We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice big rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aurora Inn to your Saves list
Aurora Inn
P.O. Box 1030, Churchill, Manitoba R0B OEO, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Churchill B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice big rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at the Aurora Inn at the end of October it was like a condo.
We had two separate double beds and tvs one upstairs and one on lower lever. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Close to everything.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    19
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
6
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Avondale, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Spacious rooms, super clean. We stayed there 4 nights and really enjoyed the facilities. The only thing I'd caution a traveler about is that most of the rooms are two floors. The bedroom and wash room is upstairs. Downstairs has a kitchen and living room. The problem was having to run upstairs every time you need to use the bathroom. Very inconvenient. Also, if you're having any problems with stairs I would highly recommend requesting one of the single floor units.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I went to Churchill with the hopes of seeing the Northern Lights. While that didn't happen, I was pleasantly pleased with the large 2 story suite, complete with a basic kitchen. The loft had 2 queen sized beds a large closet and the newly remodeled bathroom. The downside of the stay was the dog in the suite next door. We were woken up by the dogs constant barking, and after complaining at the desk, were told the owners were out to dinner, and it wouldn't happen during the night, and it didn't. The owners were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Bottom line is, the further north you go, the less you get and the more you pay. This a very basic two-star motel style set-up. You wouldn't pay that much for a place like this down south, but then they have to cover their pricey northern overheads, which means you do too! It is what it is and all of the places here are pretty similar. I do question the sanity of loft bedrooms in this climate, though. Given that hot air rises, if the living area below is at a comfortable level, the bedroom is like a sauna (even in the dead of winter!). I mean it is unbearably hot! I had a choice: turn the heat right down so it was eventually bearable upstairs or sleep on the couch. I chose the latter as I was too tired to wait for the temp to change. Also, the walls are paper-tin; you can hear every conversation in the hallway (not great while you trying to get to sleep). There's no one on duty at night (or doesn't seem to be) so if there's a diturbance or other issue, you're out of luck. This is a no-frills place. Just somewhere to hang your hat while you get ready to go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Go for a place that has singe-story rooms and therefore even temperatures in the rooms. I stayed at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graton, CA
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I've dreamed of seeing the aurora borealis since I was a kid, but have only seriously worked at putting together an "aurora safari" in the last few years owing to...well, life in general. The Solar Maximum of 2012/2013 really got us going in earnest, as it's been stimulating fabulous aurora displays (at least according to they who've been lucky enough to see them) and it will be another 16 or 17 years before the sun goes through another cycle like this. Of half a dozen very northerly spots, we chose Churchill for many reasons, and of the town's available hostelries we felt someplace called "The Aurora Inn" was a natural.

In a nutshell, we never saw the aurora though we certainly gave it a good shot, but we weren't sorry to have stayed at this nice "suite hotel." The room was quite large --two stories!-- with plenty of space for the whole family upstairs and a living room and fully equipped kitchen downstairs, so we mostly cooked meals for ourselves instead of eating out. It was cozy and warm even when the temperature outside was below zero, and had the lucky bonus of a northerly window so we could scan the heavens every hour or two all night long without having to suit up and dash outside. The beds were quite comfy and we slept well -- though mostly during daylight hours!

The proprietor, Gavin, was a nice chap who gave us rides around town when he could, introduced us to other Churchilians, and was generally available for whatever we needed. A younger girl at the front desk, Danielle, was also unfailingly helpful and cheery, with a lively and charming little boy who, though not even two years old, made a serious effort to help me with our suitcases on our day of departure.

The hotel appears tidy and well run, with daily housekeeping if you want it as well as a laundry service, handy when you only have a few days' worth of clothing in your suitcase. There were a few slightly rough corners --the remote control on the flat-screen TV/disc player was a bit eccentric, the kitchen's selection of pots & pans was somewhat curious, some of the bathroom grout & tile was in need of minor repair-- but it never really bothered us. The hot water was plentiful, everything worked, and we were left to ourselves when we wanted privacy. The hotel is only a short walk from the train station, and easily accessible even in a mild snowstorm with multiple suitcases in tow.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
215 hotel reviews
Reviews in 197 cities Reviews in 197 cities
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I came back to this hotel again, after having had a very pleasant stay here during the Christmas 2010 holidays.

This is a "all-suite" hotel - all the rooms are two-level suites, with a kitchen, living room, and a very large bedroom and bathroom upstairs, overlooking the lower level. I believe that the building was originally built to be one bedroom apartments, but was later adapted to be a hotel.

This hotel is quiet - it is just far enough off the main roadway (about 100 meters) that you don't hear traffic, but close enough to the principal restaurant in town to allow you to walk there in about 5 to 7 minutes.

The owner is very gracious and helpful, no problems with late arrivals, early checkouts, etc.

The suites are clean and well maintained. Wireless internet is free, and surprisingly fast for a remote community.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed at the Aurora Inn for one night before heading further north. It was perfect for a one night stay. We had our 6 year old daughter with us.
Plenty of room for us all to sleep, with the rooms being split over two levels. Decor is much like the rest of Churchill - frozen in it's own charming world.
There's no food served here so you walk down the road to one of a few establishments. Gypsys cafe particularly recommended for breakfast. Omelettes and pancakes were very fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aurora Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Inn

Address: P.O. Box 1030, Churchill, Manitoba R0B OEO, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Churchill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Churchill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aurora Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Inn Churchill, Canada - Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.