We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Planning a trip to the Whiteshell? Look no further than Pinewood Lodge...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pinewood Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manitoba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pinewood Lodge
Save
You added Pinewood Lodge to your Saves list
Block 2, Lot A | Dorothy Lake, Whiteshell Provincial Park, Manitoba R0E 1Y0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Planning a trip to the Whiteshell? Look no further than Pinewood Lodge...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

For the past 10 years, Pinewood has been my destination of choice whenever I've been fortunate enough to leave the city and enjoy a relaxing getaway in the Whiteshell. Ten years later, I can honestly say that I have yet to find another resort in the area that offers familes & couples alike such a perfect combination of beautiful scenery and accomodations that are sure to exceed ones expectations. The staff at the lodge are warm and accomodating, and go out of their way to ensure that each and every guest has everything that they need in order to enjoy their stay to the very fullest. Whether you left your ketchup at home on the kithcen counter, or you're unsure as to which hiking trail offers the best scenery, Raquel and the staff are always more than happy to assist. As for the accomodations, both the chalets and the hotel suites are always very clean, cozy and welcoming, and the personal touches that are included are sure to make you feel very much at home. During our recent stay over the New Year's Eve weekend, we were pleasantly surprised to find a fully decorated Christmas tree inside of our chalet along with some other pretty decorations. If that wasn't enough, all of the guests were also treated to an amazing fireworks display at midnight out by the pond on New Year's Eve. It's the thoughtful little touches such as these that put Pinewood a "step above the rest". If you are searching or the perfect "getaway from the everyday", you need look no further...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations0370, Owner at Pinewood Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your compliments! We have always strived to welcome our guests as though they were family coming for a visit.....need a little bit of ketchup? No worries - we have some! Thank you once again - see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
23
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northwestern Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We first stayed at Pinewood in Jan. 2012 for a get-together with our extended family. Our kids talked so much about the fun they had, that we decided to book a post-Christmas stay as a surprise. We had a great time again. This year we were in an executive spa suite and with five of us it worth the expense for the extra space and full kitchen. We brought food for meals, but had dinner from the room service menu twice and everything was very good. The store is well-stocked and we really didn't have to pack as much as we thought. We enjoyed the pool, sliding hill, and skating rink. Each of our kids, ages 10, 5, and 3, had fun and Pinewood is an easy place to be with little ones. Going to the pool or for breakfast, or any of it, isn't a big excursion which is such a plus when you have little ones. Most people even go the breakfast room in their p.j.'s. We have told several friends about Pinewood and will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: It was worth the extra money for the executive suite. For a family of five, the extra space and ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations0370, Owner at Pinewood Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review! As we have 3 children of our own that have grown up here, we try to make it welcoming and fun for all ages! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Me and my wife like to get a cabin every year for our anniversary. This year it was Chalet #3 at Pinewood Lodge.The afternoon we arrived was very windy and the waves were crashing on the shore. It was an amazing way to start the getaway. A short boardwalk trail led us to the cabin that is located right in front of beautiful Lake Dorothy. Two bedrooms, one on the main floor which serves as the guest room and up a gorgeous tree spiral staircase is a loft with a small tv and two person jet tub. The chalet also has a steam shower, faux gas fireplace, 32" plasma in the living room, stereo, doors that lead to a deck that faces the lake with a BBQ. Everything was very clean and inviting. The first morning we woke up to a heavy fog on the lake which you can see from your bed upstairs thanks to the tall windows on the lakeside of the cabin. It was quite breathtaking. The lodge is right across the street so if you need anything, they have a store there that has basically anything you might have forgotten including movie rentals. Access to the Lodge pool was a nice touch. It's a small pool but the area is nice. There's also a hot tub and sauna as well as an exercise room upstairs. Whiteshell itself is an amazing place. It's huge and the things to do are endless. We enjoy camping in Whiteshell almost every year but the Pinewood Lodge is a nice treat! The only thing that would have made the stay better is if the fireplace was real.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations0370, Owner at Pinewood Lodge, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to mention us on Trip Advisor, and especially for the positive comments. We really appreciated having you stay with us and hope you'll be able to return to rejuvenate the soul very soon!
Raquel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We loved the Pinewood Lodge! We visited the Whiteshell from Minnesota. Before we chose the Pinewood Lodge we researched different lodges & cabins in the Whiteshell online. We decided that Pinewood looked the best online... and we were right!

We were greeted with a warm smile from the owner. She gave us suggestions of what to do and see while staying in the Whiteshell, and told us some of the best spots to check out. Not only was the staff incredibly friendly and helpful, but the Lodge itself was beautiful! The pinewood decor made the Lodge feel rustic but it had all the amenities we needed for a 3-day stay. Our room was very clean and having a small kitchenette was great. There was a store with everything you could need, including groceries, and they offered a lot of conveniences for their guests, such as grills, kayaks and canoes. Plus, the continental breakfast was very generous!

