We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pricey But Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moby Dick Restaurant

Moby Dick Restaurant
15479 Marine Dr, White Rock, British Columbia V4B 1C9, Canada
(604) 536-2424
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 110 Restaurants in White Rock
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very Pricey But Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

20 bucks for fish n chips and a drink.....We need VALUE nowadays, but they have lineups so why bother I guess...lol

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    52
    14
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Our Senior Basketball Team had just finished playing in the Provincial tournament and I thought I would bring the team of 9 girls to Moby Dick's as It has been a favourite place of mine to visit. Coming from Cranbrook the girls do not get authentic fish and chips very often. We arrived at 11:30 before the lunch rush to get seats. The team and coach went ahead and I paid for parking. Upon arriving at the restaurant the girls had been seated at a table of 9 but the 7 remaining parents/coach were standing outside. I wondered what was going on and was told they do not take groups over 8 or 9. I went inside to see a restaurant that was not full, with many empty seats left for our parents outside. I asked Monika if we could sit at the empty tables but was told that they would not serve us as we were a large group. I asked why, and was condescendingly told," I already talked with your lovely coach and I'm sure that you fantastic parents can understand our policy that we do not take groups over 8-9. I recommended to your wonderful coach that it would be best to order take out and have a picnic on the beach" I was very taken a back as there were open seats, enough for the rest of our group, plus there would have been still a few empty tables left. I questioned the policy again as I was struggling to understand. I was then told it was not fair to other people who might want to get in as they had to pay for parking. Huh? We had 5 cars and had to pay for parking ourselves. I am still at a loss as to why you would not want to fill your restaurant? We even tried to say we will go in smaller groups to no avail. I have never been discriminated against before, but now can understand how people feel. I'm sorry you can not sit at our empty tables and be served. Thats our policy. WOW! I understand that loosing our group (as we pulled the girls out) is no issue to them as they are very busy, but it is easier to keep a customer than have to find a new one. In this case, I will not come back to this restaurant. Our group then went to the Fish Boat down the way, and were not only treated very well, ALL of our group was welcome because he too had enough empty seats. The Fish and chips were great at the fish boat and they got a $400 sale.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Good food, good atmosphere and friendly staff. Don't let the tired appearance of this wonderful eatery turn you away. A top notch experience.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I love this place, the batter is light and crispy, the fries are great, the tartar sauce is awesome and everything is actually Cheap. When you order Fish they always give you an extra if one is even a little undersized. Sure its greasy but its fresh and so good! In the winter, their quality is not as good in the summer just a heads up.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Really fresh fish..best fish & chips!
Take out and sit on the beach or eat in...MMM
Small eating area, great beach view when the weather permits sitting outside.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick Restaurant also viewed

White Rock, British Columbia
White Rock, British Columbia
 
White Rock, British Columbia
White Rock, British Columbia
 

Been to Moby Dick Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moby Dick Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.