We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canad Inns Fort Garry

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Canad Inns Fort Garry to your Saves list
Canad Inns Fort Garry
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1824 Pembina Highway, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2G2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Niverville, Manitoba, CA
1 review
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Everything you need is right there and well cared for. Rooms where very clean and well maintained. Their chefs produce great food and the service is prompt in both the Aaltos and Tavern United. Front desk staff was very helpful and attended to every need. The location is very good for so many things in Winnipeg.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wade B, General Manager at Canad Inns Fort Garry, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Additionally, I will be sure to share your positive feedback with each department you noted! We hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Wade Barkman
Assistant General Manager
Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    34
    12
    9
    18
See reviews for
45
21
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife and I recently spent our 24th Anniversary in the Roman Theme Room. I looked at other theme rooms around the city of Winnipeg and found the ones at the Fort Garry location to be better than others offered at other hotels for the value. There is another Theme hotel in Winnipeg but they are very expensive.

The killer is all the taxes added on to the bill at the end, PST, GST, City Tax. the room was a little expensive but still better than others I have seen.

When we entered the room the room was well presented. (It had the wow factor). It definitely set the stage for the Anniversary weekend. A good size Jacuzzi style tub and king size bed complete with Roman pillars. There was a small microwave, bar fridge and coffee maker and small sink.

I did find it strange that I needed my room key to get ice from the ice machine ???

The next morning at 10am housekeeping knocked on the door and woke my wife and I up, I was not impressed. Especially since we were staying a second night so I would not have expected anyone to knock on the door until the early afternoon. I could see it if I was due to check out at 11am but you would think that housekeeping would have the information if a room was a stay over or not.

Saturday evening everyone must have been filling up their Jacuzzi tub at the same time because HOT WATER was hard to come by. When we heard the room beside us had stopped their water we waited another 15 minutes and then got hot water... however the water did have a yellow tinge to it. (the bottom of the barrel ???)

Sound... you can hear everyone that is walking up and down the hallways... especially the kids and of course everyone stops and comments on the DOOR to the theme room because it is done up in the special theme of the room. It makes you wonder how much people in the hall could hear from the room :(

Overall this is a nice facility and MOST of the staff show a high level of customer service.
there is lots of amenities in the area that makes this a good location.

Room Tip: A room at one of the ENDS of the halls would not have as many people walking past making noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wade B, General Manager at Canad Inns Fort Garry, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are honored that you would choose our hotel to celebrate your 24th anniversary! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do however, apologize for my housekeeping team waking you up on your second day. In order to better serve our guests, it is policy to refresh rooms everyday for guests visiting for several nights. We provide "do not disturb" signs for those who wish to have this service turned down or rescheduled. We should of done a better job informing you!

In regards to your water temperature and quality concern, we just completed installing brand new hot water tanks in our facility. In conjuntion with our maintenance department and general contractors, it was our opinion that our installation strategy would allow for this upgrade to take place without inconveniencing our guests. Unfortunately, we did run low of hot water first thing in the morning, our sincere apologies!

Finally, we have called an immediate meeting with our engineering department in order to address your noise concern. An initial investigation shows a slight gap between the door and the carperting. We will provide a prompt solution and I would be happy to share the outcome with you once a resolution has been implemented. Your profile states that you reside in Winnipeg, so perhaps during a future visit to our property you could send me a quick email outlining your visit and I would be happy to discuss this with you personally!

One behalf of Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry, Happy Anniversary and thank you for visiting!