We would absolutely recommend this place to anyone that visits Whiteshell Provincial Park!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations0370, Owner at Pinewood Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your compliments and encouraging words! We enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

In transition between two grey, dirty, noisy Middle Eastern megacities, my soul needed a refresher w/o having to plan too much or travel too far. Pinewood was perfect for that: 90 minutes from Winnipeg, and easy to find, but in a location that was beautiful and VERY well taken care of. Our midweek getaway was very quiet and private....the large jacuzzi and fireplace in the suite made it romantic as well. We loved the BBQ on the deck outside our room and the picnic tables there as well. I spent some happy hours reading with the breeze rustling the trees beside me...felt almost like I was in a treefort! Wasn't sure how much 'stuff' I needed to transport to Pinewood but the suites have everything you need, just bring your food....I was tickled by the small bottle of dish-washing detergent under the kitchen sink! It's that attention to detail that made our stay VERY relaxing. The deer frolicking around the edge of the property were so sweet and the dock area is very nice. We'd come back again...and bring our friends and family!

Room Tip: We had room 208 and loved having the second floor away from the pool area...very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations0370, Owner at Pinewood Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We are honoured that you chose to stay with us amidst your world wide travels. It is great to receive compliments on the little things that we do. We hope those little things make us stand apart from the rest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, MB
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

During the weekend of April 13-14-15, 2012 I was a guest at Pinewood Lodge for a weekend of respite and relaxation. From the moment I checked in at the desk I was made to feel welcome by Raquel. Having reserved a deluxe spa suite I obviously expected nice accomodations. These expectations were certainly more than satisfied. The suite consisted of a bedroom area with a huge and very comfortable king-size bed, a kitchenette including fridge and micowave, a sitting room area with a comfortable couch as well as table and chairs, a very clean bathroom including a wonderful rain-shower and a huge fabulous Jacuzzi. Although I am tall I could comfortably stretch out in the Jacuzzin with water up to my neck:) The suite featured two relevisions as well as a DVD player and the use of a barbecue on the balcony. The cleanliness of the lodge is outstanding and the friendliness of all staff makes one feel at home.
The complimentary continental breakfast in the morning features the standard items such as cereals, toast, waffles, juices, yoghurt, condiments and good coffee and tea.
The weather during my stay was unfortunately not that great, yet the ambience of Pinewood Lodge which includes a gym and a wonderful salt-water pool provided plenty of activity during the period it rained.
Although the lodge does not have a restaurant it does offer room-service. During my stay I ordered a tenderloin steak dinner which arrived promptly at the arranged time and was of terrific quality.
The location of the lodge is on Dorothy Lake in the Whiteshell area of Manitoba, a gorgeous rugged area on the Canadian Shield with numerous lakes and hiking or biking trails. The lodge makes boats available to its guests for use on Dorothy Lake.
During my weekend stay I experienced great service and a friendliness which unfortunately is not common anymore these days.
Pinewood Lodge is not just another franchise location of a large corporation. The owners build the lodge, and live at the property, and the pride they have in their place is reflected in the condition of the facilities and the service that is provided to their guests. Staff at the lodge go out of their way to make you feel welcome. They never fail to wish you a good morning or afternoon whenever you encounter one of them, and never fail to greet you with a smile.
The weekend was over far too soon, and from the moment I left for home, I knew and told myself that I would return as often as I am able to do so.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations0370, Owner at Pinewood Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post a complimentary note. We do agree that quality customer service has become a rarity in society today, and are pleased that our customer service stood out to you. I will pass on your compliments to our team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

The setting is particularly beautiful with the pool and spa overlooking the lake. In the heart of the Whiteshell Provincial Park, this is delightful location. We used the lodge as a base and then went hiking at Pine Point Rapids. The service was friendly and helpful. We will go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pinewood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Lodge

Address: Block 2, Lot A | Dorothy Lake, Whiteshell Provincial Park, Manitoba R0E 1Y0, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Manitoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinewood Lodge features lakefront chalets & poolside suites on Dorothy Lake in Manitoba's Whiteshell Provincial Park. Chalets have loft bedrooms, whirlpool tubs, full kitchens. Suites range from deluxe to luxury spa. All guests enjoy the indoor salt water pool, hot tub, steam room & fitness area. Complimentary canoes, kayaks, bikes, & snowshoes for guests. Visitors marvel in awe at unique wood carvings, log staircases & stonework. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinewood Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.