We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good iconic restaurant in Whistler!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bearfoot Bistro

Bearfoot Bistro
4121 Village Green, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
604-932-3433
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 164 Restaurants in Whistler
Price range: $51 - $51
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Whistler Way
Transit: Whistler Village
Description: Every night is a celebration! Begin at the Champagne Bar, your crystal flute awaits chilling in a frozen ice rail set in a pewter bar. Founder André Saint-Jacques is the convivial master of ceremonies who presides over the lively ambience of this award-winning dining room, Best Whistler Restaurant in 2009 and the only Whistler restaurant to receive a coveted three-star rating from the anonymously conducted Where to Eat in Canada guide for 2010/2011. Andre’s passion for wine is clear as you descend and tour the Bearfoot’s extravagant underground wine cellar. However, its executive chef Melissa Craig’s Modern Canadian cuisine that will leave you dazzled. In 2008, Melissa was crowned “Canada’s Best Chef” at the Canadian Culinary Championships. Her passion leads her to the freshest local and finest international ingredients to create an unforgettable experience.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good iconic restaurant in Whistler!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The service here is awesome, and so are the drinks! The food is not amazing but its still very reflective of Whistler and BC, however; the portions are super small. If you're into the whole fancy dining thing with small portions and many courses then this place is for you, Id say its worth at least one visit on a trip to Whistler!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    75
    54
    52
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“really great but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

went here one night and EVERYTHING was half off, so i ordered a wine that was really great for half price ($100 bottle for $50), and then proceeded to have a normal meal. the bill was still $260. amazing. really great food/atmosphere/service though. if you can afford it, go there

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tiny portions! I was hungry after a 5 course dinner!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have been living in Whistler for 4 years and I tried many restaurants here. The Bearfoot Bistro has by far the tiniest portions of all. I am not a big eater, but I was still hungry after my 5 course dinner. And I did eat bread too. Their portion are ridiculously small. I know that fancy modern cuisine calls for smaller portion, but at Bearfoot they take it to another level. Your plate will be like art, an exquisite marvel of presentation (a bit too much if you ask me), like a painting or something, but you will finish your plate in two bites. I actually will never go back there. I can't stand paying a lot of money and not eat decently enough.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner / event for group of 60”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a group dinner for 60 at the Bearfoot Bistro in early October, a pre-set menu with choices at each course, as well as an amuse bouche, granite, and petit fours chocolates with coffee. The evening was fantastic and the kitchen outdid itself. We started with sabering champagne (very memorable), had a tour of the massive underground wine cellar, and then dinner itself. There was also a pianist to enjoy during our reception -- very enjoyable.

Service was attentive and flexible. The waiter even brought soy milk in a pitcher for one of our guests who couldn't take cream in her coffee.

The ambiance was modern, with iron and leather chairs, modern high gloss art on the walls, and minimum table decor. Food presentation was exacting and the quality excellent. The salmon flaked off my fork -- hard for a kitchen to do when serving 60! The beet and goat cheese carpaccio starter was also wonderful. After dinner, people enjoyed the extensive liquor menu and some of our group went into the ice room for special vodka tastings in big white parkas ($48 per person).

If you're having a conference or retreat at the Westin Whistler, the Bearfoot Bistro is a short 300 - 400 metre walk away in the Listel Hotel building. We had a wonderful time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfect post wedding picnic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

My sister got married in whistler and we wanted to have a picnic by a lake afterwards. Being UK based meant it was tricky to find anyone to provide everything we needed but Erin at barefoot could not have been more helpful - even as far as delivering it herself with the chef to the hotel.

The food was excellent - a wonderful selection of really high quality food from the tarts to the bread to the beautiful wedding cake and home made ice tea and lemonade. Everything we needed for the picnic was provided including a lovely picnic basket and table cloth.




  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bearfoot Bistro also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Bearfoot Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bearfoot Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.