Wade Barkman
Assistant General Manager
Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry
wbarkman@canadinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Recently spent two nights here an a family matter. We had a suite which consisted of a king bedroom, sitting room, and bathroom. It was on the ground floor near the check in and dining area. It was surprisingly quiet the first night but a little noisy the next as a large family with young children ran up and down the halls until about midnight. The rooms were older, but well maintained. This property is almost a resort as they have a small casino, very large and well patronized buffet, many special events rooms and a dinner theatre. The Friday night seafood buffet was awesome and reasonably priced. We reserved a small meeting room for a light brunch with beer and wine. The food was well done and the servers kept a good eye on it and replaced as needed. Even though the Inn is old and heavily used, the service was excellent and everything was well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wade B, General Manager at Canad Inns Fort Garry, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the pleasant review of our property during your recent stay with us! We take pride in the fact our hotel offers a variety of activities and attractions which can be enjoyed by our visiting guests. Also, thank you for noting your appreciation towards the cleanliness, service and quality of food, I will be sure to pass these comments on to the rest of my team.

On behalf of Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry, we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Wade Barkman
Assistant General Manager
Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Staff very friendly and helpful. Room very clean and very practical like they have fridge, microwave, iron, coffee machine and service was great. Free newspaper. Food at the restaurant was great. We recently had two week stay in Miami Beach hotels which was 4 star at the beach. Compare to this hotel that is lower standard. Canada is doing great. Front desk coordinator name Mahneet went out of her way to help us giving us all the information around town, The best on our last day, hotel drop us at the airport with NO COST. Keep up Canad. Next time I am in Winnipeg I know where to stay. Oh - must mention about the pool and Waterslide. it was the best.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wade B, General Manager at Canad Inns Fort Garry, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry during your recent visit to Winnipeg. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to a future stay with us!

Sincerely,

Wade Barkman
Assistant General Manager
Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the Canada Inn Fort Garry this past Friday where we went to the Celebrations Dinner Theater, which was fun. Our suite was nice, the bed was very comfortable. Newspaper is delivered free to your room. After my morning shower I put on my jewelry, incl earrings and we left the hotel fairly soon after that. At our first stop I realized one earring was missing, so I phoned and talked to Denise at the reception, explaining I had lost an earring, and that it was probably in the hotel. 10 minutes later she called me back, she had my earring at the front desk. I was so happy to get it back and really appreciate the effort put out by staff at that hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wade B, General Manager at Canad Inns Fort Garry, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry, we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! In addition, our current Celebrations show "Friends Reunion" has received positive reviews, I'm glad you were entertained there as well. But most importantly, I'm pleased that Denise could assist in finding your lost jewlery. We will be sure to recognize Denise for her efforts internally as well.

Please stop in to visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Wade Barkman
Assistant General Manager
Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINNIPEG
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I recently celebrated our anniversary at Canad Inns Fort Garry with a quick overnight get away. The suite we booked into was clean and well appointed with a relaxing king sized bed. When my husband booked he told the staff it was our anniversary and when we arrived at our room there was a lovely small fruit basket and card. Thank you to Canad Inns and staff for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wade B, General Manager at Canad Inns Fort Garry, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you Patricia for your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. On behalf of our entire team at Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry, Happy Anniversary! We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Wade Barkman
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great location, centralized to get to the malls quickly and effortlessly, but the front desk staff could be friendlier which would go a long way in their customer service area. Clean rooms, great waterpark for the kids (small and noisy). Celebrations Dinner Theatre is right inside the hotel where the put on great performances and their bartender there is amazing! That's what customer service should be like.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wade B, General Manager at Canad Inns Fort Garry, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for submitting your review in regards to your recent stay with Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry. We are pleased that your found our location convenient, rooms comfortable and the hotel entertaining. I do however, regret that you did not find one of our front desk associates helpful during your stay. I often have the pleasure of receiving great guest feedback about this departments team and willingness to assist with every request. I do appreciate your comments about our dinner theatre bartenders, we will ensure that your comments reach them!

Sincerely,

Wade Barkman
Assistant General Manager
Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Canad Inns Fort Garry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canad Inns Fort Garry

Address: 1824 Pembina Highway, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2G2, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Winnipeg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Canad Inns Fort Garry 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canad Inns are Destination Centres that feature the finest in accommodation, food and beverage, entertainment, banquet and conference facilities, and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Canad Inns Fort Garry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canad Hotel Winnipeg
Canad Inns Fort Garry Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canad Inns Fort Garry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.