We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria di Umberto

Trattoria di Umberto
4417 Sundial Pl, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
+1 604-932-5858
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 167 Restaurants in Whistler
Price range: $19 - $41
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: The Whistler bus loop is a short 2 minute walk from our restaurant.
Description: Featuring rustic Tuscan cuisine in a warm and family-friendly atmosphere. You'll find us in the heart of Whistler Village, Trattoria offers the year-round sports enthusiast fine Italian cuisine for a refreshing break after skiing, hiking, golf, or mountain biking. We thrive on style and originality. Open for dinner 7 days a week. Reservations are highly recommended.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always a favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We visit Whistler several times a year and always make time to visit Trattoria di Umberto. We frequently start with delicious fresh mussels from local BC waters prepared with wine and herbs. Our last visit we had lasagna and tortellini. Both were outstanding. The services if friendly and effective. Be sure to make reservations. The restaurant is inside a hotel and doesn't seem like much from the outside but is cozy and rustic inside. Great for family or romantic dinners.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    81
    34
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Value in Whistler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This place was worth every penny both in terms of food and service. I had the gnocchi and it was super rich and tasted great. A person at our table did not enjoy the seasoning on his dish and they remade a new dish quickly and efficiently. I was impressed with the food and the places commitment to old school service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A little disappointing second time round...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Boyfriend and I visited Whistler last weekend to attend the annual Turkey Sale. Upon arrival, we decided to flip through the local paper to see what restaurants we should try for our stay. We remembered liking Trattoria during our December 2011 visit and noticed a special deal being offered. Made a reservation over the phone for the second night of our two night stay.

Sunday evening we arrived at the restaurant and were placed at a table in the middle of the restaurant. Seating was a bit disappointing because it wasn't that busy and we had made reservations. We were given the menus and decided on a salad and Spaghettie Bolognese. They had 3 course set menu going on but none of the food appealed to us. The food was surprisingly bland and average. Mid-way through our meal we overhear another server informing guests of their special thanksgiving dinner. The menu sounded delicious. The turkey dinner was what we had read in the newspaper (we just hadn't remembered it). We were so disappointed.

The worst part? New guests get seated next to us with our same server and the first thing she metnions to them is this wonderful Thanksgiving special they've got going!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, BC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food but slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Celebrated our 9th wedding anniversary in Whistler and decided to dine at di Umberto on Saturday night. The restaurant was fully booked as it was also Thanksgiving weekend so reservations are highly recommended especially on a weekend. Upon walking in the aromas were amazing and the staff were all smiles and very professional.

There was a fall special menu, starter, entree and dessert for $29. My wife had the spinach and mushroom salad, ling cod with moroccan couscous and berries and sabayon (custard) for dessert. While I ordered the beef carpacio, fettucine vongole and tiramisu. My meal was not on the special menu but my wife's was.

Our reservation was at 6:30 and although our appetizers arrived quickly the entrees took forever! The entrees weren't served until after 8pm. The table beside us who had arrived after we did were already starting their dessert! The manager and waiter both apologized profusely, one said the entrees were late because the pasta wasn't al dente, while the other said the fish was over done. I think the kitchen may have just forgotten about our order.

Aside from the slow service the food was delicious! The fish was perfectly cooked and was balanced well with the veggies and couscous. While the vongole had just the right amount of garlic and sauce...the pasta wasn't drenched and it had the right amount of flavours.

Due to the slow service they did not charge us for the 1 coffee (we only ordered the one) and tiramisu a total savings of about $14 I guess.

Perhaps we may have been the ones in the restaurant to miss out on the service as the tables beside us seemed to be served promptly. I think I'd come back to this place for the food and friendly staff....we'll see if their service improves though.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

For my wife's birthday we picked Umbertos Whistler Trattoria.
They had a fall special priced menu $29.99 for 3 courses. It was amazing, the main course we both choose was the Lamb Shank, we both agreed it was the best in a very long time. The service was perfect, attentitive but very professional and warm !!
Thank Umberto --- A very Happy Birthday

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria di Umberto also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Trattoria di Umberto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria di Umberto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.