We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imaginative food in comfortable, classy surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl Bistro & Oyster Bar

Pearl Bistro & Oyster Bar
14955 Marine Dr, White Rock, British Columbia V4B 1C3, Canada (Formerly Pearl Urban Bistro)
+1 604-542-1064
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pearl Bistro & Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 127 Restaurants in White Rock
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Vidal
Description: Welcome to Pearl Bistro & Oyster Bar, a tradition on the beach in White Rock since 2004. While you might know us for our rich heritage of original coastal cuisine, we’d like our guests to know that Pearl Bistro & Oyster Bar is our vision of what great fresh food can be when served in a fun, friendly & refreshingly casual atmosphere. No tablecloths here and no pretentions; heck pants & shoes are optional but shorts & flip flops are mandatory. We are all about sharing truly great oysters, seafood and good times amongst friends & family. Together with the mad skills and crazy energy of Chef Lukas Exelby we’ve created what we feel is the best and most unique oyster bar in the city. Please join us for brunch, lunch, dinner and some appies with $4 beers on the deck, or saddle up to the Oyster Bar and get shucked. You won’t be disappointed at what you find.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Imaginative food in comfortable, classy surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Pearl Urban Bistro is a welcome oasis in White Rock's strip of pubs and fish and chips places.

We had a wonderful, relaxed lunch on a foggy winter day. The open-face salmon sandwich was perfectly cooked with nice-sized piece of fish resting on a bun with pickled cabbage, accompanied by hand-cut fries. I've had salmon sandwiches in several places on both sides of the border and this was the best. The crab sandwich, also open-face, was equally tasty.

The server was kind enough to give me a taste of the Argentine chardonnay by the glass before I ordered. It was nicely unoaked and more than acceptable.

The apple galette was a bit of an indulgence for dessert, but very welcome.

Service was warm and efficient but unobtrusive. Prices were quite fair for the quality of cuisine. We will definitely be back for dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    18
    7
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed yet again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My first requirement for a restaurant is ambience and the Pearl has it. BUT,
The last 2 times I've brought important guests to this restaurant, I've been embarrrassed.
We ordered several items and only a couple were good.
Salad had no taste from the dressing, chai brûlée should have not have been served to public, galette was all pastry with few apples and so on. Based on the decor and pricing the chef should be thoroughly trained before left to run a kitchen. The clincher was the kalamari, it was rubbery and dry /over cooked. We asked our waitress to take it back yet still charged my guest. Embarrassing on too many levels. Im sorry to say, I won't be back

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great location, okay food not special nor creative”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Very rainy evnIng so they let us park in the back and enter through the kitchen. The messiness of the kitchen was a bit off putting.
We were celebrating an anniversary so wanted something special. Burgers and
a Mac & Cheese on the dinner menus did not feel special. I had the ribs, my husband had the seared salmon. For a place that serves hamburgers for dinner the wine list is way overpriced. The ribs were ordinary and when I inquired what happened to the sautéed red cabbage which I could not find on my plate the waitress came back with the answer that there was only a garnish? Salmon was burned on the edges. Considering that there were only two other tables we thought more attention could have bee paid to the cooking. For dessert I had creme brûlée which was very ordinary. Is there such a thing as frozen creme brûlée? That the best they could do?
Waitress was courteous and helpful but not particularly attentive. Lots of chatting at the back
Not worth a drive from Vancouver. The view is fantastic, maybe one of the few places where you get a view from the inside.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This at one time was a very romantic restaurant with white table cloths and set up as a romantic place to take your significant other. Unfortunately things have changed to a pub style complete with burgers and a wine list that in no way comes close to the food memu.

WILL NOT BE BACK!!!! EVER!!! NOT IT IS JUST THE SAME AS ALL THE OTHER RESTAURANTS IN THE ROW!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Inventive Middle Eastern/Mediterranean cuisine with accent on seafood.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

First visit and loved it. On the boardwalk in beautiful White Rock BC. Great selection of unique appies, superior wine list and scotch galore!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl Bistro & Oyster Bar also viewed

White Rock, British Columbia
White Rock, British Columbia
 
White Rock, British Columbia
Port Moody, British Columbia
 

Been to Pearl Bistro & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl Bistro & Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.