We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic welcome to Churchill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluesky Bed & Sled

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Churchill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bluesky Bed & Sled
Save
You added Bluesky Bed & Sled to your Saves list
100 Button Street, Churchill, Manitoba, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Churchill B&B and Inns
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic welcome to Churchill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We went to Churchill to see the polar bears and dog sled. We were welcomed by Jen, Gerald,Tina,Nathan,Amy and Aaron. What a fabulous place to stay. It's homely warm and welcoming. Everywhere is easy walking distance as Churchill isn't that big. The breakfasts at Bluesky are amazing. Jen served up yoghurt with hand picked wild cranberries and homemade granola. Yummy. This was followed by something different everyday, sausage, bacon, eggs and toast and homemade preserves or wild rice and eggs. We were lucky enough to have an evening meal there of moose. This was a first for us and we really enjoyed it. Nothing is too much trouble for Jen and Gerald. We were lucky enough to go dog sledding with Gerald. He truly loves the dogs and they have a no cull policy. This is unusual but an ethical one. We had a fabulous time and our only regret is we couldn't do another. Gerald runs Bluesky expeditions for the sledding. We'd definitely recommend this to anyone. It was fabulous and a holiday to remember. We missed the Aurora Borealis by one night. This gives us an excuse to return again and maybe see the beluga whales.
We saw approximately 15 polar bears on our trip with Tundra Buggy. We booked with Frontiers North and they were really helpful.
Whilst you're there heed the advice given. Polar bears do wander into town. Be careful and be bear aware and you'll have a wonderful time where the memories last a lifetime.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
24
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We arrived in Churchill on Aug 6, 2013 to see the belugas and the sled dogs. What did we see and do ... saw 6 polar bears, kayaked with the belugas, went for a sled ride with huskies, saw the northern lights and brought home a big bag of wild berries which we picked from the tundra. This is THE place to stay and you can walk anywhere in town within 10 minutes. Jen and Gerald are great hosts, made the most delicious breakfasts ever. With the northern lights, Jen took a group out, she is so passionate and patient, helping people figure out their cameras and how to take pictures of the lights, she even took pics of us and gave us copies of everything. What a memorable mother daughter experience, we will never forget it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnedosa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

B & Bs are not our usual first choice while travelling, but our stay here will likely change our focus and encourage us to enjoy this kind of hospitality again and again. From Jenafor's fantastic "made-to-order" breakfasts to Gerald's tremendous knowledge of the Churchill area and its many wonders, we were treated to a warm family atmosphere and met some amazing new friends. Thanks for letting us be a part of your very busy lives. This was not our last visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I had a great stay at the Bluesky Bed & Sled! Jenafor & Gerald are kind, helpful and fun people who made my trip that much better. The breakfasts are amazing, fresh and yummy and the house is cozy and cute. I loved all of the artwork and decorations throughout the house. I would highly recommend others to stay here and obviously try out the dog sledding/carting :) The house is close to all of the restaurants and gift shops. I can't wait to stay here on my next trip to Churchill.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Yes, I returned in the SUMMERTIME. This time spent with my friends Gerald and Jenafor. I was made ever so welcome again. I am going to admit that SUMMERTIME IN CHURCHILL is an underrated vacation. The weather was sunny, and warm. Coming from Australia, this is the place to go and stay in Churchill in the summertime. been here in the other seasons, not comparable. I am coming back in the SUMMER.
I went for quad rides here and there, seeing places that do exist under the snow in the winter, the search for summer polar bears, yes I said polar bears, they were here and it is SUMMERTIME - forget Winter - Now back to the B and B. I met EJ from South Korea and of course all the doggies. Went for dog sled rides, yes without snow, do not laugh, just as exhilarating if not more exciting than in the snow. Not to say the doggies minded they were raring to go before we even got there, you could hear them but could not see them. The willows even had leaves on (not seen before in the winter). Staying at this wonderful BED and BREAKFAST is the most. I will tell all that the breakfasts were unexpectedly different, believe me, see for yourself, but visit in Summer season, for a change. you will see more and do more (belugas everywhere) than you would in the winter. I have already booked my stay in the summertime for next year. ps the prices are very very reasonable, more reasonable than in the winter and you still see - bears. I am repeating myself, an Australian and now prefer Churchill after this wonderful experience. who cares. LOVE THEIR SUMMERTIME

Room Tip: What can I say, your stay at Blue Sky Bed and Sled will be memorable stay, all rooms are quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teulon, Manitoba
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We spent a week at the Bluesky Bed and Sled in Churchill, Manitoba, and are already planning our next trip back there. As soon as we walked through the doors, it was like being at home. The home is decorated with pictures, wall hangings, carvings all depicting the heritage and environment of Churchill and of Gerald and Jenafor. The breakfasts were magnificent and our mouths just watered for whatever gourmet plate would be coming our way. The icing on the cake was the dog sled ride, which gave us a feeling of euphoria to the extreme. Polite, knowledgeable, helpful, and truly personable would sum up the host/dog sled musher and the hostesss. The only place that we would stay in Churchill. Top billing. If they offer warm parkas, take the offer. The snorkel hood with fur really keeps out the wind.
Bruce and Ruth Carter

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful, the one middle room is a bit smaller, but has everything needed and is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchill, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

i think I gained five pounds with all the great homemade food, and it is filling and healthy and delicious. Hope a cookbook is on the way! Jen and Gerald the owners are superior hosts and make sure your day is filled with things to do like dog sledding, seeing the notrthern lights, and what to do in town.They make sure you are bundled up, and warm enough so you can enjoy the experience of the lights, dog sledding and nature. Besides being a great cook, Jen is a wonderful photographer and is journaling your stay in pics. Make sure to bring a flash (thumb) drive to take your pics with you. It is hard to buy fresh produce, so make sure you bring your own fresh food too. Enough for everyone is a good idea. Gerald is an excellent outdoor guide, As well as pointing out the wildlife, if you ask he will explain the environment and life in Churchill. If you like remote places, you can't find nicer people to be with then Jen and Gerald, and the people of Churchill!

When we arrived another couple was just leaving with an adopted sled dog which just retired. I feel like we were adopted into the Churchill life, and this won't happen if you pick October or November for your trip, as the town is over run with crazy tourist. Just a warning. We are planning a summer trip to see the bears.

Room Tip: It is a family home, all the bedrooms are good. Most of your time is spent in common rooms or out in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluesky Bed & Sled? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluesky Bed & Sled

Address: 100 Button Street, Churchill, Manitoba, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Churchill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Churchill
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World renowned Musher Gerald Azure owns and operates this coveniently located B&B on the edge of the Tundra within the Town of Churchill. Breakfast include fresh ground Manitoba wheat and tundra berries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bluesky Bed & Sled Churchill, Canada - Manitoba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluesky Bed & Sled, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.