We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi on the peninsula!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of taka's

taka's
15214 Pacific, White Rock, British Columbia v4b 1p7, Canada
604-538-8587
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 127 Restaurants in White Rock
Restaurant details
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best sushi on the peninsula!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We periodically order mixed platters for events and always get rave reviews. Don't plan to eat there though - they only have a few seats - it is Taka's Take Out Sushi after all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    2
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We went on a friends recommendation and they were right - best sushi in White Rock! The sushi was very fresh, the staff was very friendly and the setting was very intimate.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Taka's is amazing ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

When we moved from White Rock 3 years ago, eating Taka's food was one of the things on my list that I was going to miss about White Rock. Taka and his wife are lovely people and their "boutique" restaurant is wonderful - 95% of the time we get our food to go as the restaurant only seats about 12 people, so best to call ahead and get your food To Go. The food is always fresh and delicious. Taka even makes his own soy sauce, along with all of the other delictable sauces for the amazing rolls he creates. I love that they do not having a deepfryer in the restaurant - Taka's version of a dynamite roll is much better & healthier!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A Culinary Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The quality of sushi here is the same as Tojo's or better. The prices are WAY better and the service is friendly. The selection of fresh fish is overwhelming. Everything is incredible, you honestly can't go wrong with anything on their menu. If your not afraid to eat raw fish then sit at the bar and let the chief's prepare their specialties. Ask for the fresh fish of the day.

I have been to many, many sushi restaurants and I would say this beats them all!! Possibly the best in Canada, possibly even America too!

It's a small place so you may have to wait. Not fancy, but I like the vibe.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb...every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Excellent service, low key and efficient. Superb sushi made with he freshest ingredients beautifully arranged and presented. It just doesn't get any better! It is called Takas Take Out...as it is only a four seat sushi bar and three small tables. We have never been disappointed in five years.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed taka's also viewed

White Rock, British Columbia
White Rock, British Columbia
 
White Rock, British Columbia
White Rock, British Columbia
 

Been to taka's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage taka's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.