We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dubh Linn Gate Irish Pub

Dubh Linn Gate Irish Pub
4320 Sundial Cresent | Pan Pacific Whistler Mountainside, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
+1 604-905-4047
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 152 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Irish, Fish & Chips, Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Yes, Guinness may have been born in Ireland, but its Irish spirit is alive and well at Dubh Linn Gate Pub. Here you'll find plenty of charming people eager to meet you, some spirited live music, 25 draught taps pouring deliciously fresh Imperial pints, and authentic Irish fare to fill the belly and soothe the soul. It's a lovely day for a Guinness after all.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Yuck”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Tried to have a drink here with a friend who was staying at the Pan Pacific Mountainside.
There was a 'quiet' area at the back (quiet like listening to a freeway) but you could only have a drink if you were ordering a meal (it was 10pm), so we went to the bar area at the front with live music. After waiting at the bar for 5 minutes and getting nowhere near ordering (and it would be unlikely you could be heard) we gave up and went elsewhere.
Obviously we are just old farts (40 something)!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DubhLinn-Team, Public Relations Manager at Dubh Linn Gate Irish Pub, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. You're absolutely correct in communicating the fun and lively atmosphere of our Irish Pub at 10pm when our live band would have been hitting their stride on stage with guests excitedly dancing and singing along.

Please do excuse our hard working bartenders for not getting to you right away. At 10pm when the pub is packed with merrymaking patrons they cannot deliver instantaneous service but always reward the slightest patience with a perfect pint and warm smile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    359
    88
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good pub fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Excellent irish pub! Great beer and the food was good. The hot pies are first rate and the fish and chips is decent. The service is quick and the wait staff is friendly and efficient. If you get the chance, stop in and enjoy a pint and the dinner is well worth it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DubhLinn-Team, Public Relations Manager at Dubh Linn Gate Irish Pub, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Slainte and thanks for the lovely review. We take great pride in our signature skillet pies and are happy to hear that you enjoyed them so.

We very much hope to host you again in the near future, after all your feet will bring you to where the heart is!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Visited for breakfast on one morning of my stay in Whistler.
Honestly, the food was just average, and compared to other restaurants in the area it was quite expensive.
Give this place a miss for breakfast and visit the Mix by Ric's (just around the corner) instead.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DubhLinn-Team, Public Relations Manager at Dubh Linn Gate Irish Pub, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time both to visit and leave a review. We're disappointed in not meeting your expectations for breakfast and would love the opportunity to make it up to you if you'd like to message us with info@dubhlinngate.com and mention this review.

It looks like we didn't meet expectations not only for food and its value but also with our atmosphere and service which you didn't mention in your review. We'd be very interested in getting your perspective as we love to continually improve. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The cottage pie was very bland. Not exciting. Not worth the $16. The fish tacos were quite good, although I wasn't expecting the fish to be breaded, and the tortilla was barely warm. Mango salsa topping was nice.
Atmosphere was great and so was the live music. Service was top-notch.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DubhLinn-Team, Public Relations Manager at Dubh Linn Gate Irish Pub, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
We must sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations as it is near and dear to our hearts to exceed expectations as often as possible. We'd be delighted to hear more about your experience as to make an effort to improve and offer you a make up service if you'd like to message us with info@dubhlinngate.com.

We will remark for the record that our both our Cod Tacos and Fish & Chips are pale ale battered and not breaded as you had mentioned. Staying true to authentic Irish recipes is quite important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Music gets on your nerves after a while”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Food ok, service good but the music becomes annoying after a while. Good position which is why it gets so busy

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DubhLinn-Team, Public Relations Manager at Dubh Linn Gate Irish Pub, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Judging by the title of your review however it seems like our Irish Pub with daily live music and merrymaking may not have been the right choice for you.

We do regret that our positioning as "The best Irish pub outside of Ireland offering daily live music at the base of the mountains" wasn't clearly communicated to you before making your choice to join us and our patrons engaged in lively dancing and sing song.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dubh Linn Gate Irish Pub also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Dubh Linn Gate Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dubh Linn Gate Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.