We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean, comfy.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tundra Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tundra Inn to your Saves list
Tundra Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   34 Franklin St, Churchill, Manitoba R0B 0E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Churchill
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good, clean, comfy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Clean and spacious. nothing particularly luxurous - but thats not why you're in Churchill. This is a good place to stay - room is large with a fridge and wifi. Decent bathroom. You can get breakfast across the road (a few feet away). Staff were helpful. Would be happy to stay here again. Its a good basic, sold place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    29
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
23
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

What a wonderful experience. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are extremely clean and well lit. Also, the lobby is nicely furnished and cozy with a computer terminal whereas the Wifi is very weak in the rooms. I definitely would recommend the Tundra Inn to all of my friends.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tundra12, Communications & Marketing Coordinator at Tundra Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your Trip Advisor review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Tundra Inn and hope to see you again in Churchill in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Tundra Inn Hostel is a cheap alternative to the hotels in Churchill. Very clean hostel and bathroom. The kitchen is good equiped. Nice social area. The staff is very friendly and helps with all kind of problems.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tundra12, Communications & Marketing Coordinator at Tundra Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent Trip Advisor review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Tundra Inn and hope to see you in Churchill again in the future!

Sincerely,
The Tundra Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

What a great place to stay! My girlfriend and I just returned and felt like we were leaving home. The room was huge and so where the hearts of the people. I have never come across a place where they were willing to lend us their van to go and tour outside of town. Not only that but we were allowed to keep our room until the train left.

People asked me why would I want to go to Churchill and the Tundra Inn and all of Churchill is why my next response is Why wouldn't anyone not want to go to Churchill.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tundra12, Communications & Marketing Coordinator at Tundra Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent Trip Advisor review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Tundra Inn and hope to see you in Churchill again in the future!

Sincerely,
The Tundra Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stillwater
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband, daughter and I just returned from a three day stay at the Tundra Inn. We did not know what to expect especially after our motel experience in Thompson, Manitoba. What a pleasant surprise to arrive to a clean, comfortable room with such friendly, accommodating staff. The Tundra Inn van was waiting for us at the train station with a wonderful, kind employee with a great smile! She took all our heavy packs to the Inn as we chose to walk (to stretch our muscles after an 17 hour train ride). We were able to get into our room right away (11:00 a.m.) and also had access to our room on our day of departure until 6:30 p.m.. The staff was incredibly accommodating. With the high price of food in Canada, we also enjoyed the complimentary breakfast of cereal, toast, yogurt, juice-plenty of food!!! We also LOVED the Tundra restaurant across the street. The Borealis Burger was simply delicious. The service was friendly and the staff took the time to talk about some of the local sites. We enjoyed the experience so much we returned for a second meal before we boarded the train. All in all, simply a wonderful experience. The Tundra Inn is without a doubt a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Room on the main floor was quiet and quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tundra12, Communications & Marketing Coordinator at Tundra Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your Trip Advisor review (and I apologize for the delay in responding)! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Tundra Inn (and that you tried our borealis burger and loved it as much as we do!) and hope to see you in Churchill again in the future!

Sincerely,
The Tundra Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attawapiskat, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My wife and I are in Churchill for business, while waiting for our home to be ready we stayed at the Tundra Inn. The staff were not only friendly but the go out of their way to make this hotel feel like a home for you. There is bread and breakfast food left out for the taking in a little kitchenette, they clean the rooms everyday around our schedule; somedays we did not leave the room before they were ready clean but later when we returned it was clean!!

Loved our stay !!! But now we have a house here but if come to churchill stay there!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Twice in as many years we've stayed at the Tundra and have been immensely impressed each time. They are extremly accommodating and friendly. Incredibly friendly.

Our band has come up to play at Bear Fest for the last two years and Belinda and Parker have made our stay as wonderful as possible. Their employees are always friendly and helpful. Many thanks to Robyn, and Erica as well. You make us look forward to coming back!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tundra Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tundra Inn

Address: 34 Franklin St, Churchill, Manitoba R0B 0E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Churchill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Churchill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tundra Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the sub-arctic coastal town of Churchill, Manitoba, home to Polar Bears, Beluga Whales and spectacular Northern Lights. The Tundra Inn is a cozy, family-run hotel that provides comfortable, spacious accomodations that are infused with small town charm. Located on a quiet side street, the Tundra Inn offers a peaceful atmospehere that is convenient to Churchill amenities - including the Tundra Inn Pub & Restaurant, located directly acres the street. The Tundra Inn Restaurant & Pub offers hearty and wholesome pub-style food with a Canadian-Arctic twist. Swap stories with locals and other travelers while you relax with a pint in the pub. Or enjoy our delicious regional cuisine in the comfort of our rustic dining room. Our warm and friendly staff look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Tundra Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tundra Hotel Churchill
Tundra Inn Churchill, Canada - Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tundra Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.