmm...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stella's Cafe on Osborne

Stella's Cafe on Osborne
166 Osborne St, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
204-453-8562
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 1,335 restaurants in Winnipeg
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Bakery, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Mmmm...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

If the wonderful aromas don't get ya when you walk in, the service and food will! Recently expanded, any of the great Stella's Cafes will serve up great food with a warm smile. Reasonably priced, this jewel of Winnipeg will make you want to come back for more! Vegetarian or not, Stella's will satisfy most people.
C'mon! Give it a try!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    115
    84
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Definitely one of the best breakfasts anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Breakfast at Stella's is always a treat! Our usual time is Saturday morning at around 10:30 or 11:00. Yes, it's crowded, and yes, we do have to wait. But it's worth it. You get to stand in line and ponder the possibilities and then, suddenly, it's your turn and you have to decide fast! I always end up having the same thing: cheese omelet with whole grain toast. I love the berry jam as much as anything else on my plate! And they make really good lattes too! It's always plenty to eat, looks great, and is healthy. They're really nice about substitutions and special requests. Also, sit by the outside window. It's fun to enjoy the sun and to watch the outside world go by while you're eating!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Too crowded”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The tables in Stella's are so close together that you feel as though you are dining with strangers. I have found this to be true of other Stella's locations also. I also find it expensive for a breakfast destination. I haven't tried it for lunch or dinner. Count on line-ups to get in also. I can't understand why.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Man. Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Food is consistent, fresh and yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stellas is a great place to go for breakfast or lunch... even dinner as you can get a glass of wine. The portions are generous and there is a fair amt. of variety. The food is always fresh and service friendly.
The only downside is because of the popularity of the restaurant, you may need to wait and it can be quite noisy as it is pretty much always full, especially in the morning, early afternoon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Stella's on Sherbrooke”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were there on a Sunday after a concert. Place was packed. I had the beef chili, which was very good. Vegetable chili came out cold. Fish taco was OK. Service was not great. Server just put everything (including silver) at the end of the table, & expected us to serve ourselves. Although I liked the chili, not sure if I would go back. A pleasant server makes the world of difference.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella's Cafe on Osborne also viewed

 

Been to Stella's Cafe on Osborne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella's Cafe on Osborne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.