We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Applebee's

Applebee's
1204 18th St, Brandon, Manitoba R7A 5C3, Canada
204.727.3019
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 116 restaurants in Brandon
Restaurant details
Unionville, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had a large group and they found us a nice spot and were good to the kids. Food was great. Close walking distance to the CanadInn and Keystone Center.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    10
    17
    6
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“How's your food?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The food was okay, but our server would come back every 5-10 minutes to check on something. Was there with a business client late at night, and she would ask everything she could - we just wanted her to go away. Besides that it was great, try the dessert shots!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haliburton, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good tasting food but not for the health-conscious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have eaten at this Applebee's a few times. There is a nice variety of flavours that come together in this one restaurant. Some of the southwest food is a nice treat that is not easy to find elsewhere. The place is always busy so I guess that implies that people like it. The atmosphere is upbeat but the service can be very slow if it's busy.

While waiting for our orders to come my son pulled out his smart phone and looked up the nutrition information for the meals we had ordered. WOW, if most of us knew what we were eating. Many of the meals exceeded the total daily allowance of sodium, calories and fat! That doesn't stop me from eating there once in awhile but be aware that the food can be extremely calorie-laden.

Most dishes served to our table were enjoyed and found to be excellent. But personally I was disappointed in the ribs, a house specialty. I have had ribs at other Applebee's, mainly in the southern U.S., and I found that the ones served here were inferior - smaller, tougher and with less flavour. Maybe that was a one-time issue.

Another oddity about Applebee's - the serving staff never seem to know what the exact price of the alcoholic drinks is. I had answers like "it should be around $6.00" or "I'm not sure, I would have to go and check". I don't know what's with that but the menus are not clear about price and the servers are less so.

None-the-less, Applebee's offers a menu and atmosphere that sometimes hits the mark and I will continue to go there when the mood strikes. The prices are quite reasonable, especially if you can order from the limited 2-for-$25 menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have been to Applebee's in other cities and it was always good but Brandon's location wasn't up to par, the food was cold and the service was, well there was no service and when the waitress did come by she was wearing dirty cloths that looked like they hadn't been washed in a while.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very friendly staff and food was great tasting. Portions could be a little larger.restaurant was extremely busy but got seat quickly and food was served shortly thereafter

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Applebee's also viewed

 

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applebee's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.