We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely one of the best breakfasts anywhere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stella's Cafe on Osborne

Stella's Cafe on Osborne
166 Osborne St, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
204-453-8562
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,390 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Definitely one of the best breakfasts anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Breakfast at Stella's is always a treat! Our usual time is Saturday morning at around 10:30 or 11:00. Yes, it's crowded, and yes, we do have to wait. But it's worth it. You get to stand in line and ponder the possibilities and then, suddenly, it's your turn and you have to decide fast! I always end up having the same thing: cheese omelet with whole grain toast. I love the berry jam as much as anything else on my plate! And they make really good lattes too! It's always plenty to eat, looks great, and is healthy. They're really nice about substitutions and special requests. Also, sit by the outside window. It's fun to enjoy the sun and to watch the outside world go by while you're eating!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    107
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Too crowded”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The tables in Stella's are so close together that you feel as though you are dining with strangers. I have found this to be true of other Stella's locations also. I also find it expensive for a breakfast destination. I haven't tried it for lunch or dinner. Count on line-ups to get in also. I can't understand why.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Man. Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Food is consistent, fresh and yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stellas is a great place to go for breakfast or lunch... even dinner as you can get a glass of wine. The portions are generous and there is a fair amt. of variety. The food is always fresh and service friendly.
The only downside is because of the popularity of the restaurant, you may need to wait and it can be quite noisy as it is pretty much always full, especially in the morning, early afternoon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Stella's on Sherbrooke”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were there on a Sunday after a concert. Place was packed. I had the beef chili, which was very good. Vegetable chili came out cold. Fish taco was OK. Service was not great. Server just put everything (including silver) at the end of the table, & expected us to serve ourselves. Although I liked the chili, not sure if I would go back. A pleasant server makes the world of difference.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forman, North Dakota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I had breakfast at Stella's on a Saturday. It was busy but the waitstaff was not overwhelmed. I ordered the Mexican breakfast. The portion was more than enough, and it was very flavorful. My boyfriend had the pancake breakfast, everything on his plate was wonderful as well. We also ordered some baked goods, all of which I would recommend. This was the best breakfast I had on my vacation in Winnipeg, I would like to try something off the lunch menu on my next visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella's Cafe on Osborne also viewed

 

Been to Stella's Cafe on Osborne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella's Cafe on Osborne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.