We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Village Japanese Cuisine

Sushi Village Japanese Cuisine
4272 Mountain Square, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B0, Canada
604-932-3330
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 164 Restaurants in Whistler
Price range: $17 - $21
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Friendly, attentive staff in a buzzing atmosphere.
Delicious food, great value. Sake cocktails - bonus!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    86
    38
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The restaurant was really busy even though we got there early. All the items on the menu were presented well and described to our satisfaction. The items we ordered were presented to our table as described by our server and the meal was wonderful….very tasty and a great value.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amy's Awful Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Over the past three weeks I've been to Sushi Village three times and called once for reservations. All four experiences were terrible because of the Hostess "Amy". She is rude, snippy and has no regard for customer service. Here are the highlights: When I called to ask about a making a reservation for my birthday dinner and was told that they "don't do" 8pm reservations I was naturally disappointed. Her response? "Maybe you should have planned your birthday better." Today I had the pleasure of ordering takeout for lunch and after a strained phone call I showed up and realized that one of my orders was incorrect. She said "oh, you didn't mention that" to which I replied "I absolutely did". My order was fixed and on my way out she said the following under her breath "hope your day gets better". My days will indeed be better because I refuse to go to Sushi Village and be subjected to her attitude ever again. Nagomi and Sachi have way better service and way better sushi.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprise by Sushi in Whistler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I am always a little hesitant to try out sushi when I'm not next to the water but I was pleasantly surprised! We were seated at the bar, which was fun to watch the sushi chefs work. Pretty much everything we had was delicious, the ginger beef, mixed poke bowl, and a couple of rolls (ginger beef was notable). We also had the saki margaritas which were a little sweet for my liking but still good. Overall good friendly service, great food, and fun atmosphere. I would go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great sushi, great room and good price for Whistler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The food and the staff were terrific. 4 of us had a (light) meal with a bottle of saki for $80 before tax and tip. I'm not sure how others ordered who rated this restaurant as expensive, but it is surprisingly reasonable, especially given the brilliant location. We'll be going back.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Village Japanese Cuisine also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Sushi Village Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Village Japanese Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.