We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canad Inns Fort Garry

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Canad Inns Fort Garry to your Saves list
Canad Inns Fort Garry
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1824 Pembina Highway, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2G2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed a few nights at the end of February...Rooms were clean and spacious...bathrooms were sparkling clean as well. Restaurant on site was good. There is a very cheap breakfast special every morning.

There is a roadhouse type bar attached to the hotel. Good selection of food and drink at reasonable prices.

There is also a dinner-theater within the hotel complex and conference rooms for business activities.

The hotel is a short drive to downtown. It is surrounded by lots of different restaurants and there is a shopping mall a few minutes away.

Good value and worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wade B, General Manager at Canad Inns Fort Garry, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your satisfaction of your recent stay at Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry! We are pleased that you had an opportunity to visit several of our outlets, including AALTOS Garden Cafe, Tavern United Pub, and Celebrations Dinner Theatre. Additionally, we have a waterpark and gaming lounge. Directly next door, we house several other Canad Inns operated facilities, including Playmakers, Garbonzo's Pizza, and AREA Nightclub. We are fortunate to have a variety of in-house entertainment for our guests to visit when spending the night or leaving our banquet and conference centre. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Wade Barkman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    28
    11
    6
    16
See reviews for
36
20
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We booked our daughters 9th birthday here and everything was fantastic! The staff were great, the kids had a blast in the pool area and to top it off we had an hour limo ride and the girls felt like celebrity's.I would recommend spending a little extra for the limo ride after wards.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wade B, General Manager at Canad Inns Fort Garry, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry to host your daughters 9th birthday! Our pool party program has been a very popular birthday activity "alternative", providing lunch or dinner, and access to Splasher's Waterpark. On behalf of our team, we thank you for allowing us to assist in making her birthday special!

Sincerely,

Wade Barkman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Great place. Everyone, including the restaraunt staff seemed to be having a good time. I came with my friend and our 2 kids. The kids had such a great time in the pool & during their " sleep -over". My girlfriend and I enjoy the pool & a little " big- kid" time later that night in Playmakers. We all really enjoyed our stay.
The only down fall was the price of the Sunday Brunch for 2 adults and 2kids. Yikes!! It was pretty good though, felt the price was just a bit outrageous also considering it did not even include a drink.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wade B, General Manager at Canad Inns Fort Garry, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments regarding your recent stay with Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry! We are proud to have a team that is so committed to ensuring guest satisfaction. I am particularly pleased, that in return it translates into a fun and positive hotel culture. We look forward to another opportunity to host your family and friends in the near future!

Sincerely,

Wade Barkman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Be warned that if you stay at this hotel you need to be aware that the upgraded rooms are fabulous but if you land up in one of the old rooms you will be sorry you ever chose this hotel! I had stayed here before and really enjoyed the hotel - however I was shocked at the room I got on this trip -I arrived and was exhausted - the twin queen beds were lumpy - the bed springs on the one bed made me glad I was on my own as I could sleep in the other - not a great night. The carpet is old and stained - the tiles in the bathroom look awful - old stained and missing grout - (Take note that this is Not a cleaning issue -the rooms are just old and abused!
I pity the cleaning staff working in these rooms)
I was going to book out but decided to call the front desk - Denise could not have been a better ambassador - the staff moved me and could not have been more professional.
I write this so whoever owns this hotel can take note that upgrades are needed - but you must know this already!

Room Tip: Only stay in the upgraded rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wade B, General Manager at Canad Inns Fort Garry, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I regret that your initial impression of our guest rooms did not meet your expectations. Your concerns were immediately investigated after vacating your room. However, I am pleased my Guest Service Agents were able to quickly amend your concerns and promptly provide you with another room. Canad Inns recognizes the importance of regular inspections and product maintenance to ensure we stay current in the hospitality industry. Over the past few years, we have facilitated many large renovations across the hotel including our banquet facilities, guest rooms, and common areas. We will continue to remodel our facility as opportunities arise to better serve our guests.

Best Regards,

Wade Barkman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We came here for a school trip and have stayed in a different Canad Inns before and had a great stay so we were happy to be staying there. But this hotel is not to be rated any where near as good as the other one! When we arrived and checked in the staff were helpful, and we were given rooms on the second floor, so naturally we went to the elevator. There was 9 of us and we all piled in to the elevator it was a bit tight, but it should of only been a few second ride so we weren`t worried. Well, the two second ride never happend, it turned out to be a 45 minute ride that ended up in us walking up the stairs instead! When we got in the elevator and pressed the second floor button it suddenly lurched down and stopped. We pressed the second floor button again to no avail. We kept pressing the button for a few seconds for another few minutes so we pressed the emergency button we tried to press the open door button on the instruction of the elevator company. So then we called the front desk, we told them we were stuck in the elevator, she said she knew and other than that didn`t seem that bothered. She said the technician would be 10 minutes so after 20 minutes we called again she still didn`t seem bothered! then after another 5, we called again and said we wanted updates- regularly. Then the manager called and asked me how I was in a bright bubbly tone! When I expressed my concern she giggled on the end of the phone! She said the Technician would be ten minutes away. So then 10 minutes the technician opened the door! After we had used the STAIRS to get to our rooms we went to the front desk and still they didn`t seem bothered! The receptionist even told us this thing had happened before!
Now when we have a choice to use Elevators or Stairs we choose the Stairs!!!!
and also when we got to our rooms our keys wouldn`t work.
In My room only when my daughter sat on the bed it went sideways and then we heard something snap and then the bed would move like a see-saw whenever and whereever you sat on it.
It was a very bad experience for us and the school trip.
There was a total lack of customer care here for our stay and terrible experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had a gorgeous room, very clean and quite roomy the way it was set up. We were attending Celebrations Dinner Theater for New Years Eve and decided to stay over night to be off the streets away from the crazy drunks out there. Check in was quick and efficient, even though it was super busy.

Before leaving to got to the show, the people above us were stomping around their room like a herd of wild elephants. We thought, well, we are leaving soon and by the time we get back, hopefully, they will be in bed for the night. Which they were. But, everyone else was not. All night long, all we heard were people up and down the halls, kids running down the halls at 3 am, people talking very loudly down the halls and doors slamming all night. It was frustrating to say the least to not get any sleep at all, and especially since it was 190 bucks for the night.

When we checked out, we was waiting for the girl at the front desk to ask us how our stay was....and she did not. So, we assume it was because we were not the only ones annoyed by the annoying noises all night. I would imagine they got a lot of complaints. But, how can you complain when you have no clue who it is making the noise?

It is too bad our night there was NOT at all relaxing, but at least we finally got some rest when we came home.

Perhaps some sound proofing is needed, as well as a notice posted in all rooms that you are NOT the only ones in the hotel, and to NOT let the doors slam shut.

As well, just after check in, we decided to go to Aaltos to grab a little snack before dinner since it was going to be around 8 pm for dinner. We went to the front counter, ordered ONE order of fries and it took twenty minutes to get them. While we were waiting, people were calling, looking for their room service orders. One person was told their pizza was on the way up....about 15 minutes later, they FINALLY took it up. For what they charge for room service delivery and the food itself, they could be a bit quicker to get the food up to the person ordering. And it was not at all busy in the restaurant at the time of the day.

Room Tip: I'd say a room elsewhere would be better and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wade B, General Manager at Canad Inns Fort Garry, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Darb H,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay on New Year's Eve at Canad Inns Fort Garry. Though I'm pleased you found our guest room product beautiful, I regret your entire experience was not as enjoyable. Our team takes many precautions on NYE to ensure a positive guest experience, including increased staff levels, additional evening duty management as well as guest surveys upon booking to deter possible post NYE gatherings at the hotel. In spite of our efforts, we apologize that we failed to meet your expectations.

Your comments are appreciated and have been used for training discussions across the hotel, and will be reviewed again as we approach December 31st/2013.

Best Regards,

Wade Barkman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We had an excellent stay at the Canad Inns Fort Gary.we had a king suite, which is a very beautiful room. We had a couple night out package so we enjoyed the gift card , the champagne and the dinner theatre was a great time. What a great night ! Thank you Canad Inns . My hubby and I were both very pleased to have the gal from the front desk call and welcome us to the hotel. What a nice way to start our night. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wade B, General Manager at Canad Inns Fort Garry, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with Canad Inns Destination Center Fort Garry! Our couples night out package is a perfect opportunity to get away and enjoy an evening at our hotel. The dinner theatre continues to be a popular attraction and a great addition to the number of activities our guests can enjoy while visiting.

We hope to see you again next time you need a mini-vacation!

Yours Truly,

Wade Barkman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Canad Inns Fort Garry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canad Inns Fort Garry

Address: 1824 Pembina Highway, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2G2, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canad Inns Fort Garry 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Canad Inns Fort Garry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canad Hotel Winnipeg
Canad Inns Fort Garry Winnipeg, Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canad Inns Fort Garry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